Reviews

All Trips

Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 21-30 of 1269 Reviews
Heidi Calitri
Atlantic Dream

Absolutely incredible.... Left an impact on my soul

Reviewed August 2019

So to summarise my recent American adventure of the eastern region... I've passed through about 9 states... Visited 10 different places.. I've seen the fast pace and volume of New York City.. The slightly more mellow new Jersey.. I've walked the streets of philadelphia and biked round the amazingly groomed Washington hosting some of the best buildings I've seen yet.. I've hiked through a tiny portion of the epically huge shenandoah national park and found its sparkle of natural beauty in the form of a waterfall.. I've had the best night of my life to date out in the amazing Nashville which is a true hub for fantastic music and entertainment... I've been privileged enough to stand in the exact place where elvis presleys voice was discovered in Memphis and touched the same microphone that was used.. Along with so many other legends of the music world... I've absorbed the craziness that is New Orleans.. And shared Louisianna waters with alligators.. I've witnessed an unbelievable sunset on Destin Beach which is a moment ill never forget.. I've gained some nostalgia by returning to Orlando and I've had my educational mind blown by the awesome Kennedy Space Center.. I've soaked up the cool but buzzing vibe that is Miami in which I'll be leaving a very happy memory behind.. I've danced on stage, attempted to sing, I've drank, eaten n been incredibly merry, I've done more Wallmart shops than ever imagined.. I've laughed till I've cried, I've watched so much scenery pass me by, I've erected more tents than probably any person should in the space of 14 days... I soon bonded with my beloved "meriwether Lewis" tent even when our relationship was tested during the memphis storm which left us parting ways for an evening.. I've tested a boundary whilst sleeping umong an epidemic of more spiders I've ever seen in one place which will always now be known as "spider camp".. I've been used as a chew toy by mosquitos and spent a collection of hours scratching like a rabid dog... I've basked in the light of a full moon and watched the sun rise.. I've shared camp fires, smores and stories.. I've been fully emerged in to American life and stuck out like a sore thumb with a dodgy accent. I've met a group of fantastic people and I've spent every day working as a team and gained a little functional family.. We've pulled together at more testing times and supported each other when it's been needed.. We've shared so many highs and laughs which will be embedded forever in my memory when reflecting back on my trip... I met people who have left a lasting impression on my life for definite... In wonderful ways.. And some I hope will remain in my life in some form for ever now.
I've had my memory jogged on what its like to feel part of something and more significant to the world again...
this trip of America has put me back in tune with the universe and more importantly back in tune with myself.. And im once again a more wholesome person going home and eternally grateful for yet another life changing roam of this humungus world we sometimes take for granted...
Travel feeds your soul.... And that enrichment lasts a life time... Don't ever let life pass you by whilst not living whatever your dream is at the time.....

Peace out for now ✌️ more adventures in the pipeline to follow.... ❤️

Heidi Calitri
Atlantic Dream

Insighfull, exciting, incredible, the first of many

Reviewed August 2019

I loved every single second of this trip. From the beginning til the end. I cried when it was over. The camping side of it I really enjoyed and will book other trips doing the same for sure.
Our tour guide Chris was great.. He was friendly and helpful and spent his whole time doing his upmost to ensure we all had an excellent holiday. The whole trip was well organised, well explained and met all of my expectations and more.
I met people I will consider friends for life now and memories that will never fade.
I'll definitely be doing another tour with trek america.

hollie.lynes
Atlantic BLT from New York

Had the best 2 weeks! Didn’t want to leave!

Reviewed August 2019

I had the best two weeks on my trek and have my little group and our tour guide Leo to thank. Leo was fab, not only did he embrace being one of the girls on our all girls trip, he was always making sure we were happy, comfortable and satisfied everywhere we went. He knew so much about every place we went to and if he didn’t know the answers to our questions, he would go the extra mile to find the answer. Leo gave us so many options and advice on our free days and we made so many memories together as a group on our travels. I know I’ve made friends for life!
We got to see so much in such a small amount of time and I kept saying it felt like I had been out there for months, but in a good way and I hated coming home. I was worried that I would feel like I was forever in the van, but it didn’t feel that way at all. Yes, you have long drives but we broke them up with stops for food, walks, museums and of course the regular stop at the gas station which always resulted in another slush ICEE and more Oreos and snacks! Being in the van was where some of my favourite memories happened- playing funny car games, chatting about everything and singing away to our trek playlist.

