Reviews

Mexican BLT

(13)
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 13 Reviews
jessabrahams7_146596
Mexican BLT

Mexican BLT - great experience, breakfast is NOT included

Reviewed September 2018

The Mexican BLT tour was very well organised and extremely efficient. We were able to easily get around as our tour leader, Dalai, was not only leading us and providing information about Mexico in a larger context, and also the areas we were visiting, but he was also driving the 10 person van which was used to transport us from place to place.
I'm extremely glad I did this tour as I wanted to cover the vast area of Mexico that we did in such a small amount of time, and I really don't see how I would have been able to do so otherwise.
Covering so much in such a small amount of time did, however, mean that we were unable to fully explore certain places such as Merida, Bacalar and Tulum. Normally I am quite independent and like to walk around to get my bearings whilst in a new place. However, in the earlier mentioned places, I was unable to do so due to schedule. I completely understand that in order to maximise the amount of places covered in 9 days, we have to move on very swiftly. I will just have to go back and visit these places again!
One main disappointment was Tulum, as I have heard such great things and had many recommendations of restaurants and bars from friends who have been there. However, our time in Tulum was used purely to visit the archaeological site and so we didn't even venture into the town - having lunch at the site's main square and leaving directly afterwards for Playa del Carmen. I feel like we could have spent more time in Tulum having a look around as quite a few of us were interested, but Dalai said it was 'too touristy' and so didn't take us there.
The standard of accommodation on the trip was a lot higher than I was expecting, as I had previously been travelling in Panama and staying in hostels. Many of the hotels we stayed in even had pools! The only downside was that the tour's itinerary states that breakfast will be included, with lunch and dinner bought locally. However this definitely is not the case. We were all very confused and disappointed that at only 1 out of the 6 accommodations we were offered breakfast included in our stay. Trek America should not have advertised the tour as having breakfast included as I and many others in my group budgeted with the impression that we wouldn't have to be paying for it. I then had to spend a minimum of the equivalent of £3 per day on breakfast, which really adds up when you're wanting to spend your money on cool adventures and activities and have a long travelling trip planned outside of the booked tour. I can see now that Trek America have changed the wording that all meals will be paid locally, which I am glad for future travelers to avoid this confusion we had. However, I am still very disappointed as we were misinformed.
The best part about this tour is that there is so much included. All entries to the archaeological sites are included in the tour which was great and we only had to pay separately for guides, which were optional. I would definitely recommend paying for the guides at Chichen Itza, Palenque and Uxmal as they were very informative and you're able to learn so much more about the sites and the Maya people rather than just looking at big structures for an hour in the hot sun.
There were, of course, some additional activities available, such as swimming in cenotes, snorkelling and scuba diving, which were all paid locally. One especially great experience we had was the Tamezcal in Palenque - definitely a unique experience and well worth it. I was disappointed that when we got to Palenque and enquired after the nocturnal jungle tour, Dalai said that the animals you're shown are kept in cages, and so none of us went to this as it wasn't what we were expecting - with members of the group and friends from travelling having done proper nighttime tours of the wildlife in areas such as Guatemala.
All in all, the tour was a great way to experience Mayan mexico in a short space of time.

Lucy Morley
Mexican BLT

A true insight into what Mexico is really like

Reviewed June 2018

I have just come back from 2 weeks in Mexico, of which my first 8 days were comprised of the Mexico BLT. I have done 2 previous Trek tours (Southern Sun & Hawaii) both of which were camping so budget lodging was like luxury compared to that.
It was my friend who chose Mexico as a destination as she was getting married on the Caribbean coast later in my holiday. Seeing that I had travelled all the way I thought why not do a tour?! So there I was.

We were a group of just 6 (it could have been a max of 10) from across the globe, plus our fantastic tour guide Dalai, a true Mexican so he was able to give us all the information we wanted about the country.
The tour was a good mix of history (which I’m not a major fan of) and the environment (which I love), but I learnt a lot about the country of Mexico, it’s environment, histroy and culture.
If you want to see the true Mexico (rather than spending 2 weeks in 5* luxury like my friends did and get bored) I would highly recommend this trip - but if you’re like me and desperately need a holiday for the relaxation I would recommend booking some time in one of the lovely hotels for afterwards to recover as the tour is full on (just like all of the tours are).

