Reviews

Hawaii Big Island

(8)
Average Rating:
4.3 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-8 of 8 Reviews
HELEN D.
Hawaii Big Island

Amazing!

Reviewed September 2019

Just done this trip and boy it didn't disappoint. We were a full group and a wide age range but every one got on so well. Our tour guide Juli Z, a seasoned tour guide was amazing. She really looked after us well and made everything fun!! Hawaii is a must see!! 8 days was not long enough though. Do it!!! Was my 4th trek and one of the best!! I have made some friends for life!!

JORDAN C.
Hawaii Big Island

AMAZING, SPECTACULAR

Reviewed June 2019

Absolutely loved it, the tour guide Mike Harding was brilliant. He went well above the amount a tour guide does. I also felt very safe doing the tour with him leading us and he was such a funny guy and he made the experience great. The tour was amazing how much we did in so little time and I really recommend it to anyone. The people I was with were also really lovely and it was amazing. But massive props to Mike he was such a great tour guide. Highly highly recommend. The camping was decent and everywhere we went was great. Trip 10/10, Mike Harding's services 10/10

JORDAN C.
Hawaii Big Island

AMAZING, SPECTACULAR

Reviewed June 2019

Absolutely loved it, the tour guide Mike Harding was brilliant. He went well above the amount a tour guide does. I also felt very safe doing the tour with him leading us and he was such a funny guy and he made the experience great. The tour was amazing how much we did in so little time and I really recommend it to anyone. The people I was with were also really lovely and it was amazing. But massive props to Mike he was such a great tour guide. Highly highly recommend. The camping was decent and everywhere we went was great. Trip 10/10, Mike Harding's services 10/10

laurendmyers_152306
Hawaii Big Island

An amazing trip that totally exceeded my expectations!

Reviewed February 2019

This tour was worth every single penny! Our tour guide, Ashley was absolutely awesome. Super fun and knowledgeable, and ensured we did plenty whilst not being exhausted and still had downtime. We were joined by an ex tour leader, Joelle who still works for the company. (She was technically off duty but was still amazingly helpful and looked after us all just as much as Ashley.) They were a fantastic duo!
I was initially a little unsure about booking on to an organised trip as I thought it might be a little restrictive but they gave us the right amount of structure whilst also being very flexible. Had I been travelling the Big Island alone, I think I would have had a very different experience. It didn't strike me as the type of place where you could go and 'wing it', so to speak; places to stay seemed few and far between. You would need to plan carefully. Also, it was pretty damn cost effective considering how much amazing stuff we did! I couldn't recommend this enough. Thank you, Trek America for an amazing trip!

LOUISE G.
Hawaii Big Island

Never wanted to leave!

Reviewed June 2017

From the day we started we saw the most amazing parts of Big Island. Don, our leader, was fantastic telling us to embrace the 'aloha' lifestyle, life goes so much more slowly there. So many highlights but for a coffee lover the coffee farm was amazing, some of the best stuff you'll ever taste. The beaches are second to none, the secret one a walk from Spencer beach was by far the most beautiful, especially at sunset! Our guide catered to everyone's need, stopping for extra one off must sees, to ensuring someone who stood on a sea urchin was well looked after. You'll get to see so much, from the volcano trek (we actually got to see the lava flow) to beach days, to sea turtles, to the botanical gardens, to being caught in a rain storm whilst walking in flip flops through mud, it's all worth it!! The helicopter ride was out of this world, seeing untouched areas on the island...for a first time trekker I got the bug there and then and knew I'd be back for more!!

Lucy Morley
Hawaii Big Island

A great opportunity to visit Hawaii as a lone traveller

Reviewed April 2017

I have just arrived back (and have gotten over my jet lag enough to write this) from the Hawaii Big Island tour. This was my 2nd Trek America tour (the first being the Southern Sun from LA back in 2011). I booked this tour because I really needed a holiday and wanted to venture to somewhere I had not been before. I was also limited with the time I was able to get off work and so this tour fitted in nicely along with a couple of days either side to relax. If this is your first Trek America, note that tours can be busy with lots of travelling and activities, if you want to relax don't do it (or have extra time before/after the trip to do this)!

