Reviews

Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

(13)
Average Rating:
4.4 out of 5
Showing 1-10 of 13 Reviews
Matt J
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

Incredible Jam-Filled Tour of the USA West

Reviewed July 2017

Incredible week on the west coast. This was my first trek with Trek America and only the second travelling solo so I was a little on edge, however Trek America organised everything down to a tee before departure. From the pre-/post trek hotels to all the optional activities, everything flowed so seamlessly thanks to the very capable, knowledge and sensitive dealings of our guide, Jenny and the office team. Regardless the questions or our quirky nature, she always had the answer, along with a witty fact.

This tour is quite an insanely jam-filled trek with a huge amount crammed into such a short time. When you look back on it, it is truly mind-blowing just how much incredible experiences you have had. From the big sites of the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park to the culture and history of Monument Valley and the Navajo people, this trek has a little something for everyone. There is also the quaint and in some ways, a little creepy mini-towns you pass through along the way, including Page (AZ), Seligman (Route 66) and Kayenta (AZ), Mesquite (NV) and the awesome Cameron Navajo Trading Post.

Due to working full-time this trek fitted perfectly into my tight schedule to experience the best of the national parks of the USA and be back in UK in the space of 10 days. Be prepared for 3-4 hours of driving each day and only getting 3-4 hours in each national park, but in the end, this is all you need on this taster-tour. The pre-/post-tour hotel - Alexis Park is okay. Beautiful grounds, but a little rundown, maybe a better choice would be nicer, however it was sufficient and better than camping.

Sarah
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

Awesome for a 4days trip!

Reviewed June 2017

For me it was an amazing experience. It was my first trekamerica tour and i felt the whole time safe and well informed about the trip and the schedule. I´m a single traveller and I highly recommend this trip. I made friends all over the world, young and older generation. Also we had a really nice and comfortable tourbus. The equipement for camping was really good. Everyone had enough food. I also really enjoyed to be in a group and not alone. Also we had a strict schedule, but what we saw in 4 days is amazing! We had eniugh time to go on hikes and explore the area.
Thanks from germany!

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

fucking awesome

Reviewed August 2015

Had the best few days on our Trek America trip. Met some lovely people and saw some wonderful things. Just wish it has been longer as I wasn't ready to leave by the last day. Our tour guide John was just the best, so fun and helpful. Want to do it all over again already!!!

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

Diverse and surreal locations

Reviewed August 2015

This was my 2nd Trek, the first had left such an impact on me I had to come back and this time brought my bro and a mate, all of us had amazing time.
The shortness of the mini treks are ideal if you have limited time and other plans, we wanted some time in Vegas before and after the trip so this works perfectly for those sort of plans.

The drive is long and beautiful on those western trails, route 66 and passing gorgeous canyons is just sureal. And all the stops were worth the drive.
The cowboy camp - a great night with that traditional feel and we ate like champions the food was really good. We got a campfire going and it was just a bloody good night.
Really worth doing the horse trail, it's not galloping but scenic and relaxing, such a great way to take in the surroundings.

Monument valley - probably one of the most beautiful locations I've seen, the formation of the valley it's as if it was designed for photos. Sleeping in the Hogan was a great choice, ok sleeping itself was difficult, its a hard floor and you will wake up with red dirt all over, but honestly don't let that put you off choosing to stay in the hogan - the meal provided by the hosts was delicious, chilling with them and the other trekkers sharing stories around the fire was just great, and if you are lucky for clear skies the stars or moon from the valley is a true sight, it's all well worth a bit of a rough sleep.

Grand canyon - I had been there before but I really wanted my brother to get that once in a lifetime experience of seeing it for the first time. so cliche to say but you simply cant describe or capture it in photos. Trek america is a great way to experience that

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

Awesome

Reviewed September 2014

Didn't know what to expect after reading some of the reviews but what an amazing time. There was only 8 of us so had plenty of room on the mini bus, Olivia (Liv) our tour guide was great was very informative, bubbly and a great laugh. The 1st day you do spend a lot of time travelling due to the distance travelling however the next few days ain't that bad. Cowboy ranch was good, did the horse riding good experience however slightly expensive for what it was but was enjoyable. Monument valley was spectacular and watching sunrise was awesome sleeping in the Hogan was a good experience. Grand Canyon is breathtaking just the sheer size is unreal, all in all excellent tour.

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

A must do experience

Reviewed September 2014

Had such an amazing few days, found it incredible what we managed to do and see in just 4 days. Perfect sized group at only 7, meant lots of room in the bus! Also loved our leader Fiona! Her enthusiasm and knowledge made the experience that much better and completely worth while.

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

sooooo many sights

Reviewed August 2014

Wow! we saw so much and in only 4 days! wouldnt have been possible in another way. The group was a bit too big though (12 passengers) for my taste, but we were made the best of it. Our guide, Ian, was great!

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

Can't wait to come back for another trip!

Reviewed August 2014

This short but action packed trip successfully combined the three elements that I look for to get the best satisfaction from a vacation:

- Travelling around and packing in as many things as possible;
- Doing something away from the crowds that is different to what the hordes of tourists are doing;
- Taking myself out of my comfort zone, but in a positive way, so that I can look back and think “I did that.”

Our trek leader did make a couple of minor mistakes, but overall put in a great effort to ensure that the trip went smoothly and that everyone had a good time. Be aware that a there is quite a lot of time spent driving which can’t really be avoided; however the time spent at the Cowboy Camp, Monument Valley and Grand Canyon more than makes up for it. I will definitely be looking to do another Trek America trip.

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

Awesome places with awesome people!

Reviewed September 2013

I had a great time with cool people around my age and a really funny trek leader. It was amazing to see the places that many only get to see in magazines. Got to see a different side of the Grand Canyon with torrential rain and hail storms but, nonetheless, will still take home many great stories and memories.

Past Trekkers Review
Las Vegas to Grand Canyon Mini (Camping)

Great places but lazy and rude trek Leader!!!

Reviewed September 2013

Sadly my second experience of trek America was not a good one! Our Trek Leader was lazy rude and more like a driver than a guide. He would just drop us off at locations and stay in the van rather than show us around and tell us about it!

Monument Valley was amazing, but sadly as our trek leader was so disorganised we had to stay in a Hogan in some ones back yard rather than one the valley floor as advertised in the brochure! Sadly as Camping stormed out we had to shell out 150 dollars for a motel room. This accommodation was not any way helped to be paid for by Trek America.

Update from TrekAmerica: Hi Verity, many thanks for the honest feedback. We have asked out US operations office to investigate the issues you experienced on this tour and we will contact you directly with a response as soon as possible.