Reviews

Trailblazer from New York

(11)
Average Rating:
4.5 out of 5
Showing 1-10 of 11 Reviews
Marie-Luise
Trailblazer from New York

Fantastic, new cultures and a lifetime experience

Reviewed January 2017

Trek America trailblazer is one of the best ways to see America and all the amazing NP.
You get very close with other people, who in the start is strangers, but after a few days will they be your best friends. Sleeping in a tent with the same person for 2 months will teach you something about yourself and make you a better person. The food making in the camps make you realise how different food cultures is.
You will see amazing cities and beautiful national parks and meet unique persons. Your tourguide is therefore you to give you the best trip and use them for where to go in cities and so.
Take all the opportunities you can to make your trip better, so go on all the extra tours you can and there is a lot of free things to do also.
DO IT. It will be good for you!

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

INCREDIBLE AND PIONEERS OF TREK AMERICA 9 WEEK CAMPING TRIPS

Reviewed November 2015

AFTER READING MANY OF THE TREK AMERICA REVIEWS I CAN SEE MANY THJINGS HAVE BEEN LEARNED SINCE MY 9 WEEK TRIP FROM NEW YORK IN MAY OF 1978,
THIS REVIEW IS FOR THOSE TRYING TO DECIDE ON WHETHER TO TAKE ONE OF THESE LONG 63 DAY EPIC TRIPS, ALOT COMES DOWN TO THE TOUR LEADER AND EVERYONE ON THE BUS GETTING ON WITH EACH OTHER,OURS I THINK OURS WAS A ONE OFF, THE DRIVER HAD ALL HIS MONEY AND CREDIT CARDS STOLEN AND TRIED TO GET THE REST OF THE TRIP DOWN ON A VERY STRICT BUDGET, ALSO ONE OF THE PASSENGERS REALLY NEVER GOT ON WITH THE TOUR LEADER AND TOLD HIM HE WOULD TEACH HIM A LESSON WHICH ALL CAME TO A CLIMAX IN A STATE PARK IN BOSTON JULY 1978 WITH THE PASSENGER BEATING THE DRIVER THAT BAD HE HAD TO GO TO HOSPITAL,WE WERE LEFT IN THE MIDDLE OF A STATE PARK NO FOOD OR TRANSPORT FOR OVER 30 HOURS,BEFORE BEING RUSHED BACK TO NEW YORK.
AS I SAID BEFORE ALOT WAS LEARNED FROM THIS PIONEER TRIP ONE OF THE FIRST 9 WEEK TRIPS AROUND AMERICA.
FROM THE EXPERIENCE I LEARNED LOT FOR MANY DIFFERENT PEOPLE FROM DIFFERENT COUNTRIES, AND APART FROM THIS TRAGEDY HAD A FANTASIC TIME AROUND THE GREAT SIGHTS OF NORTH AMERICA.
SO FOR THE TRIP OF A LIFETIME TAKE ONE OF THSES AMAZING TRIPS YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
BARRY

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

Incredible! Words can't describe how good it was!

Reviewed August 2015

I've just got done with the Trailblazer starting in New York and went south first. I started on the 22nd May and finished on the 24th July 2015. It is an experience I'll never forget! Those 63 days of the tour (65 all together) went so fast. This is definitely the best thing I have ever done. Not only the sights and places you see but the people you get to know during the trips truly become some of your best friends. Half way in LA some people will leave if they were doing just the coast to coast South but you'll gain some new faces who are doing the coast to coast North. The two Trek leaders I had one for the first half and the other for the second were very good and knew how to run a very good trip. If you're contemplating doing the trailblazer but are unsure as to whether you'll like it I'd definitely recommend doing it. I was unsure at first but as soon as the Trek started I knew I'd made the right choice in doing it. I will never forget this experience and like I said I've come out of this with 15 new really good friends. The whole trip was just incredible words really cannot describe how good it was.

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

Best way to experience the USA!

