Reviews

Southern Sun from New York

(125)
Average Rating:
4.9 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 124 Reviews
Emily Sturdy
Southern Sun from New York

Absolutely amazing.

Reviewed October 2018

I booked this trek in February after hovering over the book button for at least a couple of months and then one day I plucked up the courage and booked. I had never solo travelled before as I was just used to holidays with friends and family but I have always wanted to see the world, so this was a big decision for me and I can honestly say the best thing I have ever done.

Firstly, I made the best group of friends. I couldn't have wished for a better group to travel with. You get so close within them 3 weeks that when it's time to say goodbye you are so emotional (Well I was an emotional wreck) as you feel like you've known them forever. Also, I was lucky that in my group everyone was travelling solo, so we were all in the same position with feeling nervous/apprehensive and it was lovely to share such amazing experiences with them.

Secondly, our tour leader Coca was the best. She went out of her way to give us all the best experience possible. The tour leaders have very long days, from getting up super early to sometimes going to bed quite late and having to drive for long hours most days, Coca didn't let her tiredness or how she was feeling effect our tour in the slightest. She was always happy, smiling and joined in with the group. She was also full of great surprises which added to the trip and made it even better. We couldn't fault her as a group and we all miss her lots, we love you Carol!!

The trip itself is just something you will never forget. You see beautiful sights and camp in the nicest locations. The hostels and hotels are also lovely and I don't have any complaints about the places we stayed. Apart from the one campsite which wasn't a great experience for any of us due to mosquitos but we don't talk about that! The bus journeys fly by, you will take it in turns to sit in the front seat and be DJ for the day so make sure you have your playlist ready! It is tiring and there isn't much time to rest but you can nap on the bus and it is so worth the early mornings when you see some beautiful sunrise's.

I had never camped before this trip and to be honest I was dreading sleeping in a tent with bugs (especially spiders) and everything else that comes with sleeping in a tent but I absolutely loved it. Although myself and my tent mate woke up to 2 massive spiders on our tent on the first morning, It was such an experience and by the end of the 3 weeks we were all cowboy camping under the stars for our last couple of nights. You have to throw yourself into the whole experience as when you get home I can guarantee you will want to do it all again. You see so much in the 3 weeks so make sure you have enough storage on your phones. It is impossible to choose a highlight of the trip as I enjoyed every place in a different way. From watching the sunrise in Monument Valley to flying in a helicopter over the Grand Canyon to cooking camp meals and sitting around the campfire, they are all memories I will definitely treasure forever.

Therefore, if you are thinking of booking this trek then think no more. It will be the best thing you ever do.

Chels_Ackroyd
Southern Sun from New York

Incredible experience, amazing locations and people but disappointing trek leader.

Reviewed September 2018

Booking the trip was so easy and I loved the pre-departure tips and checklist as well as being able to speak to people on my trip beforehand! Although the trip was really expensive, it allowed me to travel hassle-free after camp and pick a trek that suits me. The trek itself was incredible! I visited 15 states in 21 days and was lucky enough to have a great group of people. I chose a camping trek which suited me and thought the idea of the food kitty was perfect. The campsites were all lovely (bar one, which we only stayed in for one night) with showers, wifi, laundry and sometimes pools. We had a lot of free days to choose what we wanted to do, which was great since we didn't have to follow the group.
My biggest let down was the tour leader. He focused a lot on drinking, making sure we always bought alcohol and sometimes left activities earlier than the group wanted so we could go back to the hostel/campsite and drink. The food kitty was not used how it was described to us- we were not given a choice whether to use food kitty or eat out or even a choice on where to eat out. Meals became very expensive since he chose very nice, but very expensive restaurants and we only made 5 dinners for the whole 21 day trek. There were many other complaints including unacceptable relationships with trekkers, staying up late drinking then driving us early in the morning, leaving drunk people on the floor to look after themselves, texting while driving and giving us very little information on things to do locally on our free days, particularly free things to do. The trek leader on the other group also regularly got lost (despite using google maps), got stuck in the sand (so the trekkers had to push the van out and lost an hour and a half of their day) and spoke badly about the other group.
This review is not to put people off the trip, which was INCREDIBLE. I line danced in nashville, hiked the grand canyon, went on a party bus down the vegas strip and spent many evenings playing cards and drinking by the fire. This review is to make people aware of the negatives of my experience so they can consider it before booking. When reading reviews I found that people only included positives, whereas I wanted to have an inclusive review to consider before booking. Also, I hope that this review, and my complaint email will make trekamerica train/hire staff with more care.

