Reviews

Southern Sun from New York

(132)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 111-120 of 131 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Awesome Trip - Definitely Recommend :)

Reviewed December 2012

I had so much fun on this trip and met some great people!
You get to see so much in such a short time, and without the tour I am not sure if I would have ever seen them.
The places you see are amazing and I would love to do it again :)

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Fascinating and amazing trip

Reviewed December 2012

Great Tour, perfectly organized and an amazing tourguide who really made the best for us!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Simply the best experience of my life

Reviewed December 2012

Whatever you're british, australian, korean or french, you're gonna live the best moment of your life ! Great value of course !

And to convince my french fellows, let's say some words in french :

Cher francophone, vous souhaitez vivre une expérience unique dans votre vie, découvrir le meilleurs des Etats Unis en 21 jours, surtout n’hésitez pas ! De NY à LA, j'ai adorer l'ambiance du camping, dormir à la belle étoile dans Monument Valley, les rues animés de la Nouvelle Orléans, les rando dans le Grand Canyon.... Foncez !!!!

Thanks to Trek America ! My dream came true thanks to you !

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Quite simply the best thing I have done with my life so far!

Reviewed December 2012

Where do I start? I got to see a vast chunk of America in a 3.5 week period that was scheduled and managed with such effiecieny. You can see why these guys regularly win awards. The trek leader was a credit to the company and the knowledge they have ensure that your trip is great. Of course there is a little dependency on the group of people you are with and the attitude you go with. If you are fun, friendly and open to new experiences then this is undoubtedly a trip you should go on. The only real negative I can think of is that I was cold quite a lot of the time but then that was my fault for not packing enough warm clothes and not going during summer!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

BEST HOLIDAY EVER!!

Reviewed December 2012

With a combination of Camping and Hotels, this trip had it all. Our guide Jeni went above and beyond what any guide should do including joining us for most nights out, even the night before a long hard drive in the morning!

Met some wonderful people from all over the world and enjoyed every minute of being with them (though when not too drunk and lost).

Nothing can beat the live music of Nashville, Memphis and New Orleans, The lights and OTT nature of Las Vegas but if combine it with the beauty of The Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Lake Powell and Zion NP you have the best of everything possible that America has to offer.

If you haven't done a Trek America holiday yet, don't wait to sign up - JUST DO IT NOW!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Best value trip to see wide range of America

Reviewed December 2012

I think this is one of the better tours that Trek America do as it really does encompass everything that is great from the Americans.

You start and end in major cities (New York and Los Angeles) but everything inbetween is so interesting and fun!

You have all the natural beauty of The Grand Canyon and Monument Valley but it's just visiting these places as a passing tourist but actively enjoying the place by staying in a reserve, hogan or even taking a helicopter flight over it! It makes it all even more special when you are camping at these places too. We did cop out at The Grand Canyon and found a cheap lodge for only dollars each per night as it felt like -5oC outside (we were near the end of the trip and thought this was money well spent - also the lodge had a bar :) :) )

It was great visiting American cities that you really have no idea what is in them like Houston and San Antonio!

My favourite part of this trip was discovering what delight New Orleans had to offer - what a place. Interesting architecture, music, food and people. We couldve spent a week here! I didn't even like jazz music before the visit but im now a total convert!

Above all the places you visit and activities you do the best thing is the friends that you make and share all these experiences with!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

The best time of my life. I want to do it all again!!!

Reviewed December 2012

Trek was one of the best things I have ever decided to do. I met some amazing people, saw some amazing places and learnt alot about myself too. The next chance I get i'll be booking another!!!
I chose Southern Sun mainly because it went to NYC, VEGAS & GRAND CANYON amongst alot of other cool places. It is also the most popular of treks and I understand why! It includes some of the most amazing places in America.

I'll never be able to explain to anyone the excitement I felt when I got off that plane In NYC and went into the city for the first time, it was just unbelievable. Americans are so friendly and excited to see you!

