Reviews

All Trips

Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 61-70 of 1209 Reviews
Anna L
Western BLT from San Francisco

Terrible experience

Reviewed April 2018

Fantastic advertised company on internet/social media what makes you think you will be going on the trip of a life time. However, the reality is that you are paying a lot of money for a dodgy, unsafe accommodation located in the suburbs. Unfriendly driver and few American highlights. The company offered “professionally-trained tour leader” and free wifi on the van but in my opinion that wasn’t the case. The “tour leader” had very poor knowledge about the places we were visiting and didn’t help me much after I had a thief in the hotel room. I am frequent traveller who consistently use many travel companies along with organising tours on my own and I have never experienced such a poor service. I would have never picked any of Trek America accommodation myself what would have saved me from being robbed and stressed on my holidays. Read all small prints before you decide to go on the trip because as soon as they have your money customer satisfaction & your enjoyable experience doesn’t matter what they have clearly showed after I have raised my concerns upon my return.

Reply from TrekAmerica:
Hi Anna - thanks for leaving a review. We are certainly very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience travelling with TrekAmerica. We receive very few complaints regarding our tours, but take any that are received seriously. I understand that you have been in touch with our product team already about your experience, which has been thoroughly investigated. If you would like to follow up, please contact us at [email protected]

LUCYSMILE23
Western BLT from San Francisco

Amazing life changing trip

Reviewed March 2018

This was the most amazing trip through three states on the west coast. I was slightly nervous initially about booking alone but actually about 70% of the tour were individual travellers. So do not worry about that.

Vicky - our tour guide was absolutely amazing and had so much experience, knowledge and expertise of the states/country and could literally answer any question we had. She was so friendly and approachable - a real asset to Trek America!!

The coach journey was a great time to catch up on lost sleep after the madness of Vegas. There are lots of breaks and time for food.

My main advice would be to check the weather for all of the places you are going - we had rain in San Fran, hiking in the freezing snow in Yosemite and then hot weather in LA. So bring a mixture of outfits. Also don’t forget to bring an outfit for Vegas - party party!!

Completely recommend the trip and don’t hesitate to book!

Herco83
Western BLT from San Francisco

Awesome Variety, from snow to desert

Reviewed March 2018

I enjoyed this tour and feel I gotta a good taste of America. Yosemite was especially pretty with the Snow / Waterfalls. Shout out to Vicki who was a great tour guide. It was good because whilst there was some planned activities there was plenty of free time like in Vegas where you could explore what you wanted. Vicki took some of us to the shooting range which was fun, We also stopped at this random town called Oatman in Arizona where there were donkeys and a nice saloon to have a few bevs.

Western BLT from Los Angeles

Made memories I will keep forever!!

Reviewed February 2018

Our tour guide was Chris and he was the most fun person I've ever met!! On this trip we packed soooo much into only a week and it was tiring but oh so worth it! There were no dull days on the trip, even the long van drives (one day I think was about 8 hours) which I was worried about were made fun with stops in quirky places, lots of food breaks and fun games in the van. I honestly can't recommend this trip more, I got to see everything I wanted to see which I probably wouldn't have been able to do travelling alone. I made some amazing friends that I'll keep in contact with for years, and I saw incredible things I'll never forget. The one thing I was worried about was the hostel stay in Yosemite, which we all shared a room between our whole group, but it actually turned out to be the most fun experience which we definitely all bonded over!! If you're thinking about booking, please do!! It was honestly the most fun I've ever had, and I can't wait to book more!!

RLSouthorn
view profile
Mountie

Out of this world

Reviewed February 2018

Where else can you say you've seen 10 black bears and 10 Grizzly bears in the wild?! Where else can you say you've hiked up the Anthabascia Galcier for 3 hours? Where else can you say you've camped out in the Rockies with amazing people.

Damn, this was an amazing trip. First trip and definitely not the last!!!

Absolutely loved it.

RLSouthorn
view profile
Westerner 2

Breathtaking.

