Reviews

All Trips

Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 81-90 of 1204 Reviews
SARAH V
Southern Sun from Los Angeles

LIFE CHANGING

Reviewed November 2017

I actually dont know where to start in regards to my trek. First of all, I wish it was longer and if we all could have we would have gone back the way just to do it all over again!!!

We started the trek off in Los Angeles so our first night was in Vegas, and as the trek went on we look back and laugh at that night as we hardly knew each other and compared to the end of the trip was just like night and day as its safe to say we had so many adventures on our journey that we became so so close!

Our journey was hit by a number of different changes due to hurricane harvey following us wherever we went, but we sure made light of a scary situation and all 13 of us cosying up in a 4 person cabin was definately a hilarious point for us all.

Each experience we did made us all stronger as a group, and every destination which we thought we couldnt top just kept getting topped by the next one making us all unable to pin point what our highlight of the trip was, from the grand canyon helicopter ride being insane, to then monument valley being a truely memorable experience, then leaving those destinations and heading for the likes of new orleans and memphis and line dancing in nashville was just amazing.

We ended up having a lot of time on the bus due to the weather and delays, but honestly thats what made out trip so so fun, a 12 hour journey seemed like nothing at the end of the 21 days, we managed to laugh, joke and sleep ALOT. from that and I can honestly say it was the most funniest time I have ever had on a bus!!!!

I will always remember the experience I had, you were able to be so carefree, and just enjoy the moment as the tour guides help and organisation was just truely amazing and guided you the whole way with you just being left to enjoy the experience, it was like being on a school trip but for adults!

I met some amazing people, saw some incredible sights, experience some hilarious moments, laughed till it hurt and most of all made memories I will never forget.

So if your thinking of doing a trek and not sure wether to or not, DO IT. you wont regret it. From the people to the places you see it will be amazing for you!!!!!!

ELLI
Southern Sun from Los Angeles

Best 3 weeks of my life

Reviewed November 2017

I booked the southern sun trip as a solo traveller for September 2017 after spending the summer working on the east coast.

I picked southern sun over the northern route as there were more cities involved and there would be more variety in culture, people and scenery in the south.

Our tour leader Drew was amazing -he's exactly what you want in a tour leader. His passion, enthusiasm and knowledge of where to go, what to see, what to eat made this trip.

I would highly recommend this trip and doing all the optional activities such as the helicopter tour over the Grand Canyon, the hiking (no matter how hellish, it was worth it), the night in the monument valley and white water rafting.

Georgina Paton
Westerner 2 BLT

Incredible

Reviewed November 2017

As a solo traveller, I found this trip to be the best way to explore the West Coast. From start to end, it was perfect. Having a tour guide to drive me to all of these wonderful places took all of the stress out of travelling on my own.

It was the perfect mix of cities and National Parks. The accommodation was very decent and great value for money.

I would definitely recommend doing the add on's - San Diego Zoo, Alcatraz, Party Bus in Vegas, Helicopter over the Canyon & the sunset sail under the Golden Gate bridge.

I also recommend getting out of bed early to watch the sunrise over the a Grand Canyon. Such an uplifting experience not to miss.

Most of the group were solo travellers and became like a family from the first night in San Diego. Mix of ages from 21-30 which was nice.

October was such a nice month to travel as California gets an Indian Summer and places weren't as busy with tourists. The longer drives don't seem too long when you are in a comfortable van with access to wifi and Spotify.

Our tour guide Phil was super chill and friendly and knew all of the best spots to eat and drink. Great to have instant access to insider tips and learn about the history behind each stop on the tour.

kayleigh.black
Northeastern BLT

A Mind Blowing One In A Life Time Experience!

