Reviews

Northern Trail from New York

(23)
Average Rating:
4.8 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 11-20 of 23 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Incredible.

Reviewed September 2013

I loved the Northern Trail trek and really enjoyed seeing places 'off the beaten track'. It was great to experience parts of America I'm sure not very many tourists see. I LOVED the national parks, Yosemite and Yellowstone are beautiful and it made me realise that a couple of days was not enough and that I'll have to go back there one day. I definitely couldn't have visited all the places on the trek alone as it was such a long distance and it was great to meet like minded people who loved camping and being outdoors as much as I do. Friends for life.

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Amazing

Reviewed September 2013

An amazing trip, lots of camping, great cities, great friends.

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Three cram packed weeks of Adventure and Discovery

Reviewed August 2013

It's easy to say anywhere anyone goes is the best trip they're even been on, but I can say wholeheartedly with my experience that is one trip that will stay with you for the rest of your life. The places you go, the people you meet and the friendships you form with the people you travel around with.

Early highlights including Niagara Falls, Cedar Point Amusement Park followed by two days in Chicago. Then westwards towards Mount Rushmore, Badlands, the old western town of Deadwood and a couple of nights sleeping in the wilderness of Yellowstone providing some amazing memories to take with me. From there south-west bound towards Nevada, Lake Tahoe (with a beautiful sunset cruise on offer), two breathtaking (view and exercise wise) days in Yosemite before the trip mellowing out in San Francisco and a relaxing drive down Highway 1, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and making your way into your final stop in Los Angeles.

A trip is only as good as the leader who takes you to these wonderful places and my tour leader, Ali, showed all the appropriate enthusiasm and knowledge, going beyond the call of duty at times, just to make that trip just that extra special.

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Three cram packed weeks of Adventure and Discovery

Reviewed August 2013

It's easy to say anywhere anyone goes is the best trip they're even been on, but I can say wholeheartedly with my experience that is one trip that will stay with you for the rest of your life. The places you go, the people you meet and the friendships you form with the people you travel around with.

Early highlights including Niagara Falls, Cedar Point Amusement Park followed by two days in Chicago. Then westwards towards Mount Rushmore, Badlands, the old western town of Deadwood and a couple of nights sleeping in the wilderness of Yellowstone providing some amazing memories to take with me. From there south-west bound towards Nevada, Lake Tahoe (with a beautiful sunset cruise on offer), two breathtaking (view and exercise wise) days in Yosemite before the trip mellowing out in San Francisco and a relaxing drive down Highway 1, overlooking the Pacific Ocean and making your way into your final stop in Los Angeles.

A trip is only as good as the leader who takes you to these wonderful places and my tour leader, Ali, showed all the appropriate enthusiasm and knowledge, going beyond the call of duty at times, just to make that trip just that extra special.

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Exciting, adventerous, a great mix of cities and landscape

Reviewed April 2013

After spending 9 weeks working at summer camp, this trek was the perfect way to let off some steam and see a spectrum of the varied lanscapes and cities the USA has to offer. Travelling coats to coast really gives you an idea just how BIG the USA really is and how varies and different are it's scenary and people. A personal favourite of mine was going to a rodeo in the mid west and visiting the world famous Mount Rushmore. This trip has a great variety of city and outdoor stops. Further, if you're like me and not great with too much heat, the Northern Trail in August/ September is great as it's warm enough for short and Tshirts but cool enough to be able to do all the activities without getting hot and bothered!

This was my first Trek America tour and it inspired me to do many more!

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Life changing experience!

Reviewed January 2013

I went on this Trek years ago now but still think about it often and bore people with my many tales. Watching American TV and saying '"I've been there" has become a standing joke in our house. I traveled on my own and met up with a fantastic group of people who, after hours on a bus together, felt like friends I had known for years. We have had several reunions since where we have sat up late laughing about the things we saw and experienced. Two people who met on my Trek have even got married :-)

Be prepared for long stretches on the bus. I think I was naive about the amount of time it actually takes to go coast to coast and you will be expected to get up early to pack up your tents etc. You will get time to sleep on the bus though but take lots of books and music. A lot of people also wrote travel journals which is a really good way of keeping track of where you have been. If you haven't camped much before, don't worry. You will be so tired from the travelling you will sleep like a brick.