Reviewed June 2014

Trek America's trailblazer is probably one of the affordable options out there to see a lot of the US in 2 months without emptying your bank account compared to other tour companies that offers similar itenary. The camping experience whether its good or bad will stay with you forever. Prior to this trip i had not done any camping before hence i was preparing myself for the worse!! But everything turned out alright, with the help of amazing trek leaders ( Hippy-Mike and Moose-lady-Ellyn ) . Not forgetting my trek-mates that made everything else better :) with their own different kind of unique personality. And not forgetting the amazing places we got to see, busy cities and gorgeous national parks.
The trip is what you want it to be... If u are adventurous like me, your tour leader will show you where to go and how to see it in a time frame provided! As USA is a HUGE country *seriously* so enjoy it however you can as you will need a lifetime if u wan to see All of America! And if u have a crazy nightout and you just wanna chill ... Why not? There are plenty of option to relax and unwind as 2 months is still a long time to go!

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

Amazing, Life Changing, Exhausting,Trip of a Lifetime!

Reviewed April 2014

It's been nearly a year since me and my fiance left for New York to start the Trailblazer and it has taken until now to sum up our trip. It really does change things and I miss it everyday. This trip is not for the faint hearted, and tests your personal strengths to the limit, however this does not mean don't do it, it means do it and give it your all! We got to sample everything possible from a travelling experience on our way round America. One day we would be partying the night away(even if its not your usual thing, you will) The next we were hiking 6 miles in the Grand Canyon and sitting round camp fires. It feels like so many holidays all rolled in to one.

Your group becomes your family very quickly and you will make friends for life, I know we have. Your guide can make or break your trip! The 2 previous statements make the fact that this trip is split in two parts very difficult. We said goodbye to half our family in L.A. along with our outstanding guide...Chad! You are the luckiest Trek group if you get Chad, he wants to make your trip the best it can be and will cater to your needs if it is possible. There were a few times when me and my fiance wanted to do something different to the group and he made sure it was possible. This is one of my first tips, do not be afraid to break the mold! You are only in each place once, if the group want to sit at a bar all day when it is your only chance to explore a town, explore it, you can drink all night and sit all day in the van, make the most of it! The south of the trip is full of party cities, amazing beaches and busy times! The north is slightly longer drives but worth it for the incredible places you see! The scenery up north will take your breath away!

It's so hard to write a review of nearly 3 months of my life. It will turn in to rambles or a long list of tips.

There are very few negatives to this trip but I think they are worth being aware of as I was slightly unprepared. You won't always sleep, you will be tired and I mean more tired than you ever have been before, you will be too close to big bugs sometimes, you will need/spend more money than you think, you will never have enough time, you will get homesick...even if its just home comforts you miss, it rains, your stuff gets wet, it's too hot to be in your tent and too many mosquitos to be out of it.

All of those things pale in to insignificance when you see every new place for the first time, when you make friends and family for life, when you laugh more times than you can count, when certain songs will always remind you of your travels, when you have inside jokes that no-one will ever understand and you do things you never thought you would do. Must do's - Go fishing in Key West, Go on the navajo guided tour in Monument valley, walk in the grand canyon...even if you just go to the closest marker...you'll feel great that you did, See as much of Las Vegas as possible in one day, don't just sit in a casino or by a pool and if you have the money see 2 shows in the same night...it is do-able(see Zumanity) Appreciate the stunning beauty of Banff National Park...even if you are very tired. Take pictures, you'll want loads and be glad you took them for years to come but don't live through your lense!

I write this review the day before a reunion with my Trek Group and I can not wait to see them all and bring back the private jokes and special songs.

DO THIS TRIP AND LOVE EVERY MINUTE!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

I think I'm in love with Trek America and have the tattoo to prove it!

Reviewed January 2014

I booked this last minute as a tour I was going on with a different operator fell through. A friend of mine had previously been on the trip and told me to just book it!

I'm so glad I did as it was the greatest decisions I've ever made! I was so nervous leading up to the trip as I'd never done anything like it before and was worried I wouldn't get along with people.

Everyone was friendly and in the same boat so soon the initial tension went and within a day or two you forgot that you had only just met. I've met some of my best friends so the trip and 2 and a half years later we are still as close and ever and have even gone traveling to other parts of the world together.