Reviewed October 2017

A week sight seeing America and Canada. First stop was seeing the breathtaking Niagara Falls to then heading over to Canada for Toronto's CN Tower & Montreal for poutine and ONOIR (a restaurant were you eat in the dark) which was a mind blowing experience that i wont forget. The aspect the whole group went in with mixed emotions and came out repeating it as the best thing about the whole trip. Its an out of body and sensory experience that I think everyone should try at least once if they can. After experiencing too much city life this trip provided some chill time around home comforts in a lodge for a few nights in the ski resort of Stowe, Vermont. If you are thinking of booking this trip wait until October time were you can experience the magical colours of Autumn. Definitely worth a visit! The trips last days continue in Boston for Cheers (TV series), freedom and iconic universities. An eye opening experience seeing parts of America & Canada all in the space of one week. On top of that being around amazing people also there to experience something new too.

kayleigh.black
Atlantic BLT from New York

A Mind Blowing One In A Life Time Experience!

Reviewed October 2017

2 weeks sightseeing the east coast of America provided me with so many mind blowing experiences from running up the iconic Rocky Steps and eating a Philly cheese steak sandwich in Philadelphia to seeing the White House and experiencing many free activities in Washington DC. Being startled by the vast openness of Appalachian Mountains via a view point in Virginia to being thrown into 3 different musical time eras in Nashville, Memphis & New Orleans were we line danced, party hard, seen Graceland, hung out with gators in a swamp tour to ending our trip in Florida at a few stunning white beaches and the crazy theme-park land of Orlando. With our see you all later's ending in Miami. Overall a fantastic one in a life time experience that I will never forget. I pushed my fears aside and jumped at an opportunity I knew I was craving which was new adventures and new friends and I got just that within the space of two weeks!

Carly_Taylor
Westerner 2 BLT

An absolute amazing experience

Reviewed October 2017

Before I booked on this trip I was super nervous, I had never travelled alone before, I was worried I wouldn't get on with everyone and everyone else would be in couples/groups of 3, I was worried that on our "free days" our tour leader would not be available and I'd be lost walking around a city I didn't know...but in all honesty this could not have been further from the truth.

The tour was super jam-packed, so being on your own at any given period was pretty impossible as there's always someone who wants to do something, however, if you do need some "me" time, you could go off and have a wander, but our group mainly stuck together. Everyone on our tour was on their own, bar 2 friends. I got on with everyone and our tour leader was more than accommodating, even working on her "free days" to escort us to places we wanted to see. I was so nervous to book this trip alone, it took me a whole 5 years of courage before I actually booked on and boy was it worth it. If you are worried about booking this, I would say don't do a me and wait 5 years, just BOOK IT! you will not regret a thing!

There was so much to see and so many options if you didn't want to partake in any given activity. Our tour leader Jess (who was amazing by the way, and very early on she became our Trek Mom) always made sure that everyone had something to do and was so informative and knowledgeable given it was only her first year with Trek America; we could not have wished for a better tour leader!

My personal highlights were the Grand Canyon (if you can afford it, the helicopter ride is definitely worth it), San Diego is absolutely beautiful and by far my favourite city. Getting to see the Mrs Doubtfire House in San Francisco was my dream come true given it's my favourite film. Also, book your tickets to Alcatraz way in advance if you want to go there (they go on sale 3 months in advance), it is well worth it!

I was also worried that when I booked the trip, there would be no communication between me and my fellow travellers, but when you book on a Trek America trip, you can log on to the "hub" which allows you to post in your specific trip's group, so you are able to talk with your fellow trekkers to sort out times etc for Alcatraz tickets and any other activities that anyone is interested in - setting up a WhatsApp group is always useful too! I can't say enough how amazing this trip was and TAKE ME BACK TO CALIFORNIA - if you have any doubts, please don't, you become like family by the end of the first day and feel like you have known each other for years! I am definitely keeping in touch with my fellow trekkers and have made some life-long friends! AMAZING! Thank you Trek America and Jessica :)

JAYNE G.
Grand Trek

Best thing I've ever done

Reviewed October 2017

Amazing, there was so much to do and see, the hikes where alot harder than a thought but after a couple of weeks you're body gets use to being active, I had the best group and leaders to get me through the whole of the trip, would definitely book again.

HELENA S.
Westerner 2 BLT

Jam-packed with unique experiences!