Highlights of the tour- loved Nashville nightlife, the bike tour in Washington, swamp tour, Graceland and Sun studio. Disney World and our beach days at Destin and Miami.

Only disappointment- I didn’t enjoy New Orleans and I was so excited for it but felt like it was a very scummy place to visit. I love a night out but didn’t feel safe here. My group agreed and we felt the tour would be better if they did two days at Destin or Miami rather than at New Orleans.

KIRSTY C.
Mountie

Didn't want to leave! Canada is WOW!!

Reviewed August 2019

If you are looking to see the best of Canada, this is the trek for you. This was my second TA trip and so I sort of knew what to expect in terms of the camping situation and how the days generally pan out. Pro tip: take a decent sleeping bag because regardless of how hot it can get during the day (I did the trip end of July 2019) it can get REALLY cold at night!

If you are into the outdoors then you'd enjoy this trip. There are so many different activities you can do and this really is the best place for it. I genuinely can't say I had one highlight of the trip because we did so many amazing things including a ziptrek in Whistler (paid optional activity - not included in trek), a glacier walk, helicopter ride over the rockies and rafting in Golden. I would say that there are loads of extra activities you can do, most over $100 so make sure you take enough money!

Our tour leader Alex Albrighton was so friendly and really fun and made an effort to make sure everyone had a good time. He had such a vast knowledge of each place we visited and gave plenty of suggestions for our free days. He also joined in on many of our activities so it felt like he was one of the group as opposed to the leader! Couldn't of asked for a better tour leader :)

With regards to the joining and finishing hotels, don't be obliged to stay there. The joining hotel in Vancouver was near the airport - fine if you are travelling in the night before the trip but it's too out of the city if you stay a few days before the trip like a few of us did. It was easy to get to from the city centre.

My only complaint is I wish the trip had been longer!!

As previously mentioned, this is my second TA tour - Both trips I have done solo - on both my tours everyone was solo. This is a great way to travel solo but also meet new people. I have friends for life from both my trips and the best memories!

Adam
Pacific Dream

Ultimate road trip for the Western states!

Reviewed August 2019

This is the perfect trek if you want to sample the Western states of America. I chose it mainly for the national parks but the beaches and cities during the first 2 weeks make it a nice mix. Even the national parks differ wildly from one to another and over the whole trek you'll see Californian beaches, forests, mountains and deserts with some lucky wildlife spotting thrown in. It really is a grand taste of what the West has to offer. I'm so glad this was a camping trek as well, there is a certain amount of cooking, cleaning and packing away while camping but some of my best memories will be the chats and laughs around the camp during your downtime and in the evenings. With everyone mixing in with the chores really helps develop the friendships as well so I highly recommend the camping treks.

Abigail Hamilton-Shaw
Western BLT from Los Angeles

One of the best weeks of my life

Reviewed August 2019

I absolutely loved my week with Trek America. As two young girls travelling we wanted to see lots with the safety of a group with us however the trip was much much more than that! We had an outstanding time, with fantastic people. It's great to meet people who love travelling and exploring too. Our guide was great. He gave us lots of tips along the way. I especially loved the stargazing we did at the Grand Canyon and Yosemite. Those little extras to the trip really made it the best time. I'd love to relieve the whole week again!

David Clarke
Alaskan Wilderness

Once in a lifetime trip with no regrets!

Reviewed August 2019

Going into this trip, I had high expectations of what it would be like. Leaving alaska, I underestimated how good Alaska actually was!

Living off the basics for the entire trip, made the experience much more enjoyable. No matter whwre you turned your head, the views were amazing.

