Reviews

Southern Sun from New York

(132)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 51-60 of 131 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

One of the best experiances i have done! Defo lived the dream :)

Reviewed July 2014

So am back from my southern sun trek and in work whilst i write this! gutted to be home ... i loved every min of this trek & if people are unsure of booking i say go for it! :)

Not only do u see & do so many things but the people i met were amazing and had the best time ever! :)

So from the start to finish i had an amazing time! Our leader Pete was great & showed us everything & knew what he was doing the whole way & just made everything easy ( even cooking the meals as i am the worst cook ever) not to mention a great driver i defo salute him on that one!

Anyway the tour so the camping was really good the tents and equipment great the only thing i never liked was the beasties ( insects as no one on my trek knew what i meant ha scottish lingo) but that was obv just something i had to put up with so if your like me just take plenty of bug sprays and bite creams! and if your like me have a wee check in the tent with a torch before bed haha! beastie patrol me & my roomie were called :)!
apart from that campsite was great and clean & helped us all to bond together!

So on the tour i loved all places esp monumenet valley new orleans & ofcourse viva las vegas! i think enough days were spent at each place so wouldnt have changed it! :) and even when doing the long drives there was always something good to see :)
i had 2 days in New york myself & an extra day in LA to which u should do as u dont see much of NYC when the tour starts so defo try and take a wee day there :) nyc is amazing! bit scary yourself but it is worth it :)

Whilst traveling the essentials are defo bug sprays & a pillow for the tent & a torch also. I just wore shorts & vests top most of the way and for the hikinh ( Amazing !!!)) i did the big trek at the grand canyon i would reccomend walking boots i got a cheap pair from a sports shop :) ....and they worked a treat!!! and i defo reccomend doing the big trek at the GC .... its so hard but worth it!

Apart from that i cant think of much essentials really? apart from ones everyone takes on holiday! i also used a thomas cook travel currency card which was great!! u basically just put money in it when at home then can use it over in america :)! can chip & pin or lift money which is good.

Another point i would say is that i bought an american phone to keep in touch back home im a home buddy at times and like my whats apping and it was great! only like 1 one day i never got recpetion and because the wifi is limited in the car a could use my own wee phone to do what i had to do aswell as get free calls and texts to uk it was with Tmobile :) ....

The only negative point i have was the hotel & location in LA .... was just not that nice i didnt feel very safe! lucky day one i wad had my trekker staying but on the 2nd day i was myself and tbh i would havejust stayed in the hotel which isnt very good downtown there is not much to see! lucky my friends auntie friend who i had never met stays in LA and i stayed with her and she took me to beverly hills etc so a was very lucky but if a never had her it would have been the worst thing ever!
so if i have to complain it was defo the hotel and location aswell as that the hotel didnt offer an airport shuttle and so u had to get two trains a bus and when carrying a backpack and in downtown la where it was dodgy well a dnt think that is very good!

Apart from that everything was great! if ur scared to book dont be a met amazing people on my trek we all got on so great & will keep in touch & the tour leader was amazing to! :) ...... i ate lots of american food ( put on a bit of weight ha but its fine) hahaha!
and met people seen places & just lived the american dream! so get saving & book up!

a journey of a thousand miles begins with one step :)!

go for it :)

xxx

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Book it you won't regret it!!!!

Reviewed July 2014

I chose this trek over the others available due to the fact that it covered most of the main things I wanted to see. It really does live up to what it says, you do see SO much of America on this trek! Before the trek started, a few of us booked 3 extra days in the NY gateway hotel so we could explore New York properly as you do not go into it o the trek (straight to Philadelphia from New Jersey). A couple of people who didn't do this wish they had. It also meant we could settle in to things before the trek which was nice!

The trek is very fast paced, which at times was tiring but it was the only way in which to see as much as we did! There were a couple of days where we could go off on our own, chill out or do whatever we wanted which was good.

There was constant laughter, and believe it or not some of the best times were when in the van! Trek songs become very important :P

My highlights were: Monument Valley (if your group doesn't opt for this then you are missing out on the most beautiful place I have ever seen), Grand Canyon, Bourbon Street - watch out for 'hand grenades' they gave me one hell of a hangover the next day!!! DO the boat trip in New Orleans, the jazz was amazing and it was a lovely evening too see the sun going down. The swamp tour in Louisiana was brilliant!! The alligators came so close to the boat that it was pretty scary at times, well worth paying extra for! One of the nights we had a surprise cabin in Lake Charles, turned out to be one of the best nights ever!!!

The friendships I have formed from this trek is unbelievable. We are already planning reunions and have only been home less than a week! You will be tired on this trip and there are times you feel like you have had enough, but that would be the same on any trip similar to this, do not let this put you off, it really is the best thing I have ever done and will never forget it. Book book book book book book!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Unbelieveable!!

Reviewed July 2014

If you're thinking about joining in with a Trek America tour - go for it, don't hesitate for a second! I was nervous about going on my own - but I'm so glad I went. I had the best month of my life!! From walking around Washington DC in the pouring rain and having to bail water out of our tents, to seeing the sunset over the Grand Canyon and so many moments in between - I enjoyed every second of this trip. The people I met on this trip were lovely and great drinking buddies. You'll just have so much fun.

Highlights of this trip? Monument Valley - easily the most beautiful place you'll ever see the sun rise. Partying in Nashville. Dancing in New Orleans. The sheer awesomeness that is the Grand Canyon. Vegas baby! I could go on...

