Reviews

Westerner 2 Plus

(47)
Average Rating:
5 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 31-40 of 47 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

fantastic

Reviewed February 2014

This was my first ever trip to America, and what a way to travel, I saw some of the most amazing sights and experianced things I will never experiance again, LA was superb, San Diego beautiful, Lake Havasu small but stunning, Grand Canyon the most amazing place you will ever see, I reccomend the helicopter ride, Vegas well its the party capital and lived up to be everything i imagined and much more, Yosemitie very beautiful and picturesque, San Fran walking the golden gate bridge is a must as is seeing Alcatraz, and all the other little stops we made where just as amazing and beautiful, the final half a day was spent at Venice beach and Santa Monica and it was the best way to end our trip.

We had a fantastic group all varied nationalitys and our leader made it even more enjoyable, I can def recommend this tour I would do it all again if I could..looking to book for 2015 this time New York to Miami

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Amazing experience, perfect introduction to the West Coast!

Reviewed October 2013

This trek was one of the most awesome things I've ever done, and as someone who had never been Stateside, it was the perfect intro to the best parts of the West Coast. Everywhere we visited was awesome but you'll soon find what elements you enjoy most, for me I learnt I was all about the National Parks and getting outdoors rather than the cities and the nightlife which are still amazing.

The Lodging side of the tour was perfect for my first trip as I wasn't sure about throwing myself in at the deep end with camping, but I soon realised that camping would be even better, though it is nice to have a nice comfy hotel to go to! (all of the hotels and lodges were lovely to stay in, way better than i expected).

Be prepared to spend a little more than on a camping trip because of a lot of time spent in cities and obviously eating in local restaurants, which is a great way to sample the local flavour. I personally have never been bothered by travelling solo and meeting new people though if you are unsure, don't be! You'll have an amazing time and meet some amazing people and everyone gets on great, even if there are some differing interests in the group.

Our tour guide was amazing, super cool and not like a guide at all, just like having another cool person on the trek with you to get to know, only one who sorts out all your activities and such and generally makes the trip exciting and interesting and super fun.

This trip has a great mix of both cities and outdoors, but also beaches and nightlife and all kinds of awesome stuff, though be warned in my experience seemed to attract more of a partying crowd, so if like me youre not a party gal/guy you might have to find a way to occupy yourself while everyone else sleeps off the booze! Though of course this isnt a criticism, just a difference of interest.

Overall I dont have anything bad to say about the trip at all, the best thing Ive ever done and totally worth the money, loved travelling with TrekAmerica, their style of travel is awesome and you always feel safe and looked after and ready to get involved in all the awesome activities whilst everything is taken care of for you.

Happy Days :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Simply stunning trek of the western America

Reviewed October 2013

A simply stunning holiday packed full of exciting activities. Sierra the tour guide was ace and the group couldn't ask for more.

Loads of sightseeing and of course Vegas.

Recommend it, yes..... Thinking about booking another ASAP.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Amazing and unique experience

Reviewed September 2013

The trip was good organised and a perfect mix between natur and city. I had a wonderful time and met great people, who became friends. I learned a lot about the area and america. Thanks to James our tour guide he did a good job, looked after us, made sure we had a amazing time and did a lot of cool things. It was a good decision to book the trek!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

14 days of making a lifetime of memories

Reviewed September 2013

This was my first trek and it was everything I had wished for and more. I went on my own and I have no regrets, most people are single travellers so you quickly bond through playing silly games to pass the time in the van.! Our tour leader Micah was brilliant, laid back, informative and approachable he was more like a trek mate than a leader but in a good way. Spending two nights in most places was good as it meant you got to spend enough time there to see a lot of things one of the benefits of this trip.

The trip is what you make it and i think we had a brilliant group of people who were willing to make the most and do for these activities I would recommend you do because they are experiences you will never forget. We did the helicopter flight over the grand canyon (breathtaking), party bus in Vegas (lots of drunken fun) sunset cruise in San Fran (beautiful, but cold) I as many things as possible.

Most of us did all the optional activities which our tour leader organised for us. If you can budget did surfing in Santa Barbara with a couple of others through a recommendation by our trek leader, we had a surf lesson and lots of time to catch some waves, I was so happy i could say (I went surrrrfinggg in the USA..) I also went shooting in Las Vegas it was something I wanted to do and my trek leader recommended a place and took a few of us to go.. although we were ridiculously hungover it was a personal highlight for those who did it.

