Reviews

All Trips

Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 51-60 of 1204 Reviews
NOEMI M.
Westerner 2

Adventure, memories for a lifetime

Reviewed April 2018

One of my best decisions so far that I booked this trip instead of travelling alone. I had an awesome 2 weeks with a great group! I experienced an adventure for a lifetime, ticked something from my bucket list literally every day. Thanks for this adventure TrekAmerica, hopefully see you soon!

MELANIE
Southern Sun from Los Angeles

Holidays will never be the same again

Reviewed April 2018

My trek exceeded my expectations. I am a planner, an organiser, and quite often in charge of things. The most valuable part of this trip was that someone else did *all* the hard work.
Driving? not my job.
Somewhere to sleep? not my job.
Finding interesting things to see? not my job.
For the first two days this was weird. For the following 18 it was absolutely amazing. All I had to do was get up when i was told, and enjoy myself. And that, frankly, is a priceless experience.

Our tour guide was Chad, who has the whole process down. He's regimented enough with the camping part that we never wasted a second fighting with a tent or cooler, which gave more time for interesting stops. Chad is also super fun, and encouraged us all to do new things, whether this be getting up at stupid hours to see a sunrise, standing under a bridge for cool wildlife spotting, or having the best parties and games at our city stops.
We met two other groups and it was really clear that each group and guide really makes every trip an individual experience. This is to be valued as part of what TrekAmerica offers. We started to get jealous that another guide was doing things differently, but in reality, that's how it should be...each group deserves their experience to be different.

The 13 people I travelled with were all easy to get along with, happy to go with the flow and keen to try new things - there was always someone to talk to, explore with, stay up late around, share a box of beer or do laundry with. (We got on so well that 5 of us changed our plans to carry on our trips together at the end.)
Our food kitty worked great - everyone cooked sensitively to each others likes and dislikes, we saved a lot of money by doing it this way, ate nutritiously and there was still lots of opportunity to eat out and get service station snacks for those who love ice cream or beef jerky!

For me, the SL trip offered a really great mix of cities and countryside - I certainly enjoyed the camping and nature part of it way more than I had expected - it is not just a filler between the great cities of the South. There is a lot of ground to cover, which means lots of van time and some pretty long days, but playlists, beautiful views, regular stops and photographing people asleep makes the time go by quick enough.

I would recommend a TrekAmerica trip to anyone who will listen - I had the time of my life.

alex.sandell
Westerner 2 BLT

Great way to see the West Coast

Reviewed April 2018

A great way to explore the variety of the West Coast, from beaches to hikes to cities, it’s got it all. Tour leader was great, knew some great places to eat and best way to spend the time we had in each place, booked us on loads of great activities.

Anna L
Western BLT from San Francisco

Terrible experience

Reviewed April 2018

Fantastic advertised company on internet/social media what makes you think you will be going on the trip of a life time. However, the reality is that you are paying a lot of money for a dodgy, unsafe accommodation located in the suburbs. Unfriendly driver and few American highlights. The company offered “professionally-trained tour leader” and free wifi on the van but in my opinion that wasn’t the case. The “tour leader” had very poor knowledge about the places we were visiting and didn’t help me much after I had a thief in the hotel room. I am frequent traveller who consistently use many travel companies along with organising tours on my own and I have never experienced such a poor service. I would have never picked any of Trek America accommodation myself what would have saved me from being robbed and stressed on my holidays. Read all small prints before you decide to go on the trip because as soon as they have your money customer satisfaction & your enjoyable experience doesn’t matter what they have clearly showed after I have raised my concerns upon my return.

Reply from TrekAmerica:
Hi Anna - thanks for leaving a review. We are certainly very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience travelling with TrekAmerica. We receive very few complaints regarding our tours, but take any that are received seriously. I understand that you have been in touch with our product team already about your experience, which has been thoroughly investigated. If you would like to follow up, please contact us at [email protected]

LUCYSMILE23
Western BLT from San Francisco

Amazing life changing trip

Reviewed March 2018

This was the most amazing trip through three states on the west coast. I was slightly nervous initially about booking alone but actually about 70% of the tour were individual travellers. So do not worry about that.