Chels_Ackroyd
Southern Sun from New York

Incredible experience, amazing locations and people but disappointing trek leader.

Reviewed September 2018

Booking the trip was so easy and I loved the pre-departure tips and checklist as well as being able to speak to people on my trip beforehand! Although the trip was really expensive, it allowed me to travel hassle-free after camp and pick a trek that suits me. The trek itself was incredible! I visited 15 states in 21 days and was lucky enough to have a great group of people. I chose a camping trek which suited me and thought the idea of the food kitty was perfect. The campsites were all lovely (bar one, which we only stayed in for one night) with showers, wifi, laundry and sometimes pools. We had a lot of free days to choose what we wanted to do, which was great since we didn't have to follow the group.
My biggest let down was the tour leader. He focused a lot on drinking, making sure we always bought alcohol and sometimes left activities earlier than the group wanted so we could go back to the hostel/campsite and drink. The food kitty was not used how it was described to us- we were not given a choice whether to use food kitty or eat out or even a choice on where to eat out. Meals became very expensive since he chose very nice, but very expensive restaurants and we only made 5 dinners for the whole 21 day trek. There were many other complaints including unacceptable relationships with trekkers, staying up late drinking then driving us early in the morning, leaving drunk people on the floor to look after themselves, texting while driving and giving us very little information on things to do locally on our free days, particularly free things to do. The trek leader on the other group also regularly got lost (despite using google maps), got stuck in the sand (so the trekkers had to push the van out and lost an hour and a half of their day) and spoke badly about the other group.
This review is not to put people off the trip, which was INCREDIBLE. I line danced in nashville, hiked the grand canyon, went on a party bus down the vegas strip and spent many evenings playing cards and drinking by the fire. This review is to make people aware of the negatives of my experience so they can consider it before booking. When reading reviews I found that people only included positives, whereas I wanted to have an inclusive review to consider before booking. Also, I hope that this review, and my complaint email will make trekamerica train/hire staff with more care.

B.Morris
Southern Sun from New York

I would press the button.

Reviewed December 2017

Honestly, if I could do this trip all over again, I absolutely would. I couldn't recommend it more. Our tour leader was brilliant and took us to interesting, lesser known locations during the long driving days that I never would have seen, experienced or known of otherwise. I met lovely friends who I have since stayed in contact with - you can't have the experiences you do together and not stay in touch to relive them! What a privilege. Trek America's support staff (the ones you talk to on the phone with your long list of endless questions, worries and problems) - I could not praise more. Each time I called, no matter whom it was I spoke to, they were friendly, patient, understanding and just all-round brilliant. I know it's easy to read these reviews and think 'yeah, they all say the same thing, what's new?', but if you're even considering doing this trip, the final thing I will say, is to just do it. Press the button. I can promise you that I didn't regret it.

sarahjenkinss_
view profile
Southern Sun from New York

Unforgettable trip - have made friends for life!

Reviewed November 2017

This trip was my first time to the states as a solo traveler and I literally could not have asked for a better time. I was incredibly lucky to be in a group mixed with boys and girls who who were all completely different, but got along super well due to our common interest in travel.

Most of us were Brits (which I didn't expect!) and one from Aus. I had my apprehensions about coming on the trip as it is 21 days - but I couldn't have asked for a better group of people. We made the long van driving days fly by with lots of regular stops and each person took their turn at being Quiz Master (who knew Georgia is the Peach state?!) along with each of us channeling our inner DJ as we picked a new playlist each day.

There was so many highlights for me - My first would be finding out how beautiful and diverse America really is. Every state is completely different - seriously! Each has its' own quirks, however every American we met was super friendly and were so interested in all our individual stories.

My second highlight was camping in Utah with the Native American people (Navajos) it was the most breathtaking experience of my life. The views of Utah were unbelievable, and the food was to die for. Getting up at 5am to watch the sun rise was beautiful, and added so much to our already amazing trip.

My third and final highlight was Vegas with the group. We didn't just party on the strip, we were lucky enough to be invited to our Trek leaders' relatives house for a BBQ. I had never had an American BBQ before and I don't think anything could top the night we had.

Some final words I would like to add is DO NOT be afraid to take personal time to go and do what you want (where it is possible of course). I definitely left the group a few times of the trip because I just needed time t collect my thoughts and be able to join in again. There will definitely be times where you miss home and probably even some times where you bicker, but you WILL get over it.

We finished our Trek in July 2017 and not a day goes by where I don't think about that trip. We have actually made plans to visit Ireland for St. Paddy's day (one of our group was Irish) and even our leader is coming along.