Reviewed October 2017

This holiday was absolutely unforgettable. Looking back I can't believe how much we packed in to two weeks; every place we went to was completely different, and I feel like I've experienced some really unique elements of American culture.

The tour was impeccably organised which made everything - even driving through the desert for eleven hours - easy and fun. The accommodation exceeded expectations and was comfortable, central and friendly and we stayed in some really fascinating places, from a hostel in central San Diego to an UNBELIEVABLY COOL hotel in Las Vegas to a hostel in Yosemite with a hot tub that was the perfect cure to a long day of walking.

Couldn't recommend this holiday highly enough, and would definitely look at booking with Trek America again.

Subomi
Western BLT from Los Angeles

It's a nice way to see America

Reviewed October 2017

For first time travelers to the US, the tour provides a nice way to see the Grand Canyon, Vegas and Yosemite. But, because the tour is short, it's more like a "drive-by". Vegas was nice because we spent two days there. Snow disrupted our first day at Yosemite as we couldn't access it. Otherwise, we'd have had two days there.

FREYA
Westerner 2

Full on, jam packed, full of laughs and adventures!

Reviewed October 2017

Blimey. What an adventure!! Anyone considering this trip needs to book now and go for it. There were so many great moments, I'm not sure where to start!
Our tour leader Tyler was amazing. Such cool dude, even though he was poorly with a cold halfway through and had to miss the ultimate party bus in Vegas! But he made sure he did everything he could to make sure we all got the most out of the trip (illness or no illness). For example, none of our group wanted to go to the San Diego zoo, so he dropped some of us to the beach for surfing (defo recommend surfing here, it was SO much fun!!) and some of us downtown for some exploring.
The van was great, we were a group of 9, which meant we just about had enough extra space to be as comfy as possible for the long drives. Wifi seemed to be unlimited, but slow at times! Loads of charging points, and plenty of essential stops to buy all that yummy American candy haha! We all took turns in sitting up front, playing the tunes, which was great fun.
I wasn't sure how the food situation would work, but it was fine. Everyone gave $10 per day to the tour leader at the beginning and this is used when you all stop off at the supermarket in your teams to buy breakfast, lunch and dinner (teams rotate dinner duties each day). There was leftover in our kitty so all got $5 each at the end, whoop! 2 nights we used the kitty to buy pizza, and the hotel/hostel nights we went out for dinner which was lovely! (not included in the kitty money)
The campsites were fab, one was next to the beautiful Colorado River (where we slept under the stars as it was so hot!), one had a private hot spring hot tub (amazing!) and one by a bay, perfect for swimming. All were absolutely lovely, even if the toilets were a bit gross, but who cares haha! The evening campfires were so magical, all sitting around like a family, with one person on our group playing guitar, so cool! And we got to make S'mores, YUM.
My favourite bits were probably the sunset cruise in San Fran (even though I wasn't initially going to do it because I thought it would be cold and foggy!) but the sunset was absolutely beautiful, and there was food and drink on board, whey! Vegas was the strangest place I've ever been to, but super fun none the less, and singing away in the karaoke bars until 5.30am was such an experience haha! Grand Canyon was incredible. Probably my favourite place of the trip. Myself and 3 others chose to do the Plateau Point trek, the longest of the day treks in the canyon (13 miles). The weather was beautiful, until...we got badly caught in a rain/wind/thunder storm at the bottom of the canyon where a lightening bolt struck the rock we sheltered under!! Crazy, but an adventure...! We walked over 40,000 steps that day.... very proud of #teamlightning! Pizza and sunset over the Canyon that night was well worth it.
Although expensive, it really is worth the money. I had the best time ever, and our group was so lovely, really such wonderful people! No arguments, no fall outs, nothing :)
One little tip, when they recommend pack for all weathers....they mean it! You will go through all sorts of climates and altitudes during the two weeks. Take rain coats, warm clothes, scarves, hats, as well as shorts, sunnies and flip flops!
I've rambled rather a lot in this review...oops! But there is so much to tell! However, I think you should go ahead and book and see for yourselves ;)

Loading search bar...