Reviews

Southern Sun from New York

(132)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 31-40 of 131 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

just great!

Reviewed August 2015

One of the best trips I've ever done! It was awesome to see so much of the US and get to know a lot of new people! Can't wait for the next one:)

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Vibrant. Awesome. Memorable. Energizing.

Reviewed March 2015

I was on this trip in August/Sept. 1988. Yes, that long ago the year isn't even offered anymore in the pulldown menu! An international crowd, very mixed, and so much fun. We had folks from Australia, Austria, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland. Our tour guide, Cornelia, was an awesome and experienced pro who managed all the little hiccups masterfully. The a/c broke in Texas, one fell off the roof rack and broke an arm in N.O. (continued the trip) but everyone made sure we all enjoyed being out there. The highlights are still the same today as described by many others here. It's the cameraderie that made the trip fantastic. I met with a few of the members for years, I'm still in touch with the tour guide after all those years, and one even came to attend my wedding years later! No regrets!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

An Amazing, Once in a Lifetime Trip (with one issue)

Reviewed November 2014

It was a truly amazing journey from the east and west coast of the USA. Saw some amazing places, from the natural wonders of the Grand Canyon and Zion to cities like New Orleans and Las Vegas. Also, rather than stopping in Birmingham we went to Nashville instead which was an awesome night out and definitely worth a visit! I met some amazing people on the trip as well who I will hopefully meet up with again soon.

However, the tour leader we had wasn't the greatest and slightly soured what was an amazing trip. While he was a nice guy, he wasn't a great trek leader and was at times rude, lazy and self centred. While the situation improved as the trip went on, it was an issue that tainted our group's experience. It's a shame, as the other tour leaders all sound like they made the trips for people even better- we appear to have been the unlucky ones.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Best experience of my life!

Reviewed November 2014

First of all....I miss it! :-( trying to adapt back into reality after this tour is pretty difficult, I had the most fun!
The amount you see and do on this trip is phenomenal I have forgotten parts of the trip already there’s so much to store in your memory (take a camera). I would totally recommend booking this trip or any other with Trek! I have to say our Trek leader made the trip what it was!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Trip of a lifetime. Amazing loved it.

Reviewed November 2014

This trip was the best thing I have ever done. You see so many amazing sites along the way and get to do incredible things. The trek is jam packed with things to do. Our tour leader Chad made the trip complete and always went out of his way to think of better and exciting things for us to do. If you are unsure about booking I would definitely recommend doing it you make so many great friends along the way and feel lost when you are not with them. This was definitely a trip of a lifetime.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Incredible, Amazing, jam-packed, exciting, jaw-dropping

Reviewed October 2014

Trek America has been an incredible experience travelling across the country in 21 days was tough at times but the excitement never stopped and there was always something to see or do!
There is no need to be worried about booking onto a trek! I was nervous at first then when I met my group the nerves went straight away, our leader (Chadwick) was amazing he always had weird and wonderful things to show us and made everyday exciting.

Try to do all of the optional activities but don't worry if you can't because there is always something else to do from hiking inside the Grand Canyon to chilling at a pool drinking with your fellow Trekkers.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

The best 3 weeks ever!

Reviewed October 2014

First thing I have to say is if you don't know whether to book it or not, do it! I only booked mine a few months before it started and it was the best decision I have ever made. I met 5 amazing people and memories I'll keep forever. There were only 6 of us on our trip and we were all girls which was a first. From the first night we all met in the New Jersey hotel, we all clicked and were almost like sisters by the end of it. We travelled through 17 states and did so many amazing things from dancing the night away in New Orleans on the Mississippi boat tour, white water rafting down the ocoee river, making our first ever smores around the camp fire, sleeping under the stars in monument valley, screaming at the first sight of the Grand Canyon to walking down the strip in Vegas. We did so many things it's hard to say what was the best! The tents we had were big enough and fine. We were all pros at putting them up and taking them down by the end of it. Remember to take a torch. There were a few nights we paid an extra $4/5 for a cabin which we all slept in. The van was quite spacious however there were only 6 of us and one person was always in the front as the DJ. I personally don't know how 13 people fit in but it is done. Invest on a 2 point car charger as there are 3 sockets and everyone always wants to use them to charge up phones and iPods. The wifi died on us towards the end. We don't know what happened but you only get a certain amount for the whole trip so no streaming/skyping. Most campsites had wifi. Sometimes it worked sometimes it didn't. Be prepared to all muck in otherwise the trailer won't load by itself. Girls don't worry about make up or hair as by the end of it you'll all be wearing the same clothes that you've worn a thousand times and after a few days no one cares about make up or what your hair looks like. Take a small handbag for when you are in cities and are going out at night. There are some long days in the van but playing eye spy in the middle of nowhere and catching up on sleep will soon pass the time. I would budget more than what you think as at almost every gas station stop I would buy something to munch on. Be prepared to pay for more meals than you expect. The days are long but well worth it and I promise it'll be an experience of a life time!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

A trip of a life time.

