Reviews

All Trips

Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 51-60 of 1295 Reviews
Adam
Pacific Dream

Ultimate road trip for the Western states!

Reviewed August 2019

This is the perfect trek if you want to sample the Western states of America. I chose it mainly for the national parks but the beaches and cities during the first 2 weeks make it a nice mix. Even the national parks differ wildly from one to another and over the whole trek you'll see Californian beaches, forests, mountains and deserts with some lucky wildlife spotting thrown in. It really is a grand taste of what the West has to offer. I'm so glad this was a camping trek as well, there is a certain amount of cooking, cleaning and packing away while camping but some of my best memories will be the chats and laughs around the camp during your downtime and in the evenings. With everyone mixing in with the chores really helps develop the friendships as well so I highly recommend the camping treks.

Abigail Hamilton-Shaw
Western Wonder Plus from Los Angeles

One of the best weeks of my life

Reviewed August 2019

I absolutely loved my week with Trek America. As two young girls travelling we wanted to see lots with the safety of a group with us however the trip was much much more than that! We had an outstanding time, with fantastic people. It's great to meet people who love travelling and exploring too. Our guide was great. He gave us lots of tips along the way. I especially loved the stargazing we did at the Grand Canyon and Yosemite. Those little extras to the trip really made it the best time. I'd love to relieve the whole week again!

David Clarke
Alaskan Wilderness

Once in a lifetime trip with no regrets!

Reviewed August 2019

Going into this trip, I had high expectations of what it would be like. Leaving alaska, I underestimated how good Alaska actually was!

Living off the basics for the entire trip, made the experience much more enjoyable. No matter whwre you turned your head, the views were amazing.

If I could, I would do this trip over and over back to back all summer

RLSouthorn
view profile
Best of the East

Briliant but had to be creative

Reviewed August 2019

This was my 3rd trip. I was excited and nervous just like the others. Once i arrived at my gateway hotel i was able to relax unload grab some food and take a shower to get the plane off me. The next morning like always, we met downstairs in the lobby awaiting for our tour leader. What helped was that i had already spoken to a few trekkers on my tour before hand so saying hello again was like i already knew them. Once i found out who my tour leader was, we sat down together did our introductions and hit the road. My leader had a lot of expectation to live up to as my previous tour leaders were incredible!! Our first day was hitting Philadelphia and Washington DC. Wow. What an amazing couple of days. On my previous tour the first night my leaders cooked for us... on this trip my leader didnt. So he set out a schedule for us and wanted us to cook. Not a huge problem but a little disapointing as most of us were still jet lagged, didnt know each other and were still getting used to how trek worked. (I was the most experienced and probably told the group more info about how it works than my leader). As we moved on throughout the week as a group we all bonded and got on very quickly. Often we would sit by the campfire and eat smores and deink while our leader was on another campsite with another group enjoying their company insyead of ours... again not a huge problem but disappointing as you would have thought he would have wanted to get to know us as the trip is only 12/13 days long? As we moved through into the second week we really bonded together but had to rely on wifi and someones GPS to get us information about places and things to do. Overall, there was times we were waiting around to waist time to get to our next destination instead of finding something to do and ther wasnt a lot of knowledge known about each place from our leader until we got to his homeland in NYC. It was only until the last 3 days where we would camp together, eat amores together, drink together etc. and i think by that point i was really tired of the 4am wake up calls and overall couldnt be bothered making effort with the leader by this point. As always, i was polite and engaged with him but would always go on about leaving tips for him at the end something he really pushed us for.

Jess Allen
Grand Trek

The Grandest Trek There Ever Was - First Solo Travel Experience

Reviewed August 2019

On the 12th June 2019 I embarked on my first ever solo travel experience having chosen Trek America as a safe, reliable and exciting company to go with. I had heard about Trek America from friends but also seen a lot of their and their travellers content on social media which inspired me further!

I had always wanted to travel America but needed to find the best way to do so. I had a few discussions with friends about travelling but it never amounted to anything, therefore I just decided to go for it! If you wait for the right person to go with, you’ll never go! I was nervous about meeting a bunch of entirely new people and to spend so long in their company... I had absolutely no need to worry as everyone was so friendly and like minded so we all instantly clicked. So many different personalities, stories and experiences to learn from. I made a point of getting to know everyone as I thought this to be really important on how my trip was going to go. I had 2 groups as my trip was made up of 2 x 3 week trips (Northern Trail & Southern Sun). I also had 2 different guides. There were 6 consistent people (myself included) doing the whole trip. Each and every person offered something different to the group and was part of our little Trek family.

Both of my guides felt like friends to us all, maintaining a professional level of experience and guidance throughout. If you wanted to do something, they ensured it was done! I felt my first guide had better organisation skills and time management and so it was difficult to adjust initially on the second part of my trip, but I soon did and it all ran just as smoothly.

The majority of my trip we were camping, I always camped as a child but only in a caravan. I only had camped in a tent on a weeks school trip, so I took a risk by choosing this option. However, I would not have had it any other way! This allowed us to all get closer as a group by contributing to the cooking, cleaning but also spending time around the fire whereas I imagined on a trip including more hotels people would retire to their rooms and browse their phones etc. I have not done a BLT trip so I can’t really speak on this however. I personally would choose a camping trip again, it felt it has really opened me up to the outdoors and I went from a girl that likes her little comforts in life, to sleeping on just a tarpaulin under the stars (In monument valley). Something I wouldn’t have imagined myself doing a year ago, but what a wonderful experience! Put me there right now and I’d be happy.

