Reviews

Southern Sun from New York

(132)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 61-70 of 131 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Freaking Amazing

Reviewed June 2014

Such a great trip and an awesome way to do the trip starting in the historic citys of Philly and Washington DC and finishing with the natural beauty of the Grand Canyon, Monument Valley and Zion National Park with some huge party nights along the way in New Orleans, San Antonio and Vegas.

Tour Guide knew everything that we needed and was such a great source of information for the entire 21 days and gave us all a heap of tips for what to do for those of us that had more time in America after the trek.

Would do it all again in a heartbeat!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Amazing places but very expensive

Reviewed June 2014

The trek was great but it was our tour leaders birthday during our trip and she tried to make a whole week of the trek about her bday, including making us lose a day in San Antonio so we could go to her uncles house and uncomfortably spend the day there. We were happy to have a night out for her birthday in San Antonio but I wasn't impressed with spending a whole day having a mini family reunion where we didn't feel terribly comfortable. She also acted a little childish during the end of the trip and seemed to want to cause issues with me and another girl on the trek. We had 4 French girls on our trip who were lovely but would only complain about things in French to each other so our trek leader didn't realise that most of the group had complaints, and would insist that only me and the other girl were having issues. If we did address any issues with our leader, like one we had about wanting to buy some new lunch food, she would snap and go in a huff which made us unwilling to bring up any issues after that.

I loved the actually trip and where we went, especially Vegas and monument valley, however I didn't feel like we got much included in the price of the trek. We paid for food and all our activities, with the only thing that trek America paid for was entry to the carlsbad caverns, which was only $10. We paid for everything except petrol and accommodation, which makes it seem like it wasn't worth the money.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Best 3 weeks of my life.

Reviewed June 2014

My trek stripped down the complications of life, into 3 weeks of exploring the south coast USA. I loved partying in New Orleans and Las Vegas, but I particularly loved spending days hiking in National parks such as Zion NP and Grand Canyon. Alligator swamp tour near New Orleans was another highlight. My leader turned into a great friend (and I am so jealous of his amazing job)

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Something you'll never forget

Reviewed June 2014

Loved it. Traveling with people you never met might seem scary. But this is what makes the trip. You'll make some life long friends whiles having the time of your life.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Never seen so much in my life!

Reviewed June 2014

It was amazing how much we got to see on the trip. Fantastic places that you wouldn't necessarily have gone to yourself. We we're able to get the full experience wherever we went.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Best time ever!!

Reviewed June 2014

The trek America tour was the best thing I ever did, it's such a great balance of doing something brave and independent but with the support and guidance of your tour guide and Trekkers. You can enjoy the holiday without worrying about where you're going to sleep or how you're going to get there - that's all taken care of. I made some great friends and saw a huge variety of things from big cities of New York and Vegas and New Orleans to hangin out on a ranch and hiking at the Grand Canyon and camping in Texas wilderness. I loved it all. An our tour guide shippy made the trip what it was he was the best!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Best holiday ever been on in my life

Reviewed May 2014

Trek was amazing. Being fascinated with the southern states of America this trip was perfect, don't see a lot of the north, but when you get down south you realise that it's much better than the north. At the campsites got to meet loads of interesting and different types of people. The activities were all just amazing, almost every day did something that was incredible. As the holiday rolled on I kept thinking 'how can it possibly get better???' But it did! So glad went from New York to LA as well.

Think spending day 2 in Vegas is peaking far too early, make sure Vegas is last but one day, great way to end te holiday. People I was with were great, group really got on well, became a small family in no time at all. Trek leader was really good, she always worked hard to make sure we were having a good time. She did get a bit stressed out at times and I knew other people on the trip got a bit frustrated with her, but when 9 strangers spend time together your naturally gonna get some problems.

Best advise I can give is definitely do the trip! But whilst your on it never forget that your there to experience America, make the most of the time there and don't get dragged down by any problems or certain people, we met one other trek group which had a few problems, luckily our group stuck together and we had a great time overall. Also Austin Texas is an amazing place!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Absolutely mind blowing and breath taking experience!

Reviewed May 2014

Had an absolutely fantastic time with amazing people. Experienced things id dreamed of doing when I was young. One major downside however was our trek leader. We were given very limited time to see some places, for example we were given "FIFTEEN" minutes to explore Hollywood. A lot of the time the group felt pressured to get back to the van so she could move on. Apart from the leader, the group as a whole had a phenomanal time. I would love to book up for next sure but am wary as don't want a trip where I feel the time pressure in everything I so. Spoke to my brother who did trip last year and his trek leader seemed fantastic, and gave his group two hours in Hollywood.
Overall the experience of America was incredible.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Absolutely amazing experience

Reviewed May 2014

I could not recommend this trip more if your are looking to take in as much of america was possible in a limited amount of time. We had a fantastic tour guide Mark - he knew exactly where to take us and even changed our stops slightly to make sure we had the best time. We went to Nashville which was not even included on the tour but turned out to be the trek groups favourite place. I am already planning my next trek :)

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Amaseing

Reviewed May 2014

Soo far soo good c

Loading search bar...