Reviews

All Trips

Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 51-60 of 1209 Reviews
ADAM
Rocky Mountain High

Great if you love hiking and camping

Reviewed July 2018

Saw lots of amazing national parks and natural areas - for me the highlights were Glacier, Monument Valley and Zion.

NICOLA E.
Western Wonder from San Francisco

Incredible life changing experience

Reviewed June 2018

This trek is a great mix of hiking and seeing natural beauty mixed with the camping style which lets you enjoy being in a group setting and with Las Vegas in the middle of the trek. Trek people are so open minded it is a great way for solo travellers to meet new people and travel.

Amy-Lauren Esposito
Western Wonder from Los Angeles

The honeymoon of our dreams!

Reviewed June 2018

We chose to do the Western Wonder tour as part of our American adventure honeymoon because it incorporated our main interests in the American West - LA, Las Vegas and San Francisco.

Travelling in a small group and with our wonderful leader Julie, we were provided with everything we needed to survive the 'wild' - and given lots of useful tips on how to get the most out of our short time there. The tour went above an beyond our expectations - we took in the open desert and canyons in a helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon. We partied HARD in Las Vegas. We were drenched by the Mist Trail hiking up to Vernal and Nevada Falls at Yosemite. We saw whales flip their tails under the Golden Gate Bridge. We were humbled by the beauty and vibrance on America, and the people who call it home. We left slightly heartbroken and exhausted, but inspired to visit again.

JOHN F.
Westerner 3

Too many incredible wonders & places to even comprehend!

Reviewed June 2018

I did this trek as 3 week part of a 7 week solo trip. My reasons for booking it were:

1. I wanted to see the national parks of the USA and this was near impossible to do for me as i dont drive. A tour like this is the best way to see them.

2. The other 4 weeks of my 7 week trip were spent alone. Im happy being alone, however i wanted to spend some time with others and make new friends.. and i was hoping that would happen on this trip (it did!).

3. It is a great use of time. You see a ton of places in the 21 days!

The first day was a mix of nervousness and excitement, but a few hours after meeting each other we were all getting along well. Everyone was around the same age and all had similar personalities.. everyone who goes on a trip like this will have an adventurous soul.

The locations we visited were all incredible. Although time was limited, the only places i really felt like we missed out on by not staying longer were San Francisco and San Diego. But seeing any city in 1.5 days is near impossible, and this trek was more about the outdoors anyways!

The national parks are really something else. From Yosemite to the Grand Canyon,, there was a great mix of places that were seriously awe inspiring. There were some great hikes (Angels Landing was the best!!), but some of the best moments were just appreciating the beauty. Watching the sunrise in Arches NP, gliding over the Grand Canyon in a helicopter, riding a horse through Bryce.. (i didnt do that but i hear it was wonderful).

The van was nice! I was worried about getting road sick but it was pretty smooth and comfortable. We only had 7 people (van holds 13), so it was pretty comfortable. Not sure i'd like to be in it with 10+ people though. It was fun getting to move around seats, talk to people, and hear the music everyone played (person up front is DJ!).

The van had 3? power outlets. With 3 double chargers, that is 6 usb sockets. We got by with 7 people, but again with 10+ people wanting to charge multiple devices each, it would be a struggle. About half the campsites had power outlets, but again they had to be shared. Keeping your devices charged can be a difficulty and was one of the biggest downsides for me as i liked taking photos.

Camping was also pretty fun! Putting up the tents and taking them down was fun, although could be a pain when you're tired in the morning. Everyone gets into a routine which is nice. I was lucky enough to get my own tent but most people share one. Its not comfy but it's not awful. They say a pillow is optional.. but a pillow is not optional. Bring a pillow. Or put money aside to buy one on the first Walmart stop.

The campsites were all quite nice, no complaints there. Always had nice showers, and most had laundry facilities and a store for snacks.

When you're stuck with the same people for 21 days like that, it is natural for people to get upset and frustrated at each other. It will happen, it did happen. But overall we all got along really well and there was plenty of tears on the last day. You miss the excitement and the travelling, but you really miss the people. You'll make great friends on this tour. :)

The food was a lot healthier than i am used to.. but i got to try plenty of new stuff at least! You get put into groups and have to cook meals for everyone, the other groups do dishes. I.. am a hopeless cook, so i was little help, but i assisted where i could. There's also daily stops at gas stations and such, so you can stock up on snacks if needs be! Food was not a highlight for me though if i am honest.

The tour leader was with us most of the time, however we did get time to just ourselves. It is the same as i said before, people can get frustrated with each other when they're around each other so much, and that happened a bit between the group and the tour leader at times, but i imagine it's completely normal. He was obviously very experienced and was able to take us off route to places not on the itinerary! Places like dinosaur tracks in the desert, hot springs, and cliffside lunch spots! He went out of his way for us many times... one time resulting in him getting pulled over for doing so..

The tour leader is sort of like a parent. They drive you around, make sure you know what you're doing, and make sure you're safe. But they're not a butler or a chef, you do need to put in a lot of work yourself to make the tour work. Teamwork!