Reviewed February 2018

My god where do I start? Being a nervous traveller isn't what its all cracked up to be... I was petrified. No this wasn't my first trek, but I was still as scared as the first. It wasn't the meeting new people and visiting new places that bothered me (thats why I wanted to go on the trip) it was the flying part. But hey, if I hadn't have got on that plane, I wouldn't have got into a Helicopter and flew over the Grand Canyon, got stuck in a Sand Dune desert in Arizona in 50 Degree Celsius for 3 hours and would not have experienced Vegas in all of its glory. My god this trip was certainly memorable... even getting stuck in a sand dune desert in Arizona - not planned, but if I had to do it all over again.... I would!!

With massive thanks to Katie, she was an amazing tour leader and she was so loveable!!!!!

LARISSA B.
Southern BLT from New York

Breathtaking,once in a lifetime, awesome

Reviewed January 2018

I did this trip just on a year ago and it was the most amazing tour I have ever done. From start to finish our tour guide (Craig) went above and beyond. We started in New Jersey then drove down to Washington, Memphis, Nashville, New Orleans, Houston, Austin, Santa Fe and many more. From Fried chicken to line dancing and even a Tabasco factory. I met so many awesome people and made lifetime friendships. Our tour leader made an effort to talk to everyone, making sure no one felt left out. We stopped at a Brewery and a moonshine distillery and small towns in the south everything was so well planned, but without it feeling too tour like. Do this trip, or any trek america trip for that matter you'll have a blast ! :D

Lucy Flaherty
Trailblazer from New York

Best thing I’ve ever done

Reviewed January 2018

Honestly the best thing I have ever done, don’t be afraid to go.

Simon Jago
view profile
Grand Trek

Probably the best experience I'll ever have!

Reviewed January 2018

Overall Review:

This is THE best trip I have ever done and possibly ever will do. I thoroughly recommend people to go ahead and book one if you’re in the position to do so, the longer the trip the better!

Solo/travelling with friends:

Whether you’re a solo traveller or going with friends, this trip will be great either way!
I was one of many solo travellers in my group of 13 people (2 couples and the rest solo). Do bear in mind, you are with these people pretty much all day everyday throughout the trek so if you’re lucky enough like I was, you will have a great group of people and have a great time! Of course, you won’t get on with everyone, that’s only natural! You get to know each other very quickly and probably a little more intimately than you may wish to think!

Budget:

Personally, I had planned to do the majority of the additional activities listed by Trek America so I had saved quite a bit of money. Things to consider for your budget should be tipping. For anyone who hasn’t been to the US before, tipping is a huge part of the service industry compared to the UK. You should tip EVERYONE who is providing a service to you (guides, bartenders/waiters, taxi drivers, street performers, the lot!) this does add up very quickly if you don’t plan it into your spending money. Also, don’t forget the Trek Leaders need tipping too for the outstanding service they are providing. Overall I roughly spent around £4000 over the 2.5 month trip (not including the flights and trek itself etc). This covered everything from optional activities, tips, drink and food, general shopping etc. You could certainly do it for less and also a hell of a lot more if you wanted to!

Food and meals:

The food kitty system worked really well for our group. You pay the money to your leader at the start of the trip and they note how much is spent on the food shops etc for the meals. For all the days there was ample food for 3 meals and more for everyone. Some nights you eat out too which if there’s money available, can be used from the food kitty but this does depend or what the Trek leader advises. We also got some money back each from what was unspent which was a small bonus. I would advise learning a special dish that you can cook for everyone because when you get a good meal it certainly makes the everyone happy!

Optional Activities:

As previously stated, I had saved up with the intention of doing as many of the optional activities as possible. The ones I would recommend for definite are:

• Cedar Point Amusement Park – Great rides but to be honest the Trek leader also agreed, should be an included activity because there isn’t anything else in Sandusky to do apart from this.
• Helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon – No explanation necessary but it is one of the most expensive optional activities but thoroughly worth it! How often will you be going to the Grand Canyon?
• Swamp Tour in Louisiana – See the gators and other wildlife in their habitat!
• Alcatraz Tour – Book in advance! A really, really good tour with an audio guide included.
• Willis Tower – Worth going up to the top for a stunning view over Chicago, long queues though however!
• Night time cycle tour in Chicago – It’s such a good way to see this incredible city and see the sunset. If you’re lucky enough to get ‘Gabe’ as your cycle tour guide he is excellent!
• Not so much an optional activity but definitely don’t turn down the option to do a bit of ‘cowboy camping’ in Navaho. You will get to see THE most spectacular night sky!! There are more stars, shooting stars and satellites in the sky than there is darkness. One of my fondest memories of the trip and I could have sat and gazed at that sky for months on end and never get bored of it.