The campsites we stayed in for the most part exceeded my expectations (Praise for KOA’s!) Yes there were some questionable bathrooms and more basic sites, but who cares when your surrounded by and there to experience the sights and nature around you! I found myself just ‘getting on with it’ and having the best time.

We also stayed in some hostels in cities, all of which were comfortable and had lovely common areas and facilities, I had not stayed in a hostel before but feel I have been spoilt for the quality in the ones we stayed in! But maybe these were jut a welcome break from camping? Still great.
We also had some hotels, all of which, again I have nothing bad say about. Great locations and comfy beds (And that’s all you need right?).

The food kitty worked well for camping and we had some lovely scenic lunch stops whilst on the road, we took turns in cooking dinner and both of my groups were adventurous in our meal choices which was great! Lots of veg. I am gluten free also and everyone was very accepting and accommodating of this, both of my guides also went out of the way to ensure that whatever restaurant we went to had GF choices and any pizza opportunities for that matter also (Gluten Free Grand Canyon Pizza? No problem!).

We laughed, we cried (Happy tears), we danced, we sang (a lot), we hugged and were there for each other whenever needed. And we found friends, hopefully for life.

Trek America has assisted me in reaching one of my dreams and has given me more to aspire to also.

Can I just start all over again please?

Thank you Trek America! And thank you to my guides Brandon and Leo!

Lily Andrews
Westerner 2

fun, hardwork, unmissable

Reviewed August 2019

Wonderful and lovely tour leader (Erin Rowland), fun group and fantastic route and sights

Jarrah Bevilacqua
view profile
Atlantic Dream

Atlantic Dream was a dream come true!

Reviewed August 2019

Being a solo traveller I was keen for some adventure but I also wanted to find a gang. The Atlantic Dream offered the perfect itinerary for what I was after & the thought of camping plus a smaller group really excited me.
I was lucky enough to have an amazing group & we became fast friends. Cohesion was no problem so our team work was evident from the start which is really important with campsites/cooking/chores etc. camping was great fun! We also stayed in hotels & airbnb in Orlando due to the heat, it was great.
Being a small group, everyone really bonded & there was a sense of family within the gang which was nice. We spent alot of quality time together & it was great getting to know everyone & becoming friends plus sharing incredible experiences together. We made memories that we won’t forget!

Our tour leader Taylor was one of the greatest people I have been lucky enough to meet and hang out with - he is now a friend for life. He was knowledgeable, hilarious & always up for a good time. We spent alot of time together in the van & around the cities & he was the best tour leader I ever could have expected. He took us around even on his days off & we really appreciated all the efforts he put in for us. Even after a long drive day he would be tired but always happy to help us if we needed anything. We were really lucky to have Taylor around.

The trip itself was unreal! It was moderately fast paced but I felt we had enough time in each city. I absolutely loved the white water rafting! Nashville was so much fun, we danced the night away. It was a great city to explore with the rich country music history. New Orleans was beautiful, it was everything i hoped it would be! I loved getting lost in the beautiful French Quarter, I cannot wait to get back there. Universal Studios was one of the funnest days of my life!!

The food in the south needs to be experienced, it was delicious. The scenery on our drives was amazing so being in the van for hours wasn’t a bad thing, in all honesty you need the rest time from all the walking & exploring that is packed in.

I would highly recommend this trip, it was a dream. I want to do it all over again!

Aidan Crowley
Southern Sun from New York

If you are thinking of doing it, do it.

Reviewed August 2019

If you are thinking of doing it, do it. It’s as simple as that. It suparsted my expectations in every way: the people, the places and the experiences.

Every place you go to is different and amazing in its on way (Nashville, Zion, Grand Canyon and Las Vegas were my favourites), you will walk away with the best memories and stories.

Also do it from New York to LA, that way you gain time going through all the time zones. Whereas you will lose it the other way, meaning even earlier starts and less time in all the amazing places.

nikita.b
Pacific Dream

Time of my life!!!

Reviewed August 2019

This was honestly the best month of my life! I met great people who I will know for life, I saw amazing sights, I had a fantastic tour guide. Can't fault the trip at all! It's the perfect length of time to give you a pod feel for America.

Alex Morris
Atlantic Dream

A combination of History, Music and Sun - winning!

Reviewed August 2019

This is by far the best tour I have done so far; the way it is set up you get to experience 3 completely different parts of America in 2 weeks which I think makes this trip so good.

Starting in new York, Philly and Washington we experienced American History and the early American architecture, which was beautiful in it's own right.

Then as we made it through the Virginia mountains you make it to the Deep South, where culture and music is rife, as well as the food, man the food is good.

Towards the end of the trip moving into Florida, chilling at the beach (watch out for sun burn even in May!) and visiting Universal Studios was a really great way to end the trip, and some downtime as a group in Miami 'celebrating' our Trek was the best way to end the trip.

All in all great fun and would hugely recommend to anyone who wants to see more than just the 'classic' tourist spots!

Loading search bar...