If I could, I would do this trip over and over back to back all summer

RLSouthorn
view profile
Best of the East

Briliant but had to be creative

Reviewed August 2019

This was my 3rd trip. I was excited and nervous just like the others. Once i arrived at my gateway hotel i was able to relax unload grab some food and take a shower to get the plane off me. The next morning like always, we met downstairs in the lobby awaiting for our tour leader. What helped was that i had already spoken to a few trekkers on my tour before hand so saying hello again was like i already knew them. Once i found out who my tour leader was, we sat down together did our introductions and hit the road. My leader had a lot of expectation to live up to as my previous tour leaders were incredible!! Our first day was hitting Philadelphia and Washington DC. Wow. What an amazing couple of days. On my previous tour the first night my leaders cooked for us... on this trip my leader didnt. So he set out a schedule for us and wanted us to cook. Not a huge problem but a little disapointing as most of us were still jet lagged, didnt know each other and were still getting used to how trek worked. (I was the most experienced and probably told the group more info about how it works than my leader). As we moved on throughout the week as a group we all bonded and got on very quickly. Often we would sit by the campfire and eat smores and deink while our leader was on another campsite with another group enjoying their company insyead of ours... again not a huge problem but disappointing as you would have thought he would have wanted to get to know us as the trip is only 12/13 days long? As we moved through into the second week we really bonded together but had to rely on wifi and someones GPS to get us information about places and things to do. Overall, there was times we were waiting around to waist time to get to our next destination instead of finding something to do and ther wasnt a lot of knowledge known about each place from our leader until we got to his homeland in NYC. It was only until the last 3 days where we would camp together, eat amores together, drink together etc. and i think by that point i was really tired of the 4am wake up calls and overall couldnt be bothered making effort with the leader by this point. As always, i was polite and engaged with him but would always go on about leaving tips for him at the end something he really pushed us for.

Jess Allen
Grand Trek

The Grandest Trek There Ever Was - First Solo Travel Experience

Reviewed August 2019

On the 12th June 2019 I embarked on my first ever solo travel experience having chosen Trek America as a safe, reliable and exciting company to go with. I had heard about Trek America from friends but also seen a lot of their and their travellers content on social media which inspired me further!

I had always wanted to travel America but needed to find the best way to do so. I had a few discussions with friends about travelling but it never amounted to anything, therefore I just decided to go for it! If you wait for the right person to go with, you’ll never go! I was nervous about meeting a bunch of entirely new people and to spend so long in their company... I had absolutely no need to worry as everyone was so friendly and like minded so we all instantly clicked. So many different personalities, stories and experiences to learn from. I made a point of getting to know everyone as I thought this to be really important on how my trip was going to go. I had 2 groups as my trip was made up of 2 x 3 week trips (Northern Trail & Southern Sun). I also had 2 different guides. There were 6 consistent people (myself included) doing the whole trip. Each and every person offered something different to the group and was part of our little Trek family.

Both of my guides felt like friends to us all, maintaining a professional level of experience and guidance throughout. If you wanted to do something, they ensured it was done! I felt my first guide had better organisation skills and time management and so it was difficult to adjust initially on the second part of my trip, but I soon did and it all ran just as smoothly.

The majority of my trip we were camping, I always camped as a child but only in a caravan. I only had camped in a tent on a weeks school trip, so I took a risk by choosing this option. However, I would not have had it any other way! This allowed us to all get closer as a group by contributing to the cooking, cleaning but also spending time around the fire whereas I imagined on a trip including more hotels people would retire to their rooms and browse their phones etc. I have not done a BLT trip so I can’t really speak on this however. I personally would choose a camping trip again, it felt it has really opened me up to the outdoors and I went from a girl that likes her little comforts in life, to sleeping on just a tarpaulin under the stars (In monument valley). Something I wouldn’t have imagined myself doing a year ago, but what a wonderful experience! Put me there right now and I’d be happy.

The campsites we stayed in for the most part exceeded my expectations (Praise for KOA’s!) Yes there were some questionable bathrooms and more basic sites, but who cares when your surrounded by and there to experience the sights and nature around you! I found myself just ‘getting on with it’ and having the best time.

We also stayed in some hostels in cities, all of which were comfortable and had lovely common areas and facilities, I had not stayed in a hostel before but feel I have been spoilt for the quality in the ones we stayed in! But maybe these were jut a welcome break from camping? Still great.
We also had some hotels, all of which, again I have nothing bad say about. Great locations and comfy beds (And that’s all you need right?).

The food kitty worked well for camping and we had some lovely scenic lunch stops whilst on the road, we took turns in cooking dinner and both of my groups were adventurous in our meal choices which was great! Lots of veg. I am gluten free also and everyone was very accepting and accommodating of this, both of my guides also went out of the way to ensure that whatever restaurant we went to had GF choices and any pizza opportunities for that matter also (Gluten Free Grand Canyon Pizza? No problem!).

We laughed, we cried (Happy tears), we danced, we sang (a lot), we hugged and were there for each other whenever needed. And we found friends, hopefully for life.

Trek America has assisted me in reaching one of my dreams and has given me more to aspire to also.

Can I just start all over again please?

Thank you Trek America! And thank you to my guides Brandon and Leo!

Lily Andrews
Westerner 2

fun, hardwork, unmissable

Reviewed August 2019

Wonderful and lovely tour leader (Erin Rowland), fun group and fantastic route and sights

Loading search bar...