Van Appreciation Days/Driving:

It goes without saying, the US is massive!! So inevitably you will be spending a fair amount of time in the van. Take a book, headphones etc to keep you entertained if you don’t fancy being sociable 24/7 and want to just shut off for a bit. If you’re like me, I was more than happy just watching the world go by out the window and seeing the various parts of America without having a care or worry in the world. No work to worry about, no phone calls from customers… bliss! There are always various stop points on the journeys for bathroom breaks and refreshments. I think the longest drive we had in a day was around 8 hours, didn’t seem to take that long really! One thing to point out, it says on the trek site that wifi and charging ports are available. I don’t think we used the wifi once because it either didn’t have a strong enough signal and for the fact they have a daily/weekly usage limit so it tends to only be used for emergencies etc. With regards to the charging ports, there was about 4 available on our bus which were constantly used for everybody’s devices so I’d recommend taking some portable power packs with you to use instead.

What to pack:

The Trek list they have on the website of what to pack is pretty much all you need, some extras I found particularly useful/worthwhile were:

• Buy some cheap pillows at a Walmart, it makes night times so much comfier and also to sleep on the van as well if you fancy a nap! Rather than a hot window or an unwilling trek companion! Leave the pillows at the end and they either get re-used for other trekkers or given to homeless shelters.
• Camping mat – Trek do supply a camping mat but in all honesty they aren’t worth the room in the trailer! Again, if you’re on a trip like mine where the majority is camping, it makes sleeping a lot more enjoyable and less achy the next day! The same outcome applies with leaving it with the Trek leader at the end of the trip.
• Portable Battery packs – A life saver really to keep your phone and any other devices charged and when on the move. If you have a decent internet allowance then using your phone maps to find out what’s around you and directions to places is handy!
• Warm clothing – Despite going in the warm season still, some night time temperatures were below 0c, so definitely take some warm clothes to wrap up in!
• Comfy trainers/walking boots – You’re on your feet a lot, so really make sure you take something you find comfy and can walk/hike in all day. Breathable and waterproof another bonus.
• Microfibre towel – Don’t take up valuable space with a big towel, get a microfibre one that takes up hardly any space/weight and also dries quickly!
• If you’ve got a decent camera, take it or invest in one! There’s so many picturesque moments throughout the trip and it’s the best way to keep the memories of it all if you can capture it forever.
• Luggage – I personally took a suitcase as opposed to a rucksack. It was easier to keep things organised and accessible. You don’t have far to take luggage anywhere on the trip either so a suitcase worked well. Take a backpack for the hikes.

Trek Leaders/free time:

I think I may have had a bit of extra luck with the 2 Trek Leaders we had for our tours (1 for the Northern Trail and 1 for the Southern Sun). They were both absolutely outstanding. Excellent knowledge of places to go/not to go, good fun and really helped make the trip the best it could be. Of course, it is still a job so they have their own time to themselves which is usually when you also get free time to go and explore or do things you wanted to that aren’t on the itinerary but they are always there if required.

Fitness:

The trip does involve a certain amount of personal fitness required to partake in. The hikes have various levels of difficulty to cater for everyone but the conditions are normally hot which if you’re unfit, will not be helping you on a hike! As with most things in life, the best things are hard earned! This works the same way with the hikes, if you can push yourself to get to the highest point or hardest trail then do so, the rewards far outweigh the little bit grit it takes getting there!

My Top 5 Places:

Of all the places visited, these would be my top 5 in no particular order:

• Nashville
• Chicago
• New Orleans
• Monument Valley
• Yellowstone

CHARLOTTE D.
Western BLT from Los Angeles

Experiences to last a lifetime

Reviewed January 2018

This trip was great experience. There are so many sites to see. The tour guide was brilliant and knew where to go. Grand Canyon was the highlight of the trip for me. You cannot comprehend how awe amazing it truly is until you are there. The transport was very comfy and spacious. Overall great trek.

Loading search bar...