The weather was very changeable. New York was very muggy and humid and Chicago was hot and rainy (lots of annoying mosquitoes too!) Some of the National Parks such as Yellowstone are baking hot in the day but freezing at night. Take lots of layers with you.

The structure of the Trek allows you to see such a wide range of places, from the National Parks to the contrasting busy cities.

Being a film geek, watching Close Encounters of The Third Kind under the Devil's Tower Monument (the filming location) was an amazing experience, especially as we had a thunder storm and had to run back to our tents.

Chicago was amazing, I loved it so much I have been back since (and was proposed to under the Cloud Gate sculpture) . The parks and architecture are really special, with sky scrapers and historic buildings tucked in between. We did a bike tour which was a great way to see the city. The Cloud Gate sculpture is also very special, especially at different times of the day and night as the reflections and colours change. The Aquarium and Museums are also really nice.

Horse-riding in Badlands and Wyoming was good fun. We rode through Badlands as the sun was setting and the colours and scenery were beautiful. Jackson,Wyoming was a very cool Cowboy town where we went to the Million Dollar Cowboy Bar and watched people dance in their stetsons.

Alcatraz is well worth a look. It is a very eerie place and you can go in to the old cells and imagine the prisoners walking around. Walking across the Golden Gate Bridge is also worth doing.

I could go on and on but there isn't enough room in the box to explain how fantastic this Trek is. One thing that sums is up is an American man I sat next to on my flight home. He made the mistake of asking where I had been. After showing him loads of photos' and my travel journal he said " You have seen more of America than most Americans".

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Best trip of my life

Reviewed December 2012

I was hesitant to book a tour as I had never heard of Trek America but I am so glad I did! Brian, our guide was fantastic and the group just clicked. I saw so many amazing things that I would not have seen otherwise and I learnt so much. I could not recommend this highly enough!

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Amazing cities, breathtaking nature, great activities, wonderful people = Journey of a lifetime!

Reviewed December 2012

The northern trail was my third trek (previously did Southern Sun and a trek in Australia) and it was the best time of my life! It gives you a perfect combination of amazing cities like NY, Chicago, San Fransisco, LA and breathtaking nature like Niagra Falls, Yellowstone, Badlands, Lake Tahoe, Indian lands, Pacific Coast and more. On top of all of this the trips offers many great experiences like roller coasters at Cedar Point, river rafting, a fun night bike ride in the Windy City, bear watching in Yellowstone, amazing hike to Half Dome in Yosemite, cowboy bars, Alcatraz visit and much more. All of this combined with fun camping and parties with your group, encountering a variety of wonderful people and amazing scenery as you drive across the US in the van, equals a truly amazing journey showing you the best of USA. I would not hestitate to do this trip again!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

Best trip of my life

Reviewed December 2012

This is a wonderful trip through the heart of USA, in 3 weeks to get to see sooo much of it. You start from the bustling East coast, passing through Chicago, see the immense cornfields and plains of the Midwest, to continue through the lovely National Parks of Yellowstone and Yosemite, you see the barren scenery of Nevada, finishing in beautiful California. It has a bit of everything, from well-known, touristy places to locations which you have never heard of and that take you deeper under the skin of USA. My trek mates were great, all like-minded, easygoing and eager to discover something new. The trek leader was awesome, always there for you. Camping sometimes is rough and doesn't suit everyone, but I liked it because it added a taste of adventure. There was a variety of activities, and the schedule was flexible enough to allow for someone to take it easy, or to test yourself with some serious hiking. Just bear in mind there aren't many chances for a lie-in: if you want to see stuff, get up early! All in all, a trip I loved, I hope others have the same great experience as me.

Past Trekkers Review
Northern Trail from New York

amazing!!!!!

Reviewed November 2012

This was my second trek and its amazing. Everything you read is what you do and more. We got baseball tickets in chicago. Went to alcatraz in san Francisco (defo worth it if you can). Partied a lot...

Just be prepared for the long drives. They don't bother me because you see so much and most days after the big cities we were a bit hung-over so you can just sleep through them. But its totally worth it.

I did the south in March and the north is much more nicer to drive.

Loading search bar...