My only real complaint is in regards to the optional activities offered. There is a ton on this website, but on our first day we were handed a list of what we could choose from.. and there was maybe half of what was on this website. I mean if you think about it, when you have 1 day in MOAB, how can you go mountain biking, on a float trip, go on a hummer tour, and go canyoneering? You can't. We only got offered the hummer tour, which was a shame as i was looking forward to the mountain biking & canyoneering. Even paid extra on my insurance so i would be covered for them :(

But apart from that, it was a really incredible experience. Definitely a trip of a lifetime. One of the parts to not look over is that you will make great friends and have some great experiences with them. A trip like this is a lot more than just seeing pretty places and doing cool things. It is an incredible adventure and social experience.

As for the title of this review.. it is true. When you see Yosemite, you are in complete awe. A couple of weeks later when you see the Grand Canyon.. you are just like "Oh cool its the Grand Canyon". You really do get spoilt and stop appreciating it all in a sense.

Lucy Morley
Mexican BLT

A true insight into what Mexico is really like

Reviewed June 2018

I have just come back from 2 weeks in Mexico, of which my first 8 days were comprised of the Mexico BLT. I have done 2 previous Trek tours (Southern Sun & Hawaii) both of which were camping so budget lodging was like luxury compared to that.
It was my friend who chose Mexico as a destination as she was getting married on the Caribbean coast later in my holiday. Seeing that I had travelled all the way I thought why not do a tour?! So there I was.

We were a group of just 6 (it could have been a max of 10) from across the globe, plus our fantastic tour guide Dalai, a true Mexican so he was able to give us all the information we wanted about the country.
The tour was a good mix of history (which I’m not a major fan of) and the environment (which I love), but I learnt a lot about the country of Mexico, it’s environment, histroy and culture.
If you want to see the true Mexico (rather than spending 2 weeks in 5* luxury like my friends did and get bored) I would highly recommend this trip - but if you’re like me and desperately need a holiday for the relaxation I would recommend booking some time in one of the lovely hotels for afterwards to recover as the tour is full on (just like all of the tours are).

Tour Positives:
- great mix of culture, environment and relaxing
- fantiastic experiences and activities in every location on the tour
- lovely hotels to stay in

Tour negatives:
- lots of driving, including 2x 6hr drives (even though it was worth it, it was long at the time!)
- lots of mosquitos! Take repellent!

Trip highlight:
Walking, swimming and jumping down a waterfall!

ANDY T
White Christmas New York New Year

Really amazing time, great locations and great people!

Reviewed May 2018

This trip was highly enjoyable, it was the right mix of planned activities and time for fun along the way. It is truly one of the best trips I have ever been on. The trek leader was invested in everyone’s time being the best possible. I think its a really good time to tour that part of the country and Times Square for New Year finished the year off in the greatest way possible. I would highly recommend.

Alex Pringle
Grand Trek

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!

Reviewed May 2018

This tour was honestly the most incredible experience of my life! I met some amazing people and seen some crazy places! Both of my tour leaders, Tyler and Rick were amazing and made sure that we had the best time possible! Can’t wait to book the next one!

NOEMI M.
Westerner 2

Adventure, memories for a lifetime

Reviewed April 2018

One of my best decisions so far that I booked this trip instead of travelling alone. I had an awesome 2 weeks with a great group! I experienced an adventure for a lifetime, ticked something from my bucket list literally every day. Thanks for this adventure TrekAmerica, hopefully see you soon!

MELANIE
Southern Sun from Los Angeles

Holidays will never be the same again

Reviewed April 2018

My trek exceeded my expectations. I am a planner, an organiser, and quite often in charge of things. The most valuable part of this trip was that someone else did *all* the hard work.
Driving? not my job.
Somewhere to sleep? not my job.
Finding interesting things to see? not my job.
For the first two days this was weird. For the following 18 it was absolutely amazing. All I had to do was get up when i was told, and enjoy myself. And that, frankly, is a priceless experience.

Our tour guide was Chad, who has the whole process down. He's regimented enough with the camping part that we never wasted a second fighting with a tent or cooler, which gave more time for interesting stops. Chad is also super fun, and encouraged us all to do new things, whether this be getting up at stupid hours to see a sunrise, standing under a bridge for cool wildlife spotting, or having the best parties and games at our city stops.
We met two other groups and it was really clear that each group and guide really makes every trip an individual experience. This is to be valued as part of what TrekAmerica offers. We started to get jealous that another guide was doing things differently, but in reality, that's how it should be...each group deserves their experience to be different.

The 13 people I travelled with were all easy to get along with, happy to go with the flow and keen to try new things - there was always someone to talk to, explore with, stay up late around, share a box of beer or do laundry with. (We got on so well that 5 of us changed our plans to carry on our trips together at the end.)
Our food kitty worked great - everyone cooked sensitively to each others likes and dislikes, we saved a lot of money by doing it this way, ate nutritiously and there was still lots of opportunity to eat out and get service station snacks for those who love ice cream or beef jerky!

For me, the SL trip offered a really great mix of cities and countryside - I certainly enjoyed the camping and nature part of it way more than I had expected - it is not just a filler between the great cities of the South. There is a lot of ground to cover, which means lots of van time and some pretty long days, but playlists, beautiful views, regular stops and photographing people asleep makes the time go by quick enough.

I would recommend a TrekAmerica trip to anyone who will listen - I had the time of my life.

alex.sandell
Westerner 2 BLT

Great way to see the West Coast

Reviewed April 2018

A great way to explore the variety of the West Coast, from beaches to hikes to cities, it’s got it all. Tour leader was great, knew some great places to eat and best way to spend the time we had in each place, booked us on loads of great activities.

Loading search bar...