We started the tour in Kona where I met the rest of the group - only 5 of us and our tour leader (but there could be up to 13 people per group) - we were given a run down of what the 8 days would include along with what to expect. We were told at this point that our itinerary would be slightly different to that on the website due to a couple of the campsites being closed for refurbishment, this meant staying in new campsites for Trek America and we were told to keep our minds open in regards to what they would be like (I think we all feared the worst) but in the end they were not as bad as we had feared - in fact we all recommended them, so maybe you'll be staying there when you go! And so we began our trip anti-clockwise around the island. I don't want to give too much away but here are my positive and negatives of the trip:

Trip Positives:
- Very little driving - maximum 3/4hrs per day and this was usually separated by stops at various sites.
- Lots of different sights to be seen - Hawaii is a very diverse island. You'll be travelling through grasslands, rainforest and lava - its pretty impressive how much the climate changes in a couple of miles!
- Lots of included activities - we were able to go snorkeling, go on a 4x4 ride, do some hiking and sunbathing.
- Opportunity to do a helicopter flight over the volcano - only myself and another member did this but it was worth every penny (or should I say cent!) - definitely a top highlight of the trip for me.
- You need to keep your eyes on the ocean whenever you can - lots of turtles and dolphins to be seen
- A great mix of camping and hotels - note that the hotels are not hotels they include cabins in the Volcanoes National Park (it felt like you were in a hotel room) and a Hostel in Hilo.

Trip Negatives:
- We were not offered as many optional extra activities as I would have liked
- Campsites were very basic - cold showers (often which were outside) or none at all (it was not as bad as it sounds - everyone is in the same boat and it really makes you appreciate the shower when you next have one!)
- Too much free time towards the end of the trip with little to do around the campsites - the campsites were generally very secluded and so did not have much to do on our free days (note that the campsites we stayed in were different to those intended) - with this being the case we managed to find things to do and there was rarely a dull moment.

Past Trekkers Review
Hawaii Big Island

A truly tropical and cultural experience in paradise

Reviewed August 2016

I cannot recommend Hawaii enough. I began with a week in Oahu before starting the trek so got a feel for the Hawaii vibe. So I would definitely suggest stopping at another island before or after the trip to make the most of being on a beautiful set of islands. The trip is on the Big Island and it is stunning. The coastline is beautiful and it is a such a green island. Although it is only an 8 day trip I feel as though I have truly experienced the island as a lot is packed in to such a short space of time. The nice thing is there isn't a lot of driving so more can be spent on activities or a beach day. As there is a strong focus on the nature on Hawaii the campsite facilities are very basic and they do not allow soap in the outdoor showers. That being said everyone is in the same position and it made you appreciate the hostel in the middle of the trip. The group bonded really quickly and we all became really good friends from the get go. The lava flow and volcano would have to be a highlight for me as it is something I have never seen before. The beaches are spectacular along with the weather so we really enjoyed an afternoon at Hapuna Brach which is in the top 10 beaches in the world. The culture in the island is great as you get to experience the history and traditions of the islands. Put tour leader was fantastic and so helpful that it really made the trip. This trip was fantastic and I would definitely go back to Hawaii so book this trip now as you won't regret it.

Past Trekkers Review
Hawaii Big Island

Disappointing

Reviewed June 2016

I'm actually reviewing this half way through the trek.
The whole thing has been disappointing to say the least. No one can predict weather but we have had no back up activities and missed out on loads. The photos shown in the brochure I can only assume are from other islands as I have yet to see any of these!
Food kitty: $120 for sandwiches. I've got a new medical condition I only learnt of a few days before I came and the food had already been bought most of which I cannot eat. So I've put money into the kitty for everyone else and then had to buy my own food as and when I can.
We are all struggling to work out how trek can justify the cost of this trip because we are definitely not getting our money's worth!
Come to Hawaii, on your own and stay on another island. You will have an awesome time.

Reply from TrekAmerica:

Thanks for your feedback Jane. We take this very seriously as we want everyone to have an amazing experience with TrekAmerica so we’re working through this and will be in touch directly. So far, we've had excellent feedback for the Hawaii Big Island tour and of course want to make sure this is the same for everyone. Ordinarily, where we are aware of any medical conditions, we would of course accommodate these. We're doing our best to remedy this now that we are aware. Again, with regard to the weather we of course don’t have much control over this one but hope that it will improve. Please bear with us whilst we investigate further.

Loading search bar...