Reviews

Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

(53)
Average Rating:
4.6 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 31-40 of 53 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Best week ever!!!!

Reviewed September 2014

What can I say, this was literally the best week of my life. The tour has a great mixture, with the beautiful scenery of Yosemite to partying in Vegas. Your body gets used to no sleep and napping in the van!!! All worth it. One downside, having to come home!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Amazing

Reviewed September 2014

A lot of sights in one week. The Grand Canyon and Yosemite National Park were by far the highlights.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Great mix of experiences crammed into a week

Reviewed August 2014

A huge variety of sights, from the cities to panoramic views of Yosemite NP and Grand Canyon.
Don't be scared of bears - you probably won't see any, even if , like me, you wanted to!
Be prepared for early mornings (you might want to hold off on the binge-drinking, except in Vegas!!) and lots of hours in the van. THis was a nice way to get to know each other though, and also catch up on some sleep.
As others have said, if you want to see more of the start/end cities, book extra nights before or after. Also, do your research on the location of your LA hotel - such a crazy spread-out city!

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Best week of my life!

Reviewed August 2014

Chose this due to it being a nice short one for my first trek and I am so glad that I did! Was majorly jetlagged the first night I got there but as soon as I met everyone and our trek leader, it was all forgotten. Huuuuuuuge shoutout to Taylor Simmons for being an incredible leader, so many nice things to say about her!
San Francisco was short and sweet as I was expecting, I would advise to get there a few days before to see the city as you only walk the Golden Gate bridge. From there we headed onto Yosemite with stops for gas and snacks on the way. By midday, we were all best friends, all joking around and having fun in the van! When we got to the lodge at Yosemite, we all just wanted to relax and have food ready for an early wake-up call. This was our first night together which we spent getting to know each other and just chilling, making plans for the next day (including what to do if a bear charges at you arghhhh).
During our time at Yosemite, we did the 4 hour hike to the top of Vernal Falls. Due to it being 38 degrees, we didn't plan to go any further as we still had to go back down! Most spectacular views I have ever seen (until the Grand Canyon). People started to fade during the hike due to jetlag and the altitude, but everyone stuck together and just kept the encouragement flowing. From here we called back at a brewery for some food and another 'social night' to catch up on everyone's days.This was a really nice way to 'check in' with everyone after a long day, made us feel more of a group. Ready for another early wake up call for the long drive to Vegas, we were all a bit tired and looking forward to a drive so that we could catch up on sleep. However, when some of the traffic lights broke on the freeway, we became 2 hours behind schedule, leading to a very disturbing game of 'would you rather' in the back of the van! Possibly the best way to pass time on these long drives.
By the time we got to Vegas, it was dark, the city lit up (wouldn't have had the same effect driving there in the day), and we only had 20 minutes to get ready for our party bus tour (dilemma!!!!!).
From here the over 21's went out to a pool party, with the under 21's doing what we wanted. Taylor, our trek leader stuck with us and came to watch the Bellagio fountains, had a little drink and walked along the strip. Oh and also decided to eat pizza at 1:30am (which was delicious).
Our free day in Vegas was a godsend, just up to us to split off into smaller groups and see what we wanted to do. Myself and two others decided to walk the strip to the stratosphere, popping into hotels on the way for a little wander. This led us to having a Gondola ride through the Venetian, what an amazing experience.
Heading from Vegas to the Grand Canyon got quite scary when a thunderstorm hit, requiring us to pull over for around 40 minutes, also got us worried that we wouldn't have clear skies for our first view of the canyon but how wrong I was. Taylor blindfolded us led us to the edge just as the sun was setting, counted down from 3 and told us to take the blindfolds off. Myself and another trekker actually cried at the view, was the breath-taking moment of my life. Not something I'll forget easily.
This night ended with a social meeting (turned into a game of Never have I ever) which was a lovely end to a stressful day. The helicopter flight came next and I would recommend this to everyone if they ever have the chance to do it.
Spent this night in Laughlin, on the Nevada/Arizona border which was our final night together, a bit surreal as I felt that we had all gotten so close and the end was near.
From here we drove to LA (experienced a sandstorm) which again required us to pull over. As I was in the front seat, it got quite scary, not being able to see, hats off to Taylor for driving. However, when the sand cleared, there was a huge car crash on the other side of the road and it even made the news, seriously hope everyone was okay!
Due to this, we were a bit delayed getting to LA but this didn't really bother me as I still got to experience the Walk of Fame and the Hollywood sign. Again, I would advise adding extra days if you want to see more of LA. I plan to go back to see Venice beach, Santa Monica and make a drive to Santa Barbara.
Then came the emotional farewell. So many hugs and tears, really didn't want to leave the US or the people. Made some amazing friends (including the trek leader) and they all made the experience so worthwhile! Huge shoutout to everyone on my trek and to Taylor for being an amazing trek leader.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Wish I could do it all over again!