This trip is a perfect mix of beaches, city, sightseeing and breathtaking scenery such as the grand canyon and Yosemite. You do spend a chunk of time on the van, ours was full so sometimes you felt you had no space, but most of the time people are sleeping, eating or playing games to pass the time, most of the days we spent travelling we had some cool stops such as the Sand Dunes, Swap meet market, picnic at the Colorado river, some nice view points for the photo opportunities, we drove down part of the route 66 too and stopped off in Hackberry and Delgadillo's Snow Cap Drive-In.

There is so many highlights i cannot write them all, each trip will be personal and I'm certain that you will have a trip just as exciting, It is so worth the money!!! Big thanks to our tour leader for helping make this trip run smoothly, a big shout out to my trek family (fellow trek mates) for being you!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

A-MAZ-ING!!

Reviewed August 2013

The Westerner BLT was my first trek and I was travelling myself so was a little nervous but everything was like clock work, just ran so smoothly from booking to going home.
The trek group on here was great so meet some people so we could talk on facebook before the trek. We all met in the gateway hotel the night before but for those who we didn't find beforehand it was easy enough the next day to find out which group you were apart of. Our Leader Ron Jarus went through the paperwork etc and spoke abit about how things go etc, very informative. He was even able to arrange for us to do Alcatraz!!
Ron was an awesome tour leader, great knowledge of places, etc. If you wanted to know certain things or do certain things he was very good at helping us arrange that, We took a detour to the Red wood? outside San Fran with the tallest trees ever!
No problems with any of the accommodation and it was my first time staying in Hostels! (only 2 though!)
The arranged limo ride in Vegas was brillant, so much fun - Ron got us on the guestlist for Luxor night club.
Even though my group was full, no one was left out of anything, we all looked out for each other and honestly had the best time - I still talk to most of my group and some of us are meeting next month!

I can't wait to do another trek - I just need to decide which one!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Brilliant two weeks

Reviewed July 2013

Great mix of city sights and natural wonders. Very comfortable accommodation and superb organisation from our tour leader. Went on my own but felt so at home with everyone in the group, everybody was so lovely. Worth every penny and would do it all again tomorrow. If you're thinking of booking this trek go for it, you won't regret it :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Amazing tour

Reviewed July 2013

It was the best trip I've ever done. Amazing places, a brillant mix of outdoor trekking and city life, good organisation, great people in the group.
Our tour leader Art was excellent, really funny and made a fab barbecue for us :-) I will never forget this time and I'm so glad to do the tour with Trek America.
GUYS - DO THE SAME!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Brilliant two weeks

Reviewed July 2013

Great mix of city sights and natural wonders. Very comfortable accommodation and superb organisation from our tour leader. Went on my own but felt so at home with everyone in the group, everybody was so lovely. Worth every penny and would do it all again tomorrow. If you're thinking of booking this trek go for it, you won't regret it :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2 Plus

Unforgettable

Reviewed July 2013

Best decision I have ever made. Lots of variety in each place. The hotels are all decent.
Our trek leader Mr Mark Page was excellent. Very chilled out and flexible. Good taste in music.
The long drives werent as bad as I expected. It helped that we had a group of 7 so the van wasn't packed. There were frequent stops and we slept most of the time anyway. We charged up our things in the hotels at night so it wasnt really neccessary to charge in the van.

My highlights of the trip in order are:

The people
Hiking in the Grand Canyon
Walking up next to Vernal Falls in Yosemite
Helicopter ride in Grand Canyon
Swimming in Colorado river
Sea kayaking in Monterey
Vegas limo night
Climbing sand dune
Lake Havasu sunset
Alcatraz tour
Yosemite bug hostel

What I realised on this trip was that all the best parts of were the natural things such as sunsets, waterfalls and rivers which I did not expect. The natural beauty of the country offered so much more satisfaction than the shops that you could go to or the man made structures.

Perhaps its because I am from a big city like London and I came on this trip to escape but I didn’t really enjoy the cities as much. The touristy places in cities were far too busy, Being in London I rarely have peace and quiet, It was a nice change of pace. Nightlife isn’t such a big deal to me. You can drink and go clubbing anywhere you go but you can’t see something like the Grand Canyon anywhere. The times we had just drinking a few beers in the hotel room were some of the best nights. Vegas was the exception. With the cities I felt like there is a checklist of things I need to do because everyone else does them. You go there, take a picture and move on. With the natural sights you are simply enjoying every moment while you are in it.

Before the trip I was dreading the really hot weather but by the end of the trip when it started cooling down I actually missed the heat.

Brilliant trip. Thanks Trek America!

Loading search bar...