Reviews

Southern Sun from New York

(132)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 41-50 of 131 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Best trip I have ever done. Already looking to book my next trip!!

Reviewed October 2014

Truely amazing experience with some lovely people and an awesome tour guide. Just wish it was longer, I didn't want to end. The whole trip was in and around the most beautiful views and breath taking scenery. If you have not yet book your trip, book it now. Totally hassle free trip where you meet amazing people and have an brilliant tour guide. BEST TRIP EVER!! Definitely booking another and then another and then a few more!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Best experience of my life

Reviewed September 2014

This trek was really fantastic, I've been on quite a few road trips in America before but this was completely different. Camping with 13 strangers sounds quite unappealing but it was genuinely the most fun ever. We had a great group of like minded passengers and an awesome trek guide. We all got along and experienced all these amazing things together, the bonds you create will stick with you forever. The actual trip is a lot of driving, but it doesn't feel like that as most of the time you've worn yourself out an you quite appreciate the long drives as It's a well earnt nap.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Amazing experience with great people!

Reviewed September 2014

I had wanted to do TrekAmerica for years and decided it was the right time when a big job role I had been working on finished up! Best. Decision.Ever!

Over 21 days myself and 7 other travellers journeyed from the New York Area to Los Angeles. We were a small group but I wouldn't have it any other way as everyone got along really well. There were so many different views, activities and memories from each stop along the trip it's hard to remember them all without looking back at my journal I kept every day.

Some days we spent a lot of time travelling in the van, but I didn't find this too bad as we had a lot of breaks and there's always something to do: look at the views, read, have a wee snooze! It was nice when we had two nights in the same place as you don't need to take your tent down in the morning, and some of my favourite nights were when we were staying in wood cabins & hotels! (Texas, Mississippi, New Orleans, Vegas)

Our tour leader Becky was constantly full of fun, enthusiasm and information. The itinerary was great and we packed so much into each day.

If you're thinking of booking a trip I'd say GO FOR IT!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

The best decision ever!

Reviewed September 2014

I booked this very last minute, but it was the best decision of my life! I had a fantastic time in New Orleans especially! The weather was boiling hot during July, but we managed to do lots of swimming, which was great fun - especially the creek in Austin. A lot is crammed into 21 days on this trek, and some days you spend most of the time in the van, but that's not a problem if you have a good group, and luckily I had a nice group with one especially amazing person! So drive days were as much fun as wandering along Bourbon Street or cooking smores on the campfire.

If you're undecided about whether to go for this trek, stop thinking about it and just book it, you really won't regret it!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

best thing ever, mind blowing, life changing

Reviewed September 2014

I'm a fairly shy individual and can find it difficult in large groups of unfamiliar people, but trek changed everything. So amazing, everyone was so friendly and nice. Going through all that together makes you so close, seeing the sun rise above monument valley, seeing the monuments of Washington at night, waking up in the middle of nowhere, falling asleep under the stars. No words can describe it, just do it!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

EPIC.

Reviewed August 2014

Well what can I say, firstly it sucks to be back to normal life and away from possibly the best 3 weeks of my life.

The whole trek was amazing, the people were great, the places were incredible and the tour leader topped it off!
The grand canyon and zion hikes were awesome and should be done, a bit tiring but the views and sights will live with you forever! Other highlights have to be places such as DC and New york (spend at least a day there, I only got 5 hours and that wasn't enough) and same with the other cities like New Orleans, Austin and Las Vegas.
Being only 19 I didn't get to go mad and go out on the town but the nights camping and playing drinking games definitely made up for that! Especially drinking moonshine with Hill Billys and partying with the raft guides at the pigeon river!
Yes there are long van journeys (Longest being 6 hours) but you make many stops and find hidden gems during them e.g. Foam Henge, many hours playing games like 'my horse' and hours of watching your trek mates try and take selfies with everyone as they sleep...
Overall this trek was just incredible and the camping option is better in my opinion as you get to bond more with the group and appreciate the great outside of America! (like racoons stealing your food)
The days are long, very tiring but worth every penny and leave you with memories for the rest of your life!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

GREATEST TRIP EVER!!

Reviewed August 2014

I usually don't read or write reviews but I just have to tell you about this AMAZING trip!

