Reviews

Westerner 2

(97)
Average Rating:
4.8 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 97 Reviews
FREYA
Westerner 2

Full on, jam packed, full of laughs and adventures!

Reviewed October 2017

Blimey. What an adventure!! Anyone considering this trip needs to book now and go for it. There were so many great moments, I'm not sure where to start!
Our tour leader Tyler was amazing. Such cool dude, even though he was poorly with a cold halfway through and had to miss the ultimate party bus in Vegas! But he made sure he did everything he could to make sure we all got the most out of the trip (illness or no illness). For example, none of our group wanted to go to the San Diego zoo, so he dropped some of us to the beach for surfing (defo recommend surfing here, it was SO much fun!!) and some of us downtown for some exploring.
The van was great, we were a group of 9, which meant we just about had enough extra space to be as comfy as possible for the long drives. Wifi seemed to be unlimited, but slow at times! Loads of charging points, and plenty of essential stops to buy all that yummy American candy haha! We all took turns in sitting up front, playing the tunes, which was great fun.
I wasn't sure how the food situation would work, but it was fine. Everyone gave $10 per day to the tour leader at the beginning and this is used when you all stop off at the supermarket in your teams to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner (teams rotate dinner duties each day). There was leftover in our kitty so all got $5 each at the end, whoop! 2 nights we used the kitty to buy pizza, and the hotel/hostel nights we went out for dinner which was lovely! (not included in the kitty money)
The campsites were fab, one was next to the beautiful Colorado River (where we slept under the stars as it was so hot!), one had a private hot spring hot tub (amazing!) and one by a bay, perfect for swimming. All were absolutely lovely, even if the toilets were a bit gross, but who cares haha! The evening campfires were so magical, all sitting around like a family, with one person on our group playing guitar, so cool! And we got to make S'mores, YUM.
My favourite bits were probably the sunset cruise in San Fran (even though I wasn't initially going to do it because I thought it would be cold and foggy!) but the sunset was absolutely beautiful, and there was food and drink on board, whey! Vegas was the strangest place I've ever been to, but super fun none the less, and singing away in the karaoke bars until 5.30am was such an experience haha! Grand Canyon was incredible. Probably my favourite place of the trip. Myself and 3 others chose to do the Plateau Point trek, the longest of the day treks in the canyon (13 miles). The weather was beautiful, until...we got badly caught in a rain/wind/thunder storm at the bottom of the canyon where a lightening bolt struck the rock we sheltered under!! Crazy, but an adventure...! We walked over 40,000 steps that day.... very proud of #teamlightning! Pizza and sunset over the Canyon that night was well worth it.
Although expensive, it really is worth the money. I had the best time ever, and our group was so lovely, really such wonderful people! No arguments, no fall outs, nothing :)
One little tip, when they recommend pack for all weathers....they mean it! You will go through all sorts of climates and altitudes during the two weeks. Take rain coats, warm clothes, scarves, hats, as well as shorts, sunnies and flip flops!
I've rambled rather a lot in this review...oops! But there is so much to tell! However, I think you should go ahead and book and see for yourselves ;)

FREYA
Westerner 2

Full on, jam packed, full of laughs and adventures!