I was so impressed with Trek, they provide everything other than a sleeping bag and although the cutlery, tents etc aren't the nicest there's no complaints to be made and my trek leader was great, very approachable and would do anything we asked/needed.

Highly reccommend this trip to anyone!!

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Once in a lifetime experience!

Reviewed December 2012

If you want to see the USA in a short time, the southern sun is perfect! Some of the highlights from my trip were viewing the grand canyon at sunrise, staying on a cowboy ranch, seeing New Orleans and experiencing Las Vegas. We were incredibly lucky to have Jeni Kreiger as our leader. She knew all the best places to take us and even switched parts of the trek around to ensure we got the best experience. I can't rate her highly enough as a leader! Without her as our trek leader we would not have been to Nashville and Memphis. The night out we had in Nashville was one of the best nights of the whole trek!
I really enjoyed the mix of camping and hotels and was suprised at how easy it was camping. The three weeks I spent on the southern sun were one of the best 3 weeks of my life. I made some great friends from around the world and hope to be able to keep in contact with them all.
If you're unsure about going, just book it! You won't regret it! Trek America is a great company to go with as the group is small which allows the leader to go with the flow to suit your needs.
I had such a great time that I'm going to try and book the Northern Trail in a couple of years.

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Amazing experience. Great people great views great adventure

Reviewed December 2012

An amazing experience with a group of people I had never met before sharing a journey that will be in my memory for a lifetime. Would love to experience another trip again soon

Past Trekkers Review
Southern Sun from New York

Words cannot describe the awesomeness of this experience

Reviewed November 2012

Having booked 9 months prior to departure there was a lot of time to become nervous and trust me I was nervous, being insanely shy and not the most comfortable with flying I started doubting whether I should just pull out and do you know what I’m glad I didn’t as the Southern Sun trek was to become the most amazing experience that I have ever encountered and one that has truly changed me for the best!

In the space of a couple of days your fellow trekkers go from strangers to people you feel you have known forever. Life in the van adds to the adventure of trek, So yeah a 7 hour drive may seem long, but trust me the amount of time you will spend chatting, playing games, blogging, listening to music and most importantly SLEEPING the time literally flies by.
Having only camped once I think in my life I thought camping might be an issue for 3 weeks however the facilities at the campsites were amazing, first night we had a hot tub, swimming pool, movie room and washing facilities, most campsites had a swimming pool which in 40 degree heat was definitely welcome! I couldn’t fault the tents either, my particular tent had a scared face drawn onto the bag which was rather apt as it’s safe to say I am a whimp when it comes to creepy crawlies, although apart from a caterpillar my tent managed to stay insect free :)

Your trek leaders definitely add to your trek experience, I will never forget our trek leader Josh and the infamous watermelon Bilson and Bilson Jr., the cake he tried days to get us to eat oh and the old school songs in the van and annoying him with Flo Rida – Whistle on a daily basis :)

It’s hard to pinpoint ‘best bits’ of the trek because in all honesty it was all fantastic. I suppose a couple of my ‘absolute highlights’ would be New Orleans , Vegas, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley and Whitewater Rafting. When in New Orleans an absolute must would be to have a hand grenade and Pat O’Briens Hurricane drink, it’s safe to say both drinks will lead for an interesting night. Vegas Vegas Vegas, Gamble hard and party harder in the party limo…. ooo and a definite for the ladies – book the show thunder down under and try get a middle table! Grand Canyon and Monument Valley – perfect picture taking opportunities here and truly spectacular sights! And last but not least whitewater rafting, a full day of rafting on the 1996 Olympic course was definitely one of those WOW moments!!!

So yeah basically if you have any doubts about booking, shove them to the side, you will not regret booking the trek in the slightest. Words cannot describe the insane amount of fun and the experiences that you incur. You will make lifelong friends and will be left with some of the greatest memories imaginable…. And as our motto was YOU ONLY LIVE ONCE.. YOLO

Loading search bar...