Tour Positives:
- great mix of culture, environment and relaxing
- fantiastic experiences and activities in every location on the tour
- lovely hotels to stay in

Tour negatives:
- lots of driving, including 2x 6hr drives (even though it was worth it, it was long at the time!)
- lots of mosquitos! Take repellent!

Trip highlight:
Walking, swimming and jumping down a waterfall!

MATT YOUNG
Mexican BLT

Mexico is cheaper than I expected

Reviewed June 2017

I am writing this review whilst everything is still fresh in my mind. I visited on the May 2017 tour. It really was a fantastic experience with such a great group of people from all over the world.

The first thing I would like to say about this trip is how good our tour guide Dalai was. Dalai was very helpful and really looked after the group for the duration of the trip. Mexico is a wonderful country and I would strongly recommend to anyone interested that they should book! The tour had a great combination of historical sites, jungles, cenotes & beaches. I was even surprised by how cheap everything was in Mexico. At one stage I paid 30 pesos for a litre of Sol beer, which equated to approx £1.20 (UK)! Naturally, Cancun is a bit more expensive though, and many places will charge you more if you try and pay in US dollars so better off paying in pesos.

We traveled around Mexico in a private van which was comfortable and plenty of rooms for bags etc. However, we were not at full capacity (we had 9 plus tour guide) so perhaps a full van would have provided a few more spacial issues. There is a significant amount of driving in this trip, particularly as you head to and from Palenque so make sure you prepare some good playlists for the ride. The air con worked brilliantly which was a relief as it was baking outside!

The hotels were basic and in some places the air con and WiFi did not work. Limited WiFi was more of an issue for contacting home to update families etc. We also appeared to be double booked in one place but Dalai resolved that issue in no time at all. Generally the location of the hotels was very good in relation to where we were travelling to do the activities. It was a little disappointing that breakfast was not included with the rooms. On the website it suggests all meals are paid locally but on the Trek Tips they send you it clearly states breakfast is included in Mexico, hence that provided a little confusion among the group.

On to the destinations! Our first stop was Chichen Itza (one of the famous Mayan pyramids). As you can only see them from the outside you do not need to spend hours there. We ventured to a nearby cenote which was a welcome way to cool down after the walking. We continued on to Merida for our first night of the tour. Merida gave us a nice welcome to Mexican culture as there were many street vendors selling local food & gifts. The second night was spent at Campeche. This was a lovely place with the highlight being a visit to the sea front to watch the sun set. Nights 3 & 4 were spent in the jungle at Palenque. During the days we visited jungle ruins in search of wildlife and spent the evenings touring the nearby town and the local bar to our hotel. The bar had a live band, served great food, had cheap drinks and was was literally a 2-minute drive from our hotel. I would recommend visiting Misol Ha waterfall. We chose this and it was a great way to relax after hiking in the jungle.

After Palenque the tour took a different format. Up until this point we had visited mostly Mayan historical sites but the focus switches more to beaches etc for the remainder of the tour which was a nice change for our group. We traveled on to Bacalar, which for me was the highlight of the tour, to see the lagoon of seven colours. A boat trip of the lagoon was included in the tour and this was the best way to experience its natural beauty. Several stops were allowed for us to cool off in the water and take some selfies. After Bacalar we headed to the quieter beach town of Mahahaul where we spent two nights. We were lucky as there was a music festival happening whilst we were there. Personally, I felt that we didn't need two nights in Mahahual as there wasn't that much to do in the evening. I think Trek America's description of 'many bars and beach clubs' was a bit of a stretch but perhaps the music festival drew the people away from the bars. Our final full day on tour was packed full of visits including Tulum, nearby Casa Cenote before heading to Playa Del Carmen. I would say Casa Cenote is worth a visit as the water is so clear you can see right down to the bed. We even got close enough to swim with a resident crocodile! The last night on tour was in Playa Del Carmen, which has miles and miles of beautiful beaches, 5th avenue (great for shopaholics) and a buzzing night life. If I could have made one change to the itinerary I would have spent a second night in Playa Del Carmen rather than Mahahaul as there is so much more to do there. The last day was spent relaxing at Playa beach before heading back to Cancun to finish.