Vicky - our tour guide was absolutely amazing and had so much experience, knowledge and expertise of the states/country and could literally answer any question we had. She was so friendly and approachable - a real asset to Trek America!!

The coach journey was a great time to catch up on lost sleep after the madness of Vegas. There are lots of breaks and time for food.

My main advice would be to check the weather for all of the places you are going - we had rain in San Fran, hiking in the freezing snow in Yosemite and then hot weather in LA. So bring a mixture of outfits. Also don’t forget to bring an outfit for Vegas - party party!!

Completely recommend the trip and don’t hesitate to book!

Herco83
Western BLT from San Francisco

Awesome Variety, from snow to desert

Reviewed March 2018

I enjoyed this tour and feel I gotta a good taste of America. Yosemite was especially pretty with the Snow / Waterfalls. Shout out to Vicki who was a great tour guide. It was good because whilst there was some planned activities there was plenty of free time like in Vegas where you could explore what you wanted. Vicki took some of us to the shooting range which was fun, We also stopped at this random town called Oatman in Arizona where there were donkeys and a nice saloon to have a few bevs.

Western BLT from Los Angeles

Made memories I will keep forever!!

Reviewed February 2018

Our tour guide was Chris and he was the most fun person I've ever met!! On this trip we packed soooo much into only a week and it was tiring but oh so worth it! There were no dull days on the trip, even the long van drives (one day I think was about 8 hours) which I was worried about were made fun with stops in quirky places, lots of food breaks and fun games in the van. I honestly can't recommend this trip more, I got to see everything I wanted to see which I probably wouldn't have been able to do travelling alone. I made some amazing friends that I'll keep in contact with for years, and I saw incredible things I'll never forget. The one thing I was worried about was the hostel stay in Yosemite, which we all shared a room between our whole group, but it actually turned out to be the most fun experience which we definitely all bonded over!! If you're thinking about booking, please do!! It was honestly the most fun I've ever had, and I can't wait to book more!!

RLSouthorn
view profile
Mountie

Out of this world

Reviewed February 2018

Where else can you say you've seen 10 black bears and 10 Grizzly bears in the wild?! Where else can you say you've hiked up the Anthabascia Galcier for 3 hours? Where else can you say you've camped out in the Rockies with amazing people.

Damn, this was an amazing trip. First trip and definitely not the last!!!

Absolutely loved it.

RLSouthorn
view profile
Westerner 2

Breathtaking.

Reviewed February 2018

My god where do I start? Being a nervous traveller isn't what its all cracked up to be... I was petrified. No this wasn't my first trek, but I was still as scared as the first. It wasn't the meeting new people and visiting new places that bothered me (thats why I wanted to go on the trip) it was the flying part. But hey, if I hadn't have got on that plane, I wouldn't have got into a Helicopter and flew over the Grand Canyon, got stuck in a Sand Dune desert in Arizona in 50 Degree Celsius for 3 hours and would not have experienced Vegas in all of its glory. My god this trip was certainly memorable... even getting stuck in a sand dune desert in Arizona - not planned, but if I had to do it all over again.... I would!!

With massive thanks to Katie, she was an amazing tour leader and she was so loveable!!!!!

LARISSA B.
Southern BLT from New York

Breathtaking,once in a lifetime, awesome

Reviewed January 2018

I did this trip just on a year ago and it was the most amazing tour I have ever done. From start to finish our tour guide (Craig) went above and beyond. We started in New Jersey then drove down to Washington, Memphis, Nashville, New Orleans, Houston, Austin, Santa Fe and many more. From Fried chicken to line dancing and even a Tabasco factory. I met so many awesome people and made lifetime friendships. Our tour leader made an effort to talk to everyone, making sure no one felt left out. We stopped at a Brewery and a moonshine distillery and small towns in the south everything was so well planned, but without it feeling too tour like. Do this trip, or any trek america trip for that matter you'll have a blast ! :D

Loading search bar...