Reviewed October 2014

I was worried I wouldn't meet anyone on the trek that was in a similar situation as myself; however, I was proved wrong immediately. It didn't take long for the entire group to merge into a close knit bunch of friends. Everyone was made to feel welcome and I couldn't have asked for a better bunch of people to spend three weeks of my trek with.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

EPIC, Amazing, incredible

Reviewed October 2014

So starting off in the hotel with random people you just met, striking up convocations early to get to know each other...basic stuff really.
Our tour guide (Chelsea) bounds in with colourful knee high socks on and A LOT of energy!

Chelsea was an awesome tour guide, approachable had a great sense of humour and had done research on the places we were going and had facts and the like ready for us.
In the van we made up games.... pub quiz type things and then someone brought out a truth or dare book....day 2 and we REALLY got to know each other!
I think getting this kind of bonding early is vital, from then we were tight group and all got along....

now the drives were long, but if you had had a few drinks the night before this was great time to catch up on sleep and nap off the hangover!

The place we went to....

I cannot even think of words to describe most of it. The countryside in Virginia/Tennessee was beautiful. We arrived in New Orleans for the weekend of some form of gay pride festival, which had the city buzzing. A few hand grenades and horny gators well worth the price! Swamp tour in Louisiana, Texas with its vast size and friendly people, New Mexico seeing Roswell, the 4 corners monument (being in 4 states all at the same time!!) into Utah at a cowboy ranch, horseback riding dressed as a cowboy......
Monument Valley.... it's hard for me to decide what i enjoyed more this or the Grand Canyon.
Within Monument Valley (where Forrest Gump stops running) is the Navajo indian nation! we had a jeep tour with a native who explained the monuments names etc, movies filmed there and even treated us to some singing and music. later the meal was superb! with a bit of a show. 1000000% if you do the Southern Sun, pay the $80 for this experience, we ended up sleeping under the stars.

Grand Canyon...need i say more

Vegas, awesome place. I had been there before so the glitz and glamour had worn off a little but still an awesome time

The goodbyes were hard after spending 3 weeks with these people at such close quarters.

if you are considering doing this. Stop.
Just book
you will not be disappointed

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

A unique experience

Reviewed October 2014

I came back from the three week trek glowing. Reality seemed a little more more grey and dull compared to the vibrancy of life on the road. Travelling in America with a tour guide is so beneficial - it saves you the hassle of driving, ensures you get to see more off piste sites and get the most out of the time you have in each place. Our tour leader, Rachel, was great.

The rain did get slightly tiring at times, so I would recommend starting the trip before August to avoid the rainy season. However, it didn't stop us having great nights out in Nashville and New Orleans - some of my highlights. Some of the campsites we stopped at were also in really beautiful locations.

New Mexico, for me, was an unexpected gem. We found a bar in a hotel about 1 mile away from the campsite. After walking through the very normal looking hotel lobby we walked into a Quentin Tarantino style bar. A great place to get talking to some of the locals... Look out for a waitress named Kerry and a Texan called John.

Once we hit Monument Valley, the trip really came into its own. We had a unique experience with the Navejo tribe and the evening we spent with them was unforgettable. The Grand Canyon was also incredible, and the opportunity to work off some of the many burgers we had eaten on the hike was much appreciated! The campsite there was also great which had wild Elk roaming around. Throughout the whole trip the wildlife - from raccoons to alligators - and especially mosquitos, were a large part of the experience. I highly recommend you to bring a large amount of insect repellent!!

Our quick stop at a ranch in Utah was also great and included a 'soundproof' party room. It was well taken advantage of.

Las Vegas in itself was absolutely fantastic and I can't wait to go back there. It's nothing like where you've ever been before and such a great night out. We walked into a club to discover Tiesto was DJ-ing! Expect to spend a lot of money...

In my opinion, for those flying home either the night of arrival, or the next day, LA would have seemed a bit of a pointless stop. I would say the Kawanda hotel where we were dropped off was not in a good location either - it was $50 to Hollywood and not that near the airport either. So to TrekAmerica I would suggest finding a better hotel if at all possible.

Other minor points would be that for under 21s it is much better if there is more than one in the group as the alcohol situation in America really is quite strict. We had a few under-agers in my group which meant no one was on there own. However, it meant that our leader felt it was unfair to do whiskey tasting at the Jack Daniels factory as it was exclusive. Other than that there weren't really any other problems.

All in all, I had such a memorable trip. I met some really great people who i'm definitely planning on staying in touch with. It was also fun that we got to travel alongside another group doing Southern Sun as well - the more the merrier. Don't be afraid to go on your own, most people do and in my opinion its how you get the most out of the trip. Plus I think it's great experience to try something on your own.

The trip has given me a glimpse of America and made me desperate to go back to some places we didn't see. I would 100% recommend others to do the same. It is fairly expensive, but definitely worth it and much less hassle travelling this way with a guided group.

Loading search bar...