Reviewed June 2014

The Western BLT is a 1 week trek covering California, Arizona and Nevada. It promises variety, great scenery, great company and an all round great adventure. For anyone thinking of doing this trip, you wont regret it, so if you're like me and apprehensive about travelling on your own, just go for it and then you'll soon agree it was one of the best decisions you ever made. I had an awesome time and I met some great people along the way. The only negative I found was returning home.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Varied, fun, organised, flexible,

Reviewed June 2014

A well organised blend of cityscapes and beautiful scenery. This trip gives an excellent taster of the west coast and shows that the beauty of the USA is in it's sweeping vistas and it's melting pot of different people. Definitely recommend it but be prepared for long car rides and clothes for many different temperatures and situations

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Amazing experience with a great bunch of people

Reviewed June 2014

This was my first ever trek and I was a little nervous beforehand but it was one of the most wonderful experiences I have ever had. We had a great group of trekkers from a variety of different countries and I got to know the majority of them really well. We had an organised and approachable tour leader who made an effort to get to know each trekker personally and cater for our needs. The tour destinations are excellent and we managed to see a variety of places in just one week. There was a great mixture of optional extras although the helicopter rides are understandably fairly expensive so not for everyone's budget. My personal favourites were the Grand Canyon Helicopter ride and the Las Vegas strip limo ride, which our whole tour group did. The tour is a good option for those seeking a mix of city and rural destinations. There is definitely something to suit everyone on the itinerary and so I would highly recommend the Western BLT Tour!

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Epic Introduction To The USA

Reviewed June 2014

What can I say, this is a perfect way to soak up lots of the headline parts of the USA in one week.

San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge was a magnificent start, without being too much too soon.

I was pleasantly surprised by Yosemite. Doing the walks/treks makes you look up in awe.

Las Vegas - great food, great places to go, gambling, more sights... criminal not to go there and absolutely enjoy it.

Route 66 stop-off is another thing on the list and was brilliant.

Grand Canyon is just beyond belief. Get up early and make the most of doing the trails.

Los Angeles/Hollywood was a perfect end as with SF at the start, just a wind-down but still epic things to see.

Travels between places were great. Plenty of stops to soak up all the experiences of travelling.

I have always wanted to do NYC, so doing this trek first could have been a bit weird for me, but it had everything in my book.

Kudos to Lauren our tour leader, as she helped sculpt our own experience. She got involved, without making the group 'reliant' on her.

I'm already trying to sort an east coast tour and/or do a bespoke one, with Lauren potentially being a request if at all possible :)

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

Excellent mix of activities, awesome tour guide, great itinerary

Reviewed June 2014

Usually travel solo, so was expecting to "tolerate" the people on the trek for a week so that I could do the activities I wanted. Was a complete surprise to have the amount of fun I had. 13 was a good group size, because usually you could find someone else who wanted to do the same thing as you did.The places we went to were amazing and even the long bus rides didn't seem too long. The tour guide Lauren Stanwyck was excellent. Would definitely take another trip in the future and recommend to others as well!

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder Plus from San Francisco

By far the best trip of my life

Reviewed March 2014

Having never embarked on a trip such as this before I was a little nervous, but I genuinely loved it from start to end. I have met some truly amazing people and friends for life! Our tour guide (Tom) was awesome and I couldn't fault his efforts throughout the trip!

Considering it is early in the season, I think we actually went at the perfect time. Only 9 of us on the trip meant more space in the minibus and we could get to know one another better. There were far less tourists which meant everything flowed more smoothly and there were less queues. It was strange to hike one of the trails in the Grand Canyon without loads of other tourists...but it was bliss!

This trip has made me realise I want to see more of the country and I wouldn't hesitate in booking with Trek America in the near future!

Loading search bar...