All in all I would definitely recommend this tour as my overall experience was excellent. Just make sure you book some extra nights either before or after your tour to take in Cancun. The beaches at the Hotel Zone and Isla Mujeres are just some of the many things you can do there...

Past Trekkers Review
Mexican BLT

Absolutely incredible

Reviewed July 2016

Tour guide was too draw and was an amazing experience

Past Trekkers Review
Mexican BLT

My second Trek America and still just as amazing!

Reviewed July 2016

The Mexican BLT was just the right amount of travel and adventure. The itinerary was great and the choice of optional activities made it easy for people to choose their own activities. Our trip was changed slightly at the beginning of the trek as the safety in one of the areas was a bit unpredictable but this had no effect on the tour and it was also reassuring to know that are safety was being considered throughout.

Our guide Dalai was very knowledgeable not only about the places that we were visiting but a lot about the mexican culture in general.

Past Trekkers Review
Mexican BLT

Tequila, jungle, waterfall, fun, cocktails, adventure, social, sweat, singing,

Reviewed July 2016

It was amazing we saw loads of incredible sites. Our guide Dalai was really knowledgeable about not only the sites we went to but also Mexico in general. He worked so hard to try and make sure everyone was having fun.

The day activities that were organised for us were great - especially if you love water.

We had a slight alteration due to safety concerns in San cristobel but it was good to know they put our safety first.

Past Trekkers Review
Mexican BLT

hot hot hot

Reviewed April 2016

I am writing this as I Wait to leave for the airport, so sad to say goodbye to Mexico.

I had a great time and that was partly down to the great group of people itravelled with but mainly our amazing guide fernando, he couldn't help enough and was always enthusiastic and making sure we were all having a great time. sadly we were he's last group but the guide replacing him is also lovely, moises was on the trip being trained and he was so helpful and kind, anyone who gets him as a guide will not be disappointed :)

Loved all the ruins and waterfalls!

Past Trekkers Review
Mexican BLT

eye opening

Reviewed July 2015

Mexico wasn't my first choice due to cancellation of another tour a few weeks for departure. In the end I got the option to go to Mexico. I must say I was scared at the beginning because I heard Mexico wasn't safe. After spending 2 weeks in Mexico I can say the places I have been weren't dangerous at all. The tour was ok for me.
There was quit a lot of free time which I didn't expect and for the optional activities you had to pay a lot of money. The days when there was an activity those days were nice.
Another down side for me was the accomodation. I still think that I paid a lot of money for the hotels we stayed in. In the brochure they say everything is clean and you have all the comfort but that wasn't the case at all.

Past Trekkers Review
Mexican BLT

Memorable experience

Reviewed June 2015

Great concept , good itinerary , excellent use of the time available. Accommodation better then expected , safe travel. Mexico is safe ( parts we visited )and locals are superfriendly. Tour guide ok but lacking in breadth of knowledge and professionalism and quite possibly a passion for the job! The local guides at areas of interest were on par with expectation

Past Trekkers Review
Mexican BLT

One of the most incredible things I've ever done!

Reviewed April 2015

Where do I even start? As you can tell from my username I was a bit nervous about travelling on my own but I wouldn't swap the experience for the world now. We had an amazing group and our tour leader Fernando was incredible - well-organised, knowledgeable and lots of fun. There are so many experiences that I can take from this Trek - ziplining, snorkelling with turtles and stingrays, the Temazcal, seeing monkeys in the wild... I could go on and on and on. The tour is a good mix of culture, wildlife and beaches to relax, and we learnt so many little things about Mexico too because you do get off the mega-touristy trail. We were deterred by a protest on the road to San Cristobal but Fernando and the tour group quickly arranged an alternative and we weren't left without anything to do - in fact, some really great experiences came out of the change (we saw crocodiles/went to some beautiful waterfalls etc). I just wish it had been longer and I've been pining for Mexico ever since I got back!

Loading search bar...