Get yourself booked in, leave all your issues and worries behind and prepare to have an amazing time with a fantastic bunch of people.

My next trip with Trek America is just about to be booked and I can't wait!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Possibly the greatest summer of my life!

Reviewed July 2014

So where do I start. If you are thinking of doing a bit of travelling for a month or maybe even more then I highly recommend this trek. I hardly knew anything about this company but after a few days I researched it and everything sounded great. So after a few months I'm booked on the southern sun leaving from New York to LA. At first I was really nervous because I was doing this all alone but once I met up with everyone I had no worries. These people are now some of my greatest friends and the memories that have been formed from this adventure will stay with me forever. From the fun streets of New Orleans, the white water rafting in Tennessee, the cowboy dancing in Texas, Sleeping under the stars in monument valley, the helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon, to the party nights in Vegas this trek has it all. If you are thinking about doing this alone and you are scared, don't be. Just book it and I promise you'll have the time of your life!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Once in a lifetime!

Reviewed July 2014

The trek was the single best thing I've ever done! I was grouped with such a good group of people which made the experience better! The best parts for my were white water rafting, New Orleans, monument valley and Grand Canyon!! Thoroughly recomend anybody to do it!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

An unforgettable experience

Reviewed July 2014

This truly was a life changing experience, to say we had fun is a complete understatement! I personally enjoyed the latter end of the trip when we were exploring the National Parks, the natural beauty in America is second to none and unlike anything I had ever seen before, I was truly blown away.

We had an awesome time exploring the cities too and some memorable nights out!! I've made some friends for life too which is just brilliant :)

Our tour guide was fantastic and was really thorough in her knowledge and research of the trip, she loved going off the beaten track which was cool as she showed us some things we wouldn't have found on our own!

The only drawback for me was spending such a long time in the van nearly every day as it was quite hot and cramped sometimes, though good to catch up on sleep I longed to stretch my legs more often than I did!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

best holiday ever!!

Reviewed July 2014

The trip was awesome! I would recommend doing all the activities that are on offer! The highlights are definitely the Grand Canyon and Monument Valley! We got to stay overnight in Monument Valley and slept under the stars and then woke up to see the sunrise! I found that the people in Texas are really welcoming and our tour leader was awesome!! Las Vegas was very exciting and I would recommend going to the Ghost bar at the Palms! INCREDIBLE!!
However if you are thinking about doing it, remember... it is camping and there are some treks (both easy and hard)!! I really enjoyed all these aspects of the trip but some people seemed to forget they signed up for that! Also, some of the optional activities were more expensive than originally described on the website!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Amazing, incredible - be prepared for long drives.

Reviewed July 2014

This really was an incredible trip. you get to see so much and do so much. There were days that we spent over 8 hours in the van which was the only drawback - especially when we had to start limiting WiFi because there wasn't enough left for the rest of the trip (it would have been good to know this beforehand - a few people were streaming videos and using skype to call home because we did not know we only had a certain amount to use until about halfway through the trip). HOWEVER that's such a minor point in the grand scheme of things - you don't come travelling to test out the WiFi right? The places we stopped at were always interesting and different. I preferred the natural places like the Appalachian Mountains and the Grand Canyon over, say, Vegas and L.A. (although I loved them too!). There was almost always information provided to us when we made a stop so we knew what there was to do - the only times there weren't were in Austin and L.A. which was a shame.

There was definitely a lot less hassle exploring America through Trek rather than going it alone, so that was a huge bonus! Overall it was a fantastic trip - I would definitely use Trek America's services again.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

The best thing I have ever done in my entire life!!

Reviewed July 2014

Words can't describe what an amazing experience the trek was, go and find out yourself! You won't regret it!

The tour leaders were such fantastic people and really went out of their way so that we could experience all of the little things (as well as the big) in America.

I truly have made life long friends and the best memories with them, I would do another trek in a heartbeat.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Amazing, unique, action-packed.

Reviewed July 2014

As a gap year student who wanted to travel and see and experience unique things and places, I can safely say that the Southern Sun trek certainly delivered. Nothing could have prepared me for the beauty of Monument Valley, despite the sandstorm during the jeep tour! It was a once in a life time opportunity to spend a night in the hogan there and I remember thinking how surreal it all was whilst brushing my teeth under the stars, surrounded by the silhouettes of the beautiful natural sandstone structures. The breathtaking sunrise in the morning was truly spectacular too. The Grand Canyon certainly did not fail to disappoint either and only when you're there do you realise that a photograph simply cannot capture the sheer scale and vastness of the view - me and some of my group did the 6 mile hike into the canyon which was fantastic , if a little tiring on the legs, but the views were definitely worth it! Of course, this trek takes you to more populated areas too, Washington, Memphis, New Orleans, and who could forget Las Vegas? The sights and the nightlife are totally unique and everything is so big! All of our group agreed that we were glad to have chosen NY to LA rather than the reverse because the journeys in the van become shorter and Vegas is the perfect way to end after everyone has gotten to know each other over the weeks, the limo ride was also a lot of fun! I never could have imagined how much we would be able to fit in to three weeks, we did and saw so much, and spent plenty of time in each place we visited (which was something I initially had concerns about). Don't worry about travelling in the van either, yes, they sound like long journeys, but the WiFi, the people, the frequent pit stops and of course the awesome scenery makes the time fly by! I would highly recommend this trek to anyone who wants to go to America, but is not quite sure which places they'd like to visit - the Southern Sun has a great variety of locations and activities to make your time in the US unforgettable.

Loading search bar...