Reviewed October 2017

Blimey. What an adventure!! Anyone considering this trip needs to book now and go for it. There were so many great moments, I'm not sure where to start!
Our tour leader Tyler was amazing. Such cool dude, even though he was poorly with a cold halfway through and had to miss the ultimate party bus in Vegas! But he made sure he did everything he could to make sure we all got the most out of the trip (illness or no illness). For example, none of our group wanted to go to the San Diego zoo, so he dropped some of us to the beach for surfing (defo recommend surfing here, it was SO much fun!!) and some of us downtown for some exploring.
The van was great, we were a group of 9, which meant we just about had enough extra space to be as comfy as possible for the long drives. Wifi seemed to be unlimited, but slow at times! Loads of charging points, and plenty of essential stops to buy all that yummy American candy haha! We all took turns in sitting up front, playing the tunes, which was great fun.
I wasn't sure how the food situation would work, but it was fine. Everyone gave $10 per day to the tour leader at the beginning and this is used when you all stop off at the supermarket in your teams to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner (teams rotate dinner duties each day). There was leftover in our kitty so all got $5 each at the end, whoop! 2 nights we used the kitty to buy pizza, and the hotel/hostel nights we went out for dinner which was lovely! (not included in the kitty money)
The campsites were fab, one was next to the beautiful Colorado River (where we slept under the stars as it was so hot!), one had a private hot spring hot tub (amazing!) and one by a bay, perfect for swimming. All were absolutely lovely, even if the toilets were a bit gross, but who cares haha! The evening campfires were so magical, all sitting around like a family, with one person on our group playing guitar, so cool! And we got to make S'mores, YUM.
My favourite bits were probably the sunset cruise in San Fran (even though I wasn't initially going to do it because I thought it would be cold and foggy!) but the sunset was absolutely beautiful, and there was food and drink on board, whey! Vegas was the strangest place I've ever been to, but super fun none the less, and singing away in the karaoke bars until 5.30am was such an experience haha! Grand Canyon was incredible. Probably my favourite place of the trip. Myself and 3 others chose to do the Plateau Point trek, the longest of the day treks in the canyon (13 miles). The weather was beautiful, until...we got badly caught in a rain/wind/thunder storm at the bottom of the canyon where a lightening bolt struck the rock we sheltered under!! Crazy, but an adventure...! We walked over 40,000 steps that day.... very proud of #teamlightning! Pizza and sunset over the Canyon that night was well worth it.
Although expensive, it really is worth the money. I had the best time ever, and our group was so lovely, really such wonderful people! No arguments, no fall outs, nothing :)
One little tip, when they recommend pack for all weathers....they mean it! You will go through all sorts of climates and altitudes during the two weeks. Take rain coats, warm clothes, scarves, hats, as well as shorts, sunnies and flip flops!
I've rambled rather a lot in this review...oops! But there is so much to tell! However, I think you should go ahead and book and see for yourselves ;)

Sim Sui
Westerner 2

Great time on the west side

Reviewed May 2017

This was the first time I visited the west coast of the US. The trip offers and amazing mix of country side and cities and you will see many highlights of this part of the country. My favorites were Yosemite National Park, the Grand Canyon and San Diego.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Sun, cities, campfires, a canyon, mountains and Mike Tyson

Reviewed October 2016

First time on west coast, even though it was my fifth trek. Can see why our tour leader labelled it “west coast best cost”. Difficult to choose just one highlight, yet again. LA and Hollywood even though it was quite dingy, it was difficult to get round without uber (Three trains to Hollywood) from our starting hotel. Hotel itself was great. Walking Griffin Park to the observatory to see the sign was great. Lake Havasu camping under the stars with an amazing view, Grand Canyon watching the sunset while eating pizza, hiking there was pretty epic to. Las Vegas was an interesting place; party bus was almost as much fun as wondering the strip and casinos and bumping into Mike Tyson. The Golden Nugget Hotel was nice and had a slide though a shark/fish take. Easily impressed. Great hikes and views in Yosemite fresh air, wildlife, and is completely different to any other places on trek and is the best way to come down / recover from Vegas. San Francisco was amazing wondering the pier, strolling across the golden gate bridge, visiting Alcatraz becoming a junior ranger. Playing old school arcade games in the museum. The cable cars and trams are defiantly worth riding for the tourist factor. Area around the hotel was a let down and could have done with a little more time to explore the city. Our tour leader Lizzy was awesome even with the sassiness and puns. Oh so many. Constantly went that extra mile to make sure we got the most out of the trip and saw everything we wanted to. Trek accommodation both camping and hotels was a great balance. All were clean and nice.