I have seriously made friends for life, and would recommend anyone just to do it. It will be the best thing you'll do. I am planning on doing some more travelling with Trek next year.

Happy camping!

DANNI
Southern Sun from New York

Incredible, lief-changing opportunity

Reviewed November 2017

The southern sun trek for 3 weeks has been the absolute highlight of my life so far, and I have traveled some bit before! The trek group of 13 are now my closest friends, I went alone and knew they'd be others like me doing the same thing. The good thing with a trek is the people on the trek love travel as much as you do! There were optional extra activities in every single state and all reasonably priced, our tour guide Blake was insane! He knew the good places to go, advised on anything we asked about and most of all became one of us- a great friend. Monument Valley was the highlight for me, we camped in the middle under the stars with the Navajo tribe which isn't something anyone else I know has done. Every day we were on the move, more driving than I expected but it was awesome. We'd play games, have a sleep, chat, and listen to music so the journeys felt like nothing...and anyway the scenery through the drives are incredible! I went for Trek because I wanted to jam everything into 3 small weeks and that's certainly what I got! I couldn't speak highly enough of this trek and my group, and it has provided me with very precious memories that I will treasure for the rest of my life.

SOFIE M.
Southern Sun from New York

A freaking amazing roadtrip that I will never forget!!!

Reviewed October 2017

If you are thinking about going this trip, stop thinking and just book it! It might be a lot of money, you might need to work extra hard and save up for a long time but it is totally worth it! I would do the trip all over again if I could! This trip will be an experience of you life time trust me! You start in New York, you go to Philly, you get to see all the monuments and famous buildings in Washington DC, white water rafting in Appalachian Mountains, you get to line dance in amazing Nashville, walk around in Memphis, eat some southern food in New Orleans, eat a hell lot of meat in Texas and you get to keep Austin weird! And to not even talk about running where Forrest Gump ran and sleep under the stars in Monument Valley and after you wake up from your night under the stars you get to watch the sunset over Grand Canyon! From the great Grand Canyon you go creek walking in Zion National Park an hike the Angels Landing trail. And from Zion you go to the weirdest place on earth, Las Vegas! And as you know, what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas! And then after three weeks on the road you finally make your way to the Hollywood sign in Los Angeles! Even though this is the end of an amazing trip and you might be very sad that it's over, you will still have all amazing memories and a bunch of new friends! There is no way to describe how awesome this trip is, you just have to experience it your self! So all I can say is, just go! There is no way in the world that you will regret it! The only thing you will regret is if you don't go and then you see what an amazing time everyone else had! If you want to you can watch my video 'Trek America - Southern Sun Road Trip 2017' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0YZDwzVAhA&t=5s

Sean Stringer
view profile
Southern Sun from New York

Amazing life experience and memories that will last forever

Reviewed July 2017

It was a great experience from start to finish was lucky enough to have travelled with a nice group of people that I'm now made life long friends with
You do have to make the most of your time seen as though 2 days is the most you have in one place but all in all would recommend it to anyone

Laura
Southern Sun from New York

Best time ever! What an adventure!

Reviewed April 2017

I loved the Southern Sun tour! It was one of the most popular treks for a reason! There is so much to do and see and somehow we managed to fit it all in in 3 weeks! Every place is amazing and everywhere and everything exceeded my expectations. I especially loved Monument Valley, the Grand Canyon, Texas, Vegas and basically everywhere else too. I made some really amazing friends (who I am still in touch with now) and have so many fun and happy memories from this trip. I actually extended my trip as I did not want to go home, plus I have just booked another trek for this summer!
My trek leader Peter O'Donnell was brilliant and definitely made sure we all had an amazing experience, going out of his way for all of us!
Definitely recommend this trip to all!

GEORGIABH.
Southern Sun from New York

Wouldn't change if for the world!

Reviewed January 2017

This trip was such an amazing experience and i would recommend for anyone and everyone to experience it, even if you are travelling by yourself!
The trip itinerary is amazing and you get to really experience so many states and different activities (white water rafting, monument valley, line dancing, hiking the grand canyon, swamp tours, philly cheese steaks, venice beach, lake powell etc). However, it could be tough at times with some looooong drives. Although, in order to see so many amazing sights it is neccessary and well worth it. All the van games we played helped us get through the long drives and brought the group closer!
This really was one of those 'life changing' experiences for me and my boyfriend. We made so many awesome memories and experienced so many amazing things that it is something we will remember forever! Not to mention, the life long friendships we forged on this trip with some amazing people!

Definately do this trip and make sure you camp! It makes the experience so much more special and unique!

Loading search bar...