Reviews

Mountie

(21)
Average Rating:
4.7 out of 5
Leave a Review
Please login or sign up to leave a review
Showing 1-10 of 21 Reviews
Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Totally amazing.

Reviewed September 2016

This was my first Trek America, it won't be the last. The blue Lakes, bear sighting and the mountains were amazing. Everything was well organised. The tour leader was fantastic she made it even more of a great experience. The group were amazing everyone got on. I did not want the trip to end.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Beautiful scenary, let down in some areas

Reviewed July 2016

The trip location wise was perfect. Beautiful views and campsites all great (although take flip flops as some floors pretty muddy if it's rained...which it did everyday for us!). Come rain or shine you'll have plenty to do. We absolutely loved that element to this trip. Calgary stampede was phenominal so do the 13 day trip if you can.
Slightly unsure about some timing. We felt leaving at 9:45am from campsite was just too late. We got to one location so late we couldn't do anything there but eat a late dinner. Also disappointed the wine tasting wasn't even on the schedule as advertised. As a wine lover I was really looking forward to this, so felt a little let down. Not sure why it's siddenly okay that trek leaders sleep in the van. It always smelt so bad the next morning. One personal pet peave was that our leader was a heavy smoker. So the van smelt of smoke and also it meant we had a lot of 'bathroom stops'. Slowing up the day and we'd all be sat waiting whilst cigerettes were smoked, snuffed out and then placed back in the van.
They really are our only complaints though. We felt we had to much 'faffing' time. It would have also helped if our leader encouraged politely some of the group that didn't do their daily jobs. I think it would have been nice had they helped out a little to, we basically catered for ours for 2 weeks, all cooking, washing up etc and they'd sit drinking a beer by the fire. We loved the trek otherwise (this one was number 4). The locations were spectacular.
The sad fact is that we aren't sure we will do another now. Maybe we've just outgrown it.
I would highly recommend it if you are pushed for time. As you do squash a lot in. You also meet great link minded people. In hindsight, I think we may have done it on our own.

I hope over the next few months I see past a few of these resentments and book trek number 5, but we aren't convinced yet.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Most amazing adventure ever, beautiful country

Reviewed September 2015

This was my second adventure with Trek America however it was my first time as a solo traveller. I was slightly nervous at first but luckily I had an amazing group and a fantastic trek leader.

I loved every place we visited, the scenery was amazing and the views were just breathtaking especially Lake Louise. My favourite place was Banff national park.

My group got on really well together. I made some amazing friends I will defineltly keep in touch with. Our trek leader Dustin was fantastic as well. He always put the group first, sorted out any problems and was very approachable. He was also very knowledgeable and very passionate and you could tell he loved showing and telling the group all about his country.

I will definitely visit Canada again in the near future. I still have loads more to see and explore.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Best 12 days of my life!

Reviewed July 2015

This was my second trek with Trek America and it was amazing. There were so many highlights from this trip including white water rafting, glacier walks and mountain biking in Whistler. Not to mention all the beautiful scenery that Canada has to offer (and I saw a few bears!). Camping was such a great experience and I now have life long friends from all over the world. I would definitely recommend this Trek to anyone who is keen on adventure.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Best 12 days of my life!

Reviewed July 2015

This was my second trek with Trek America and it was amazing. There were so many highlights from this trip including white water rafting, glacier walks and mountain biking in Whistler. Not to mention all the beautiful scenery that Canada has to offer (and I saw a few bears!). Camping was such a great experience and I now have life long friends from all over the world. I would definitely recommend this Trek to anyone who is keen on adventure.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

Amazing Scenery, Great Activities, Brilliant People

Reviewed December 2014

This was my first trip with TrekAmerica and was amazing. The sights were spectacular, as was the wildlife, we saw 14 bears. the activities were brilliant, especially white water rafting and zip lining. And all the people were great.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

An epic 12 days, incredible surroundings with some awesome people

Reviewed September 2014

I think I have bored my friends senseless since coming home as I haven't stopped talking about this trip. A really good mix of scheduled stops and activities, with free days too to explore and find your own stuff to do. The scenery was just epic, incredible mountain ranges and amazing lakes. There wasn't too much driving between places, and each campsite was different and had its own charm - i.e drop toilets. The group all got on really well and we had a great bond with our tour leader Stacey. Whitewater rafting was my highlight, but zip-lining in Whistler was awesome, and the hot-springs were a welcome relaxation break. If there wasn't so many other places to go in the world, I'd be straight back.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

One of my best holidays ever, just awesome!

Reviewed September 2014

When asked by friends about my trip to Canada I always struggle to find the right words. My response always starts with a sigh and an "I want to go back".
To sum up the trip was 100% perfect, the only flaw was that it was too short ;-).
Everything from A for accomodation to Z for Ziplining in Whistler was well chosen and perfectly organised. We had the most incredible time, the itinerary took us to places each one more stunning than the one before and luckily our group worked really well together and the weather Gods were also really kind: mostly warm sunshine and no significant rain in 12 days!
Our trek leader was great fun to be with and did an amazing job driving us safely for about 1300 miles, making sure we were always fed and watered and basically non-stop trying to make this trip an awesome experience for every one of us.
Back at home the memory is still vivid and I am already planning my next trip to Canada!
So thank you Trek America for a truly life-changing experience!

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

My friends tell me I never shut up about my trip to Canada

Reviewed July 2014

I can't really do it justice in a review. You will make lifelong friends (we shared poo stories and now have a bond for life). You will see the most beautiful views of your life. We saw a bear walk around our campsite (thankfully that wasn't the night we had salmon for dinner!!). Around every corner is another breathtaking view. Every place you stop there is something unique and fun to do. I love arriving somewhere and doing the biggest hike possible, we did that and also did a guided Glacier hike (insane). But these places are really cool if you just fancy a chill out. You can go on nights out in cool towns like Whistler, Banff or even Vancouver at the end. Our trek America guide was awesome, always offering to facilitate the trip to happen how the group wants it to. He knew all the best spots in the towns and the places to go for all different activities, or even just for a good coffee. It's your trip, do what you want to do! I miss it, Big time.

Past Trekkers Review
Mountie

A Must Do Experience, Absolutely Amazing

Reviewed July 2014

This trip was everything I was looking for. The scenery was amazing, the wildlife was brilliant (watching the small squirrels chase each other round the trees), activities were well worth taking part in (rafting and bungee jumping especially), setting up camp and working together with everyone was fun (and helped with breaking the ice with everyone) and our tour leader was superb. Would highly recommend doing this trip.

You are on campsites at night, not out in the wild. The days are very long sometimes and you do spend a lot of time in the bus. But this is all necessary and well worth it.