Can’t recommend this trek enough.
Book it.
Will not disappoint.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

amazing such an eye opener

Reviewed September 2016

Im just back from doing the Western 2 my tour leader was Audrey Spikermann such a good tour leader! First of all this is an amazing trip and an excellent way to see the west coast! there was a total of 13 in my group 7 girls and 6 guys! one couple to throw into the mix! everybody in the group was quite friendly and good fun which is needed as you literally spend 24/7 with these peeps over the 2 weeks! the age group was from 19-30 quite varied! so as you all know underage drinking in USA at 21 is the legal age limit so I would recommend to wait until this age to this trip to thoroughly enjoy been able to drink party in Vegas! I am definitely going to do a solo travel again like trek America as it really is a great way to meet people ! I have went on lots of holidays and I can say I never ever thought of home on this one as your not reminded of it as you are travelling on your own! so go solo it a great experience! Yosemite blew my socks off never been somewhere as nice! the hikes in gran canyon and Yosemite best I have Ever done! the helicopter over gran canyon AMAZING DO IT!
I Cant believe its all over and will definitely be keeping contact with a few of the cast members of western 2 ! PS I got married in Vegas!!! DO IT!!! :)

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Best experience of my life, never wanted it to end.

Reviewed September 2016

This trek was absolutely amazing! We got
Lucky that we had such a great group of people, we all got on together and I now have friends for life.
Out tour guide Craig was outstanding and definitely went out of his way to make this experience special for everyone, as in he accommodated different activities by giving tips/ advice etc.
It was the best 2 weeks of my life and has made Me want to keep on travelling.
Would highly recommend. Food was excellent, transport and the tents we slept in were so clean. Couldn't ask for anything else.

Everywhere we went there was a new high, LA was meeting everyone, San Diego was the comedy piano bar, Lake Havasu was camping under the stars, Grand Canyon was watching the sunset while eating pizza, Las Vegas was the Calvin Harris pool party, Yosemite was the most amazing hikes and climbing the rocks and the smell, it smelled so good, San Francisco was the whole city and alcatraz and Santa Barbara was the views! So much love and appreciation for this whole experience. ❤️

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Trip of my life

Reviewed August 2016

From the beginning on I knew we would have a great time together! Our leader Dano was from the area and knew where to go to get a full experience in the cities.

We chilled on sunny beaches, slept under the stars, swam the Colorado river, hiked the Grand Canyon and Yosemite, partied in Vegas and San Francisco. I could go on for hours telling what we did. It was amazing!

In San Francisco we got a tour by Urban Adventures, which was very well organized and the guide was a helpful and clear guy that showed us around chinatown, little italy and the nort beach area.

The group was great, we got to know each other very fast and forged some friendships for the rest of our lives!

Despite not being able Death Valley due to extreme heath, I still think I've visited all the highlights on the West Coast.

Certainly looking forward to booking my next trek!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Incredible experience!

Reviewed August 2016

This was my first ever Trek and travelling holiday I've ever done and I loved every single minute of it! We had an amazing tour leader, Sarah Kilbourne, who constantly went that extra mile to make sure we got the most out of the trip and saw everything we wanted to. At first I was unsure whether to book the Trek or wait until I was 21, however, being under 21 did not effect how much I enjoyed the trip at all, there were 3 under 21's in my group and we still had an amazing time, even in Vegas! There were certain things on the itinerary that I didn't think I would be that fussed about, but every single thing exeeded my expectations and I saw and experienced much more than I ever thought I would. By travelling with Trek America you get to see so much more than what you would if you travelled alone, even on long drive days, you stop off in so many amazing places that you wouldn't even know existed. I went as a single traveller but as soon as you get there and meet everyone you no longer feel like your travelling alone, after a day you feel like you've know eachother forever. Travelling with people you have only just met makes the experience 10 times better. I could go on and on but I can't put into words just how good it was! I've been home 4 days and already picked my next Trek.

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

MOST AWESOME ROAD TRIP EVER!

Reviewed July 2016

The entire trip was an amazing adventure! Everything from making smore's around the campfire to hiking the Grand Canyon, everything was very well planned, and our tour guide made sure everyone was having a blast! I am so glad that I decided to do this trip, and it was much better and I could ever have imagined :-) We were nine people on my trip from all over the world, and everyone was so nice and made the trip even better!!

Past Trekkers Review
Westerner 2

Good banter good friends

Reviewed March 2016

As this was my third trek with trek America I knew it would be my last as I've seen and done everything in America that I've wanted, and what a great way to end my time with trek America with! I always say west coast is best coast, if you are booking your first trek with these guys id recommend this one as its short and sweet!! I've had some of the best times of my life with Trek America! You won't regret it!