Reviews

Western Wonder from San Francisco

(33)
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 33 Reviews
hayleighw
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Awesome views, experience and people - loved it!

Reviewed October 2019

Me and my boyfriend LOVED this trip.
The views and hikes in Yosemite and the Grand Canyon National Parks were truly spectacular and will stay with us forever. These were definitely the highlight of the trip although being on Route 66, seeing the Golden Gate Bridge and being on a Las Vegas Party Bus all added to an amazing adventure with some lovely people.
The only downside was the amount of travelling (we were prepared but just a tip for people reading this) and the heat. We trekked in August so we knew it would be hot but we had never felt heat like it due to us being from the UK so just a heads up to stay hydrated and maintain that suncream coverage!

chenellestork8095_162031
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Exciting, easy, fun and enjoyable

Reviewed September 2019

From start to finish it was so much fun and I had absolutely no stress in comparison to travelling alone, with all the travel and accommodation to not worry about. I would definitely do this experience again. At first I was slightly worried about sleeping in a tent but with great comfort and a good set of trekkers it was amazing! The tour guide really made the trip enjoyable for us all also.

Mr F.
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Epic

Reviewed July 2019

Wasn't sure what to expect at first, but ended up being an epic trip. Got to make some amazing friends on trip and visit some truly stunning locations. Tour leader had excellent knowledge and did everything he could to make the trip special. Will definitely travel again with TrekAmerica.

Iain
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Best trip of my life!

Reviewed June 2019

Really is hard to describe how amazing this trip was. Seen so many amazing places. The highlight for me was Yosemite! Breathtaking views from the top. Can't believe we managed to fit so much in for a week trip. Jane our wide was awesome. She really was an amazing guide that made sure everyone was enjoying the trip. Made a group of friends for life. Would 100% recommend this tour.

Iain
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Best trip of my life!

Reviewed June 2019

Really is hard to describe how amazing this trip was. Seen so many amazing places. The highlight for me was Yosemite! Breathtaking views from the top. Can't believe we managed to fit so much in for a week trip. Jane our wide was awesome. She really was an amazing guide that made sure everyone was enjoying the trip. Made a group of friends for life. Would 100% recommend this tour.

abigail
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Trek of a lifetime

Reviewed December 2018

This is by far one of the best things I’ve ever done! It’s ticked off majority off my bucket list, it was just unreal! From getting to walk across the Golden Gate Bridge, seeing las vagas (still unreal even if you are under 21) and seeing the Grand Canyon, it was all absolutely amazing it’s almost impossible to pick a favourite bit. I met some fab people and also had a fab tour leader who made the trip so fun.

KRISTIANA L.
Western Wonder from San Francisco

AMAZEBALLSSSS!!!!!!

Reviewed October 2018

I love being on the road & I love camping - thus this was absolutely perfect for me. Especially that I didn't have to drive for a change....

Saw some wonderful places - things got ticked off the so called 'Bucketlist' - Made new friends.

If you're after a relaxing vacation - this is not for you. A few early mornings & long days are involved - but they are well worth it. Trust me.

Don't be scared to travel solo, you'll meet new friends, and there are many other humans that are in the same boat as you.

Super duper happy that I've actually done this trip. Will definitely be looking at similar trips very soon. Not too fond of being home and back to reality. Take me back!

Book the trip & you'll have the time of your life.

NICOLA E.
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Incredible life changing experience

Reviewed June 2018

This trek is a great mix of hiking and seeing natural beauty mixed with the camping style which lets you enjoy being in a group setting and with Las Vegas in the middle of the trek. Trek people are so open minded it is a great way for solo travellers to meet new people and travel.

ARRAN L.
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed July 2017

This is one off the most amazing things I have ever done are tour leader was so much fun, helpful and knowledgeable. The tour was so packed with amazing experiences and brilliant people to travel with. There is nothing that I would change if I was to do this again.

Past Trekkers Review
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Hit and miss

Reviewed September 2016

I'd already been out travelling alone for a couple of weeks before I joined the trek. The majority of the people in my group had come with friends so it was just awkward and there was a language barrier between myself and the few other people who had travelled alone.
The first day was supposed to be a tour of San Francisco but it was actually a drive over the Golden Gate Bridge to get to the campsite. If you hadn't spent any time in the city before the tour I think you'd be really disappointed with this and that maybe the trek shouldn't be advertised as having a day in San Francisco because it's just not true. We also stopped somewhere in Yosemite to walk to where the are sequoias which was nice. The camp site was fine, we were lucky and got a new set of camping equipment.
Day 2 was spent in Yosemite which was beautiful but really awkward trying to get involved in groups of long time friends.
Day 3 was the drive to Las Vegas. Obviously no one had slept well in the tents but one member of the group decided that no one was allowed to sleep on the bus and was completely unreasonable about turning the music down. The van then ran out of petrol in the middle of death valley even though we had had a rest stop at a gas station maybe 45 minutes before. Just generally a crap day. The hotel you get to stay in in Vegas is really nice and not a hostel as I was expecting. There was a party bus that night with another trek group.
Day 4 was a free day in Vegas which I hired a car for and was great. I decided to leave the trek take the car for the rest of my time away.
Overall I think group travel is too hit and miss to be worth the money. I think you'd have a really good time if you weren't booked into a group which was mainly people who had come together or if you came with your own friends. It was really awkward being the hanger on to groups of friends who had known each other for years but this wouldn't happen if there was actually as many people travelling alone as they make out. The places you get to see are absolutely amazing but as you don't know what kind of group you're going to get it just isn't worth the money. You can hire a car and get a satnav and hostels for much less and not have to awkwardly linger around people you have no reason to include you.

Loading search bar...