My Trip ended a while ago but I couldn't find the time to write about it. I had to organize all the photos I took and finish my journal and scrapbook. Even after 3 weeks I’m still grinning when I look at the pictures or a funny memory crosses my mind!
I hate those long long reviews so I’ll try to keep it short and simple. The whole trip was just awesome! But all the stops after New Orleans were epic!
I was afraid I would be the only single traveler but no - we all traveled on our own! I really enjoyed the camping part. The tents were kind of huge and the mats actually pretty soft. But it is camping so don’t expect a lot of comfort or very clean bathhouses at the campsites. All the sites our guide chose were great. We were close to the parks or cities we went to and some of them even had swimming pools or party barns. My tip: just sleep without a tent! After a while my tent mate and I got really tired of putting it up in the night and breaking it down again in the morning. So we just slept on the ground hidden in our sleeping bags. And we saw soooo many stars and shooting stars!! Unforgettable!
The very good part about these camping trips is the food kitty. We cooked almost every night so we saved a lot of money and I think we all had fun. Another good thing: the group was a group and not just some random people sitting together in a van for 3 weeks. Every night we had fun together until 1 or 2 in the morning laughing, drinking, playing games - just having fun. The days were at least as much as fun as the nights! I don’t think I’ve ever been bored. Even on long road days. Car games, a lot of music, funny stories, lunch stops and fantastic mystery stops were part of the daily schedule. We spent a lot of time as a group but when we stopped in a city we also had some time to discover it on our own or in small groups.
I don’t think I have to tell you all about the stops. Just google it and imagine being there with a lot of funny people having a great time! I’ll just tell you my highlights:
Monument Valley was stunning! We did a Jeep tour, had dinner and an ‘evening program’ (dancing and singing) with the locals, slept under the stars (I’ve never seen that many stars!!!) and watched the sunrise the next morning. It’s actually an optional activity but I think every group is doing it so definitely budget it! We all were really dirty and tired after that short night, but it was totally worth it!
Highlight #2 (it’s actually a tie!) is Zion National Park. We did this hike to Angels Landing which wasn’t easy but the view at the peak: amazing! I even liked it better than the Grand Canyon!
And highlight #3 is actually not a 'real big highlight' but it’s my personal one. One night before the last camping night we stayed at a Cowboy Ranch. Luckily we got an upgrade so instead of camping we had a cabin called ‘The Bunkhouse’. We had a fridge, bunk beds and a porch with a picnic table and a couch - luxury! After a great steak dinner the group spent the whole night drinking, playing games and dancing in the ‘Party Barn’. I think this was one of the best nights on the whole trip!

To sum it all up: I had the BEST TIME EVER! I met a lot of great people which I’ll hopefully see again soon, visited so many amazing places and just enjoyed every single second!
My tip: do everything! I spent a lot of money but I don’t regret it at all. It’s a once in a lifetime trip. Enjoy all of it; forget your worries and YOLO!

I totally recommend this trip! If I could I would do it again. I’ll never forget these 3 amazing weeks! GREATEST TRIP EVER!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Amazing and fun

Reviewed August 2014

AWESOME

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

so much in so little time! Brilliant!

Reviewed August 2014

Excellent tour, so many memories in a relatively short time. Knowledgeable trek leader and amazing travel group!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

(Long Review!) A life changing experience that I will never forget.

Reviewed July 2014

I'm the worst person for overthinking when it comes to meeting new people. So if you're unsure about booking this trek because of that sole reason then I urge you to book it right now. When I finally met everyone, I had missed out on weeks of conversation on Facebook and a few days wandering around New York but I never once felt like I wasn't accepted into the group.

Firstly I will say, don't forget that camping is the predominant form of accommodation. There will be spiders(harvestmen), there will be humidity and there will be a noticeable lack of beds. I for one enjoyed camping but for some it may get too much but it gets better after the first week and the Hotels more than make up for it.

The bulk of the tour itself will be the same for everyone but it's the little things in between and the people you share it with that make each one special and unforgettable. For instance on our first night in DC a huge thunderstorm crept over and trapped us all at the Lincoln Memorial. This was a highlight for myself since I've always wanted to see the Lincoln Memorial and I was hoping to see a proper American thunderstorm. (Since the British ones are crap in comparison).

A couple of days on the trek will be free to do what you want. Your Leader will give a briefing the night before on the local area and then it's all up to you. Naturally people have different ideas on what they want to do so it's no surprise that the group split up on these days, I was on my own once but that's because I wanted to see a film about the Grand Canyon. Totally worth it!

The first few days are mostly spent traveling across the country, it's amazing how far you will go without realising, but there are also some great places to go and mini hikes to do. It is on these days that you will gain an appreciation for 'Van Time' and it's where the people you are with that will make it special. Our Trek Song was discovered during this time and it's one that got sung nearly everyday thereafter. Van Time is also when you will catch up on hours of sleep, so invest in a pillow on the first Wall-Mart stop.

Optional activities are a big part of the trek. I budgeted for them 'all' and thoroughly enjoyed them all but a few I would insist you do are White Water Rafting, The Grand Canyon Helicopter Flight and Monument Valley. The latter is only for the whole group so go even if you're unsure, it became the favourite night of the tour for everyone in my group. It is simply amazing. Personal favourites were the Rafting, The Swamp Tour, Grand Canyon Helicopter, Monument Valley, Vegas Helicopter and Horse Riding at the Cowboy Camp.

It is possible that there may come a time on the trip where the group reaches an impasse. For us this happened in Zion National Park the night before we were heading to Vegas. There is an option to hike up to Angels Landing which 4 of the total 20 did but this meant heading out at 4am to return at around 10am, which also meant that the 16 who wanted to head straight to Vegas would be left hanging around for the other 4. The fact the World Cup would be on didn't make things any easier. There was a little tension in the air after a decision was made but despite all that, 14 headed out early the next day anyway (14 because 2 had to stay with the other 4 due to the number of van seats). No harm done.

All in all, this trip was the greatest experience of my life (so far) thanks not only to the USA for being awesome but to our Trek Leaders, Lilly for my group, Tim for the 2nd Group, for organising the optional stops/activities and surprise upgrades from tents to Cabins and also for just simply enjoying the Trek with us.

I think most importantly though, it was thanks to all the people I was privileged enough to share the Trek with. I couldn't have asked for a better group. Saying our goodbyes on the last day was more difficult than I'd imagined and I hope that we all continue to stay in touch. There is already talk of reunions, so I can't wait!

Loading search bar...