Now to the actual trip…

The southern part of the trip was extremely fun! You have amazing stops such as Miami, New Orleans, Texas…, The Grand Canyon, Monument Valley and Las Vegas just to name a few…

Nights out were legendary, we drank grenades in New Orleans and went to a Honkie Tonk bar somewhere in Texas… Jesus that state is HUGE!!!!! I got a tattoo in Miami Ink to celebrate the Trailblazer, even adding the initials TA (Trek America, not tits and ass!)

We took a helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon with I have no words to describe it… Defo worth the money!!! Monument Valley was one of my favourite places, we slept outside with the Navajo's in the middle of all the monuments. Was priceless and will never get to experience that again. We watched countless sunrises on the Trailblazer but that one was without a doubt the best.

Vegas… True to the saying "What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas." True debauchery happened! We went and saw Penn and Teller and got to meet them afterwards :) We went to a shooting range and shot some guns, the party bus was CRAZY!!! We got thrown out of Margaritaville for being too drunk and ended up at a strip club… oh and not to mention gambling too much money on a 'boys night out'… BEST NIGHT EVER!!!! :)

The northern part of the trip wasn't my favourite part. We still had some amazing places and actually some of the best places were in the north but in the south each state was very different. Places like San Francisco, Seattle, Banff (where we celebrated Canada day), Yellowstone National Park, Deadwood and Chicago are just some of the highlights.

I didn't even realise when I booked the Trailblazer that I was going to get to spend Canada Day in Canada and Independence Day in America. Was a nice added bonus to the trip.

San Francisco, definitely one of my favourite places on the trip!! We explored the city during the day, taking tram rides, visiting Fisherman Wharf, boat tour in the bay and Alcatraz. Alcatraz was optional and is definitely worth taking time out and doing!! Our night out in San Francisco was AMAZING!!!! We started off at an Irish bar with funny pianists taking the strangest song requests, we then headed to a club which had a beach party theme.

I wish we spent longer in Seattle. We only got one night as our tour leaded decided to have 2 nights in Vancouver as he wasn't sure how long it would take across the boarder. We went and saw a baseball game and that was all we really had time for :(

Deadwood was again an amazing night out! We went to an old saloon bar and met some random sorts and drank to many shots and to many cans of PBR!!!! Anyone would think we were locals!

In Chicago we created our own Batman tour and was a little disappointed with the boys in our groups research… Lol! We went up Willis Tower and stood on the Skydeck thingy… Glad I did it but never again!!! Was feeling very sick afterwards! We also went for some traditional Chicago pizza and visited 'The Bean'.

I'm not going to bore you like a did all my friends when I got back with every single detail of the trip but all in all it was incredible and given the choice I would do it again in a heart beat! Each Trek is very different and I hope you have the great experience that I had!

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

Absolutely amazing, life changing experience which has opened my eyes!

Reviewed July 2013

I did the 64 day trek around america in 2012. I met some of the nicest people that I still stay in contact with now. Was totally worth the money as it has given me life long experience which has influenced my decision in to one day move Canada. Summer 2012 will stay with me forever, this video should explain it all, thank you trek america!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z73K8jh856I

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

life-changing experience, amazing times :)

Reviewed December 2012

I did my Trailblazer last year with three of the best tour leaders I could have asked for, met amazing people who I'm still friends with, saw some awesome places, beautiful national parks, bustling cities, fantastic nightlifes, I truly loved my experienced and was so sad to see it end. I dreaded the thought of camping for so long, by the end I missed my tent dearly. In fact I loved and missed the whole trip so much I applied to be a tour leader in Europe, where I've worked for the past year taking my own groups around. Trek drastically changed my life for the better, it can change yours too! Just do it!

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

The best summer of my life

Reviewed December 2012

As much as everyone says how amazing it is, you dont understand the immenseness of it until you experience it yourself. It was by far the best 64 days of my life.

I met some of the most amazing people, including an incredible tour leader, and saw some of the most beautiful views.

Do it! Dont think about it! dont weigh up your options! Dont worry about the money! JUST DO IT!!

Past Trekkers Review
Trailblazer from New York

Average

Reviewed December 2012

Tour guide was more concerned with own social life and getting drunk than about looking after people in the tour. Hotel costs should be included in the